We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent meal, great service”

Osteria La Contrada
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Special Occasion Dining, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Child-friendly, Romantic
Dining options: After-hours, Lunch, Dinner, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: The osteria IS OPEN ONLY IN the evening from 07pm to 11pm we are open 7 days at week untill ottober .L' osteria e aperta SOLO la sera dalle 19.00 Alle 23.00 Tutti i giorni senza giorno di riposo fino ad ottobre
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
91 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Excellent meal, great service”
Reviewed 25 August 2014

Having unexpectedly found ourselves in Riva Del Garda at dinnertime, we hurriedly consulted TripAdvisor, and settled on Osteria la Contrada. Were we ever glad we did! The staff were exceptionally nice to our three-year-old; the owner was charming, making perfect recommendations from the menu and wine list. The burrata was super-fresh and delicious, the bigoli with lake sardines was a revelation. The butterflied whole whitefish... a bit boring, but fresh and properly prepared. At the end of the meal, we got stuck for about half an hour waiting out a massive thunderstorm, and watched the staff graciously take care of all the guests, some of whom were coming in in various states of wetness. They even let me borrow an umbrella to walk to the car.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank gonin60seconds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bajo63, Proprietario at Osteria La Contrada, responded to this review, 26 August 2014
tank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

722 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    427
    193
    58
    29
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Buizingen
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Delicious, very child friendly restaurant”
Reviewed 24 August 2014 via mobile

This restaurant is really a visit worth! We had one of our most delicious dinners en Italy. Next to the delicious meals (Coregone di Lago & Burrata di Mozzarella, ...), the owner and the staff of the restaurant are absolutely adorable with children

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank morgalex4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bajo63, Proprietario at Osteria La Contrada, responded to this review, 26 August 2014
Google Translation
grazie a presto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Amazing!”
Reviewed 28 July 2014 via mobile

Absolutely amazing Italian food! Definitely worth a visit. If you are in Riva del Garda, come here and check it out, it's fantastic!

Helpful?
Thank Anastasia G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bajo63, Proprietario at Osteria La Contrada, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
Google Translation
tank you i hope to see you very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
Level Contributor
23 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Dynamite meal”
Reviewed 23 July 2014 via mobile

We had an incredible meal here. Family of five (3 kids under 12). Food was fantastic and people couldn't have been more friendly and welcoming. But it is the food that will bring us back - unusual and dynamite. Black rice and prawn starter up there as one of the best starters I have ever had. Worth a serious detour.

Helpful?
Thank Northside-Dub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bajo63, Proprietario at Osteria La Contrada, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
Google Translation
dynamite client ciao a presto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burton on Trent
Level Contributor
51 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 147 helpful votes
“Our first choice in Riva”
Reviewed 1 July 2014

This was our favourite restaurant in Riva. The food was very well cooked ( we had the lake fish) and the menu had a local feel to it. There was a section of daily additions as well. Our food was served outdoors in a secluded little courtyard, which gave the place a very nice atmosphere. The staff spoke excellent English, and were happy to give advice on food and wine (we like to order wine by the glass, and they had plenty to choose from). The only point to make is that the restaurant is slightly out of the way. Its just outside the gate to the old town ( literally 10 yards or so). You might not stumble across it if you were just wandering around the old town. But, it my advice is that it is well worth the effort to find it. It will be our first choice when we go back to Riva.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Geoffhailz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Osteria La Contrada also viewed

Riva Del Garda, Province of Trento
Riva Del Garda, Province of Trento
 
Riva Del Garda, Province of Trento
Riva Del Garda, Province of Trento
 

Been to Osteria La Contrada? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing