We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Calypso Suite, Perfect Location For Moto GP”
Review of Alexandra Plaza

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Alexandra Plaza
Ranked #221 of 291 Hotels in Riccione
Reviewed 27 September 2009

This was my 2nd time at the hotel, as we stayed there 2 years ago, again for the Moto GP in San Marino. My husband and I travelled around Italy before we came to the hotel and arrived a day earlier than expected. We were greeted on reception by some staff who had been there 2 years ago and were told that they were fully booked (as we had anticipated) but that the Calpso Suite was available. It was priced on par with a normal double room we had paid for in the Almafi coast, so we snapped it up! Reception staff showed us up and as we walked in to a vert modern and quite obviously recently renovated room, we were overjoyed. There was a sitting area with tv, dvd and cd player, a large jacuzzi spa bath in the centre of the room, huge bed and luxurious en-suite, a 2nd tv with our own skybox and ample cupboard & wardrobe space. The blinds were closed and as the receptionist left the room, I opened one set of blinds....expecting to see a balcony....to my absolute delight it was the entire roof top terrace all to ourself! There was panoramic views of richionne, the beach and all along the coast, a table with chairs and loungers, and then we walked around the corner and we had our own sofas!!!!! Amazing accomodation!
We loved it so much we upgraded from our previously booked double room and kept the suite!
The hotel seems to have improved alot since our last visit! It seems to have had a wee makeover and looks alot better.
The staff were superb and very helpful and we found out from another couple stayin at the hotel that there is a curteousy bus from just outside the hotel (across from the campsite entrance) which took you straight to the San Marion autodrome for the moto gp on the saturday and sunday and then bought you straight back too! FREE OF CHARGE! Now this just wouldnt have happened in the UK!
We didnt have any meals in the hotel other than breakfast, which was served in the garden and was more than ample with a good selection of food and fantastic coffee! We did drink in the bar though and must mention Davided, who helped with our Italian and made th emost superb cocktails and also to Arteen, who was very helpful and chatty! Can I mention that at 4/5pm the hotel still puts out a selection of snacks for guests,,,,so good you had to hold back or ruin your dinner!
We ate at the restaurant next to the hotel (beside the supermarket), which was very reasonable and authentic...but then we were introduced to Porkys by two other guests. Walk out of the hotel and turn right until you get to the 2nd campsite. It is on your righthandside and we had the best food in our entire Italian tour! Very reasonable, very tasty and as the staff spoke little english, we got to use our italian! Marco, Baz and Oscar looked after us and always went out of their way! After every meal (the wine here is also to die for and VERY reasonable) we were given a free bottle of lemoncello to consume! Deadly, but gorgeous!
So all in all, I would totally recommend this hotel! Richionne isnt somewhere I'd go out of my way to holiday in...there are far more beautiful places in Italy, but for out needs it was fab!

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank samparschick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (178)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

10 - 16 of 178 reviews

Reviewed 30 January 2008

This hotel is one of the biggest rip off in the area and unfortuantely it is part of a hotel family run group. Their site shows photos that were false and the service is just about what one would expect for a hotel that handles group bus tour booking. Be aware and stay away for those who want a nice stay in a beach town in Italy.Alexandra Plaza is a huge rip off.

  • Stayed: August 2005, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Check-in / front desk
2  Thank morio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2007

We booked to stay at the hotel for 2 nights, for the Moto GP in nearby autodrome, San Marino.
The accomodation was basic, but nice and clean and quite central for all our needs.
The staff were fantastic and spent alot of time helpin us out with our Italian.

While I would go back to the hotel if I returned for the Moto GP, its not somewhere I would want to holiday.

I didnt visit the beach, other than for a quick eveing drink and there were plenty of bars and restaurants nearby, but it was just abit 'italian blackpoolish' for my liking.

One point to mention is to watch out for the bikes! Push bikes and mopeds....they're everywhere, you can't have a gentle stroll along the front, without the 'dring'dring' of a bike!!!!!!!!

All in all, nice hotel!

  • Stayed: September 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Samthurogood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: zeezicht vragen.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank svsuperschot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
Thank MotteX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
alexandraplaza, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Alexandra Plaza, responded to this reviewResponded 13 September 2017
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Nazzareno Loren... P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: Chambres rénovées avec vue sur mer
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank veronique j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Riccione hotels
1.3 mi away
Hotel Augustus Riccione
Hotel Augustus Riccione
#2 of 291 in Riccione
2,141 reviews
1.6 mi away
Atlantic Hotel Riccione
Atlantic Hotel Riccione
#14 of 291 in Riccione
1,956 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel De la Ville
Hotel De la Ville
#53 of 291 in Riccione
460 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Concord Hotel
Concord Hotel
#132 of 291 in Riccione
298 reviews
2.9 mi away
Hotel Nizza
Hotel Nizza
#185 of 291 in Riccione
169 reviews
1.6 mi away
Lunariccione Hotel
Lunariccione Hotel
#28 of 291 in Riccione
580 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alexandra Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alexandra Plaza

Address: Viale Torino 61, 47838 Riccione, Italy
Region: Italy > Emilia-Romagna > Province of Rimini > Riccione
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #221 of 291 Hotels in Riccione
Price Range: £79 - £162 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Alexandra Plaza 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the beachfront in Riccione, Alexandra Plaza Hotel is set 3 km from Viale Ceccarini street and Misano Racetrack. Riccione Spa is 800 m away. Since 1970, all rooms feature balconies and sea views, and are furnished in a modern and colourful style. Panoramic Mistral restaurant overlooks the blue sea. Guests can sample traditional regional and international cuisine. During the summer season, the hotel also offers the Oasis garden restaurant with a barbecue. The Alexandra Plaza is the ideal base for a relaxing holiday and for families. The hotel offers a contemporary and elegant setting directly on the sea shore. With over 3000 m² of private garden,Two swimming-pools, (the littlest for kids), the hotel provides a relaxing natural setting.Free Parking, wi-fi, and bikes at disposition. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Alexandra Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing