We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“big fish”

Osteria La Contrada
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$35 - US$41
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Description: The osteria IS OPEN ONLY IN the evening from 07pm to 11pm we are open 7 days at week untill ottober .L' osteria e aperta SOLO la sera dalle 19.00 Alle 23.00 Tutti i giorni senza giorno di riposo fino ad ottobre
Moehlin, Switzerland
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“big fish”
Reviewed 26 September 2013

While we were waiting for the restaurant to open, the restaurant just got a delivery of fish right from the fisherman. Can't get much fresher. We enjoyed our meals very much. Good food and friendly stuff.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TomBoogers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

741 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    443
    195
    59
    29
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
Level 5 Contributor
36 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Nothing special”
Reviewed 28 August 2013

Service was ok, but there were only 3 tables occupied. Food and wine of good quality, but really nothing special. I had better tagliata in other restaurants. So I decided to take no desert, but ice cream at Flora. ;-) Prices on the upper side. Won't go back.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Joel3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Chef gone missing?”
Reviewed 19 August 2013

We were a party of 4. The service started ok but the wait for our starters was 25mins and Theron course close to 45mins. The food requiring any cooking was poor - my sons chicken still tasted of flour. The pasta with truffles was unpleasant. The bill came to €170 with no apology or attempt to acknowledge the poor service or food. We were not alone in our wait - though I can't speak for others food. Give this place a wide berth.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Tim100963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
La Ciotat, France
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Good spot but don't expect too much”
Reviewed 12 August 2013

We visited in the middle of August in what we thought would be the busiest time of the year, maybe it was just because it was a Monday but the restaurant was only half full. We took the scallops and burrata from their daily suggestions as starters followed by vongole and a tagliata with black truffles. The starters were good and the mains ok (we order clams away from the sea and truffles out of season so what did we expect?). They have an extensive wine list but as my wife and I were going for different colours we chose to have by the glass. The host (owner?) informed me that he would open any of his 250 different bottles for me to drink by the glass so excited I asked for a nice amarone however he returned with a valpolicello saying "it's like a baby amorone". In reality it was nice wine but was nothing like a good amarone and I guess he did it in order to not open a decent bottle of wine at the risk of it not getting drunk but he should have not said he would open any if his 250 bottles in that case. The service was pretty average with only 2 serving staff but not terrible. We would consider going back but would probably consider a couple of other places first if only for a change. Nothing wrong with it just don't expect amazing....

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank aufruk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Hague, The Netherlands
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Great food, nice place”
Reviewed 4 July 2013 via mobile

Our experience at this restaurant was for us the reason to register as a Tripadvisor user. We loved this place: real Italian food (therefore NOT the usual pizza stuff), well prepared, a large selection of wines, great service, nice location - just outside the city center-: dinner served outside on a spacious courtyard, reasonable pricing. The best Italian food we had so far on this trip. In one word: recommended.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Simon K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Osteria La Contrada also viewed

Riva Del Garda, Province of Trento
Riva Del Garda, Province of Trento
 
Riva Del Garda, Province of Trento
Riva Del Garda, Province of Trento
 
Riva Del Garda, Province of Trento
Riva Del Garda, Province of Trento
 

Been to Osteria La Contrada? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing