We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful old villa just outside Rieti”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Park Hotel Villa Potenziani
Ranked #1 of 13 Hotels in Rieti
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Beautiful old villa just outside Rieti”
Reviewed 19 June 2014

Rieti was a stopping point for us on our way back to Rome. We chose this hotel because it looked unusual. It was. The property is very historic with many antiques everywhere. The restoration is ongoing, so things like the gardens are not yet full restored.
Our room was beautiful, overlooking the rose garden. It was like staying in a palace.
We were there in the shoulder season, so the hotel was very quiet. However, the service was outstanding. Juliola (?) made us feel very welcome and was available to answer any questions, offer suggestions for restaurants, make and cancel reservations.
The hotel is up on a hill just outside the city centre, so you must have a car.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the garden.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TorontoTraveller55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

170 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    95
    53
    11
    6
    5
See reviews for
25
56
13
46
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2014

We only stayed at this hotel one night while on a ski trip to Terminillo.
The villa itself has been impeccably restored, and we felt 'at home' throughout.
Room and ensuite bathroom were grand, with high ceilings and period furniture.
Breakfast was excellent, with plenty of continental choice.
Garden also well tended, although it was winter so not in full bloom.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jo F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2013

We wanted to give mum a special birthday, so we decided to make it a special weekend at Villa Potenziani, Rieti, with so much of a presidential suite and room service in the evening, since there was no restaurant service that weekend. As soon as we arrived, we immediately received a cold welcome by the receptionist who showed us upstairs and then half way simply handed the key and said that the "room down there was our suite". We opened the door and stumbled in the dark since all shutters were closed and tried out switches. So much of a presidential welcome!
We had booked in advance the room service and so reminded the receptionist that we would have appreciated dinner at 9.00 p.m. At 8.45 we made a call, since we were wondering when they would lay the table. At 9.05 p.m the room service reahced our suite and the waiter said that this was our first course...we asked him how we were expected to eat (perhaps like horses standing up) and in what we were expected to drink (not even drinks were offered or a wine list provided). "Professionally" he said that he was meant to simply bring over the meal...he would check. After waiting for 10 minutes, with the food getting cold, my dad called the reception desk again and invited the lady to come up and see for herself. The waiter came back with chairs! And then finally laid the table! Unbelievable but true he even brought the second course in spite of having noticed that we had not even started eating our first course. Finally at 9.45 p.m we started eating a cold dinner. After 5 minutes the receptionist came back with a bottle of sparkling wine and the waiter with the dessert.
Upon checking out and paying the bill, an elderly man at the reception said "I apologise but that is all I can do".
Upon first booking, the Hotel boasted of having accomodated Mr Montezemolo in this suite... I wonder if Mr Montezemolo received this treatment! Perhaps some discrimination was adopted but little did they know that we have seen the world and never experienced such treatment. Would you not take legal action in such a case? Please give us your opinion.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Veronique C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 September 2013

Hotel has four stars, and that is what it deserves. Great building, staff fine, though somewhat distant, Superb restaurant and breakfast on the roof terrace was equally good. Room, slightly small, and eating alone in the Great Hall was a bit daunting. The advertised gardens were a let down, overgrown by weeds, and neglected. Pool lovely, but couldn't find any real trails through the hundred hectares ( 250 acres!) of land we were meant to have access to. Staff all seemed happy with place, though bit like the Land of Nod. No really serious issues, but nothing to make it a Five Star experience either.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jass185
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Voorthuizen, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
58 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2013

We stayed twice in this hotel (august 2012 and august 2013) and still find it a very pleasant hotel. The hotel is a juwel in the environment, the rooms are very comfortable with a lot of space to move around. Internet (wifi) is free, which is in my opinion the way it should be! Breakfast on the roofterrace is an exellent start of the day, alltough for the north European would it be very nice if there is a choice of (whole weat) breads and muesli. Dinner in the evening (on the roof terrace on nice and warm evenings otherwise in the restaurant Belle Epoque) is a lovely experience. Staff in het whole hotel is very kind and served with a smile.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank roanlotte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London England
Level Contributor
127 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2013

Very comfortable hotel located a little out of town with splendid views over the nearby hills and plain.

We found this hotel on the internet having looked for somewhere to relax after a few days in Rome, it proved to be an excellent choice. You do need a hire car to make the most of your stay, the old town of Rieti is a 20 minute walk or short drive away. Hotel rooms were spacious and comfortable and very reasonable value – contact the hotel direct for the best rates as they seemed to be well under what we found on the “usual” booking websites.

Hotel rate incudes a breakfast taken on the rooftop terrace, a lovely location in the summer sunshine. Hotel amenities include a tennis court, well equipped gym and lovely swimming pool.

The hotel has just 28 rooms so has quite an intimate feel. Some locals do also use the pool in the summer months but we never had a problem finding a lounger.

One evening we ate at the hotel and the food was outstanding, if a little more expensive than we found in town.

Rieti itself is a charming old walled town with a lively centre and perfect for a summer evening stroll through the winding streets and alongside the river.

If you are planning a trip to Rome and looking for somewhere to "chill" for a few days, and not too far away (this is just under 1.5 hour drive from Rome),Villa Potenziani is an excellent option.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank leech_family
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orpington, England
Level Contributor
48 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2013

We stayed for a week attending the Athletics championships. The hotel is grand, but not overwhelmingly so. The view from the roof terrace is stunning, the food in the restaurant beautifully presented and tasty, the service good. It is located up a very steep hill and it is a 20 to 30 minute walk to the town but the views are quite wonderful.

Room Tip: Treat yourself to the Presidential Suite - you won't be sorry!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jrasher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rieti hotels
7.3 mi away
Relais Villa d'Assio
Relais Villa d'Assio
#4 of 13 in Rieti
3.5 of 5 bubbles 156 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Miramonti
Hotel Miramonti
#10 of 13 in Rieti
3.5 of 5 bubbles 168 reviews
0.8 mi away
Grande Albergo Quattro Stagioni
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hotel Cavour
Hotel Cavour
#2 of 13 in Rieti
4.0 of 5 bubbles 125 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Europa
Hotel Europa
#6 of 13 in Rieti
4.0 of 5 bubbles 98 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Serena
Hotel Serena
#7 of 13 in Rieti
3.5 of 5 bubbles 84 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Park Hotel Villa Potenziani? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park Hotel Villa Potenziani

Property: Park Hotel Villa Potenziani
Address: V. Colle San Mauro, 02100, Rieti, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Province of Rieti > Rieti
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 13 Hotels in Rieti
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Park Hotel Villa Potenziani 4*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Agoda, Evoline ltd and Hotel.de so you can book your Park Hotel Villa Potenziani reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing