We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Family reunion”
Review of Hotel Dory

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Dory
Ranked #7 of 288 Hotels in Riccione
Certificate of Excellence
Lexington, South Carolina
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Family reunion”
Reviewed 17 July 2014

My 2nd stay at the Dory was like a family reunion. Many of the people I met last year were there again. I made many more friends this trip. I had the pleasure of riding two full weeks & doing the Nove Colli on their newest bike the Scott Solace. It has a great ride, handles smooth in turns and climbs well. The hotel management & staff are all superb as is the food. I kept using small plates for my food so I did not get fat while there. You would never know that everyone working there doe's this week after week, as the smiling happy attitudes never go away. I should be there again next year to see the Giro & ride the nove colli again for the 6th time. Hope to see you too!

PS I used their pick up & drop off service for the airport last trip. Really liked that as it reduced some of the stress in traveling.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jeff a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_Dory_Riccione, Proprietario at Hotel Dory, responded to this review, 9 August 2014
Ciao Jeff and tank for your so nice review !!!!
It’s wonderful that our guests feel like family when they are at the Dory (that is a big family).
I am particularly pleased with your comments about our Bike Hotel’s services and special for our racing rental bike, so happy you did choose our new Scott Solace, really a very good bike, we will definitely buy some more next year  . We provide all that is necessary for the lovers of this wonderful sport and we always are happy to share this passion with our guests. We look forward to see you and all yours and our cycling friends next year! I agree it is so nice to see each other every year, like a big family and this is the best part of my work. So see you in 2015 for your 7th Nove Colli, and we hope to welcome the Giro d’Italia again and again every years..
Thank you so much for your review by the Dory’s staff! Special from Bartolo, Andrea, Drelli and all the cycling guides

Stefano Giuliodori
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,585 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,147
    350
    55
    20
    13
See reviews for
677
375
63
31
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (111)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Milford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2014

Hotel Dory lived up to everything we read on the internet - and we're not cyclists! We traveled with our two sons aged 8 and 10 and my husband's Italian parents (Nonno and Nonna - aged 70-80). The staff could not have been more friendly. Andrea the barman was eager to speak English to us despite our fluent Italian and we enjoyed a fabulous and complimentary spread of appetizers and drinks in the lobby / balcony bar area on our arrival night. In the restaurant, Filomena and Nicoletta were our faithful servers who ALWAYS had a smile for us and were super helpful with the kids and whatever else we needed. Check-in was a breeze - very organized and professional. Rooms were cleaned daily by friendly staff. Saved the best for last - the kids activities. The Kids Club staff were that perfect age where they were old enough to be responsible, but young enough to get right in there and play foosball or ping pong with the kids (which we did daily - this was the after lunch entertainment and treat as the adults had espresso while kids had fun in the game area). The pirate sailboat trip was a fantastic way to start off the week and get some great photos (they even made up the kids to look like pirates!). We also had a ball attending the roller skating evening on Monday night (totally free within walking distance of the hotel - had such fun, we went back later in the week on our own!). We were disappointed that the trip to Casa Vecciano country house was cancelled due to rain the week we were there. Alas, we'll have to return to experience that! Meals were almost always a plentiful buffet and wide variety of healthy options, including freshly made pasta, many types of fresh fish, carving stations, and a 60th anniversary cake for the hotel. We walked right across the street to the "Bagni 93/94" which was very easy and had all the amenities of the Italian Riviera (note: if you've been there, you know what I mean, but don't expect Caribbean open spaces here - it is packed with vacationers and gets even more packed as we head into July / August. That said, the water is comfortably shallow with lifeguards and generally no worries about safety). Bagni also has a great supply of rafts and beach toys to lend, so you can take advantage of them without lugging them back and forth to the hotel or home. There were plenty of shops and cafes right outside the hotel and we were within easy walking distance of many attractions. Lastly, the pool - while the pool deck was small (room for not more than 6-8 adults), the water features provided endless entertainment for the kids - 6 different fountains, jets, and bubble makers which they loved. The pool was on the smaller side (as they all are in downtown Riccione), but we had lots of fun with it and also enjoyed the adjacent indoor hot tub area (especially on the day it rained!). Kids liked making bread with Nutella at the afternoon snack time in the kids club and the free t-shirt and travel goody bag at check-out were the icing on the cake. I highly recommend this hotel for a classic family vacation, Italian style!

Room Tip: The mini-apartment was a few blocks away from the main hotel. If you can handle a short walk, it is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Spikkio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_Dory_Riccione, Proprietario at Hotel Dory, responded to this review, 9 August 2014
Romagna style :-)!
I have no words to describe the joy that the Dory’s staff and I tried to read your wonderful review. We are really happy to have made such a great experience for you. We look forward to hosting you again with your wonderful family. Thank you so much from all of us!

Stefano Giuliodori
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2014

We had a fantastic week cycling with Bartolo as our guide, excellent food, brilliant staff, I would definitely recommend the Dory if you are keen road bike cyclists you will have the time of your life.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jedifireblade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_Dory_Riccione, Proprietario at Hotel Dory, responded to this review, 9 August 2014
A great place for great people :-)
Thank you so much for this wonderful review. As Bike Hotel, we are particularly pleased to be appreciated for the services that we offer to cyclists. Thank you from all the staff (and from Bartolo!), come back soon in Riccione! In the hotel website you can always find offers, ideas and itineraries for your holidays cycling in Romagna.
Thank you very much!

Stefano Giuliodori
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampere
1 review
Reviewed 14 July 2014

I've been several times in Dory and they continue to meet and even exceed my expectations. The food and service is excellent and very friendly. I liked airport transportation service and the cycling trip to see Giro stage at Carpegna. The barbeque on Cippo hills was excellent. The hotel rooms are clean and cosy.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Seppo N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_Dory_Riccione, Proprietario at Hotel Dory, responded to this review, 9 August 2014
Ciao Seppo
you have exceeded our expectations with this wonderful review!
We had a really unforgettable day when we saw the Giro climbing the Cippo- Monte Carpegna, the stage in honour of Marco Pantani. Also had wonderful time with Drelli, Bartolo, Andrea and the Grill, the wine, the atmosphere waiting the professional. Did you see all the picture in our DoryBike Riccione facebook page?

Thank you from all the staff !

Stefano Giuliodori
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sligo, Ireland
1 review
Reviewed 12 July 2014

First impressions were outstanding. Everything about the hotel was wonderful. We had one of the dory suites which was spacious with a kitchenette & sunny terrace .The food was incredible and after a great days biking together there was some choice stories I can tell you.!The bike was top notch & I wanted to take it home my skills had improved so much. We are looking forward to a return visit sooner rather than later.
Hats off to all the staff as without their great attention to detail it could not run so smoothly .
Thanks guys & see you soon

Room Tip: Dory suites are quiet, spacious & if you like to make yourself tea etc they have small kitchenet...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Miabennie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_Dory_Riccione, Proprietario at Hotel Dory, responded to this review, 9 August 2014
And we look forward to welcoming you as soon as possible! It 's wonderful that all our commitment and our passion is rewarded with nice reviews like this! We are glad that you enjoyed this cycling holiday in Romagna. In the Dory Hotel website you always can find offers and ideas for your cycling holiday in Riccione!
Thank you from all the staff and ... see you soon ;-)

Stefano Giuliodori
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 July 2014

I traveled with Tripsite Tours. This was my first cycling vacation and I thoroughly enjoyed each and every aspect. The food was outstanding, the room was spacious, proximity to both beach and shopping was within a few steps and the cycling was awesome. I would love to return and enjoy all that the hotel has to offer

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank susan m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_Dory_Riccione, Proprietario at Hotel Dory, responded to this review, 9 August 2014
Dear Susan,
Although ,we’d love you will come and we would like to offer you the best that the Dory can offer! It has benn a pleasure to have you as a guest and read these beautiful words you've written. All year round we offer ideas and suggestions for cycling holidays in Romagna. You was a wonderful group, we were happy to welcome so many nice people from U.S. thanks to Tripsite our cycling Tour Operator. Apropos, Hennie is thinking to come back, so… stay in touch :-)
Thank you very much from all the staff!

Stefano Giuliodori
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
knokke
1 review
Reviewed 11 July 2014

I've been already 4 times in THE hotel of Riccione and every time the hotel, the personnel and the food was excellent. No doubt I'm going back next year for cycling and sightseeing! CU back in 2015
Wouter De Brabandere

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WouterBel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_Dory_Riccione, Proprietario at Hotel Dory, responded to this review, 9 August 2014
Hi Wouter! We're waiting for you as soon as possible! For the fifth, sixth, seventh, hundredth time :-) ! Thank you so much for your lovely review. In 2015 you will find a lot of new surprises!
Thank you from all the staff!

Stefano Giuliodori
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Riccione hotels
0.6 mi away
Hotel Augustus Riccione
Hotel Augustus Riccione
#2 of 288 in Riccione
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,897 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel Love Boat
Hotel Love Boat
#4 of 288 in Riccione
5.0 of 5 bubbles 350 reviews
0.2 mi away
Atlantic Hotel Riccione
Atlantic Hotel Riccione
#11 of 288 in Riccione
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,828 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hotel Select Suites & Spa
Hotel Select Suites & Spa
#10 of 288 in Riccione
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,191 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Corallo
Hotel Corallo
#20 of 288 in Riccione
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,162 reviews
1.0 mi away
Ambasciatori Hotel
Ambasciatori Hotel
#13 of 288 in Riccione
4.5 of 5 bubbles 923 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Dory? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Dory

Property: Hotel Dory
Address: Viale Giacomo Puccini 4, 47838 Riccione, Italy
Region: Italy > Emilia-Romagna > Province of Rimini > Riccione
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Riccione
#3 Spa Hotel in Riccione
#4 Romantic Hotel in Riccione
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Riccione
#14 Business Hotel in Riccione
#14 Family Hotel in Riccione
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Dory 4*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For over 50 years our main objective has been to make every guest feel right at home, surrounding them with warmth and all modern comforts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HRS so you can book your Hotel Dory reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dory Hotel Riccione

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing