We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No redeeming feature...”
Review of Hotel Rio sul Mare

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Rio sul Mare
Ranked #5 of 10 Hotels in Rio Marina
Reviewed 10 September 2011

We were so looking forward to our trip to Elba and booked this hotel mainly because of the reasonably good reviews on TA, unfortunately however the whole experience was a massive disappointment and we managed one night on the island before seeking solace back on the mainland.
Although we booked and paid for a night in the Hotel MIS-E-RIO, we turned on our heel and left (well reversing, as it was so small). The mono-syllabic, unfriendly receptionist in the soulless lobby was probably a clue and the room followed suit; cramped, cell-like, no air-con (sweltering), hard unwelcoming out-dated furniture and on and on; awful. My boyfriend said “maybe if I was on day release from prison, it might be acceptable”….
We told the receptionist we couldn’t stay in this room and her response was “you’re already paid” – sums it up really.
Rio Marina was a tired slightly depressing place, maybe it was due to end of season fatigue but nothing about the place compelled us to stay.
Arrivederci Elba. We won’t be back.

Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
1  Thank AmoraItalia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (193)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Rio sul Mare
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

6 - 12 of 193 reviews

Reviewed 6 September 2011

Don't do it. It's awful...Unless you've just got out of prison or are looking for work on the ferries in which case it's just ok. Honestly, the town is terrible too. Beyond dreary. Better off staying on the mainland.

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jonnygoogles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2009

Hotel is near the port and near everything. Breakfast included the price. First time in Italy coffee was bad. It was weak like tea. With extra pay (1,30 EUR) you could get real coffee.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Unikko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 week ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Paolo P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 week ago
Google Translation

Room Tip: Consiglio le camere comfort
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank FabioB_83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 week ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Marzia R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
1  Thank Fabrizia1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rio Marina
5.3 mi away
Resort le Picchiaie
Resort le Picchiaie
#19 of 25 in Portoferraio
56 reviews
5.7 mi away
Hotel Etrusco
Hotel Etrusco
#6 of 10 in Rio Marina
176 reviews
3.3 mi away
Residence Hotel Villa Mare
Residence Hotel Villa Mare
#17 of 25 in Portoferraio
109 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Grand Hotel Elba International
9.6 mi away
Hotel Del Golfo
Hotel Del Golfo
#1 of 10 in Procchio
442 reviews
8.1 mi away
Hotel Biodola
Hotel Biodola
#2 of 25 in Portoferraio
359 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Rio sul Mare? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Rio sul Mare

Address: Via Palestro, 31, 57038, Rio Marina, Elba Island, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Livorno > Elba Island > Rio Marina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 10 Hotels in Rio Marina
Price Range: £52 - £97 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Rio sul Mare 3*
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Rio sul Mare reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rio Sul Mare Marina
Rio Sul Mare Hotel
Hotel Rio Sul Mare Elba Island/Rio Marina, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing