We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best hotel stay ever!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Kristal Palace - Tonelli Hotels
Ranked #1 of 62 Hotels in Riva Del Garda
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 August 2014

This is the best hotel we have stayed in and deserves five stars. The hotel is beautiful and the food exquisite. The staff are fantastic, nothing was too much trouble. We loved the easy breakfast and happy hour on the sky pool terrace. Hope to go back soon, they really have set the bar extremely high, hard to see another hotel achieving anything better!
Thanks so much to all the team.
Mr and Mrs C

Room Tip: High floor for a better view, corner rooms have two balconies.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Jenny C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paolo T, Manager at Hotel Kristal Palace - Tonelli Hotels, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2014

Dear Jenny C,
thank you for sharing your opinion with us and describe the Kristal Palace like the best hotel you have stayed in.
For a pleasant start to your day you recommend our “Easy Breakfast” on the terrace: an outdoor buffet with an assortment of sweet and savoury food, cheeses, cold cuts, fruit and yoghurt, juices, fresh bread and pastries to be savoured while admiring the Lake. In the evening nothing is better than the Happy Hour or one of our special nights with live music.
I have passed your kind words to all the team and I hope that you will visit us again in the near future.
With best regards
Giuseppe Tonelli and Kristal Palace Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (716)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

271 - 277 of 716 reviews

Reviewed 28 July 2014

I stayed at the Kristal Palace Hotel for 8 nights in July with my wife and two adult sons. We found everything at the hotel to be first class with amazing attention to detail. We stayed in two fourth floor rooms which were modern and very nicely decorated. Room service was excellent each day and included a second towel change and turndown service each evening.

We stayed on a half board basis, so ate breakfast and dinner at the hotel. Breakfast was buffet style with a wide choice of hot and cold foods and could be taken in the main restaurant or at the roof top pool bar. Dinner was exceptional and the best we have ever experienced at a hotel. The service from the staff in the restaurant was excellent and the food varied and of the highest quality. Every night dinner included a free glass of prosecco and a "gift from the kitchen" to start the meal, followed by three courses and a salad bar. The wine menu was also extensive and reasonably priced.

We found all the staff at the hotel to be friendly and obviously very well trained. We often saw the owner working at the hotel and spoke with him on several occasions. The hotel arranged entertainment most nights. This was often at the roof top pool bar where the moonlit views across Lake Garda were magical. Entertainment included a truly top class singer and pianist who was often accompanied by a excellent saxophonist. We have never heard better at a hotel. The hotel also has a casino night every week which was great fun and a great way to meet other guests. The cocktails at the roof top bar were also very good, especially the very strong and fresh mojitos. One night the hotel served complimentary crepes at eleven at the bar. This was a great example of how the hotel does all it can to make your holiday special.

The Kristal Palace Hotel is just 2 minutes walk to the lake side and 15 minutes walk to central Riva. We made this walk many times during the day and evening. Riva is a lovely town with many cafes and restaurants and a great historic centre.

We had a great holiday at The Kristal Palace Hotel and would recommend it very highly. We are sure to return very soon.

Room Tip: All rooms are excellent, but higher rooms have a better view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Andrew G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paolo T, Manager at Hotel Kristal Palace - Tonelli Hotels, responded to this reviewResponded 2 August 2014

Dear Andrew,
thank you very much for choosing us for your stay in Riva del Garda. It is a pleasure to read that you consider the Kristal Palace "the best hotel on Lake Garda" and you found every department outstanding.
During the summer we have entertainment with music on the top floor: once-twice a week we organize special events like the Casinò Night with fiches and roulette or the Montecarlo Night with live music by piano, voice and sax followed by crepes suzette. Nice to read it has been very appreciated!
I do hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back on a future visit.
With best regards
Giuseppe Tonelli and the Kristal Palace Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2014

My family & myself stayed in this hotel for my 58 Birthday. I would like to thank the hotel staff for making my stay awesome and memorable. The hotel is not very large and I really like the home an atmosphere filling. The people worked really hard there to make your stay pleasant and a worry free. Great place to unwind and relax. Thank you so much and I hope to return there next year.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mirek P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paolo T, Manager at Hotel Kristal Palace - Tonelli Hotels, responded to this reviewResponded 2 August 2014

Dear Mirek,
thank you for choosing the Kristal Palace Hotel for your very special occasion and taking the time for sharing your feedback with us. How wonderful to read that you had an unforgettable stay in a relaxing atmosphere.
We are all looking forward to welcoming you back for your next birthday.
Warm regards,
Giuseppe Tonelli and the Kristal Palace Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2014

We would like to thank the hotel for their warm welcome, friendly & helpful service! It is a gem of a hotel cleanliness, location & breath taking views of the mountains from the amazing terrace! Some people moan about silly thing's but there was nothing here, our air con leaked but within 5 minutes someone was up & it was fixed, THAT is a sign of a great hotel...thing's will go wrong/break but it's how they go about fixing it, that shows what a FAB service they provided us! It was our honeymoon, and we had an amazing meal more then once in the restaurant, the food was exquisite, presentation was marvellous, fresh produce with Italian charm - seeing the chefs cook was a treat, seeing them smile as you've enjoyed their hard work even better! The restaurant staff was brilliant especially Jessica & Marcos, always service with a smile! The free bike hire was jus a great addition to the holiday (has made us get our bikes back out after we got home) also made us feel better about the amount of food we ate! Michaelangelo on the terrace bar was a really great bar tender, would always encourage you to sit & he would serve you...just relax & enjoy, simply marvellous! This hotel is contemporary, modern...rooms spacious, fab showers, great value fir money, but most of all it was the staff that made it even better & in my opinion a 5* hotel, it makes a huge difference to be treated well & is an asset to the management of which they should be proud! Thank you so much & we hope to return for our anniversary & have already recommended the hotel!! Grazie!! X

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Llinos12s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paolo T, Direttore at Hotel Kristal Palace - Tonelli Hotels, responded to this reviewResponded 26 July 2014

Dear Llinos O,
thank you for posting a detailed review of your stay at the Kristal Palace Hotel. We are delighted that you experienced a warm greeting from our professional team and enjoyed your stay in our beautifully appointed room.
As you write, if something occurs, we like to know it to sort it out as soon as possible. We take great pride in the service provided to our guests.
I have passed on your comments to the Kristal Palace Team: the porters, Jessica, Marcos and Michelangelo are very thrilled about your praise. Also our Executive Chef, who is able to create every day delicious Mediterranean dishes and local specialties of the Lake Garda and Trentino region.
We are looking forward to welcome you back soon for your next anniversary.
With best regards
Giuseppe Tonelli and the Kristal Palace Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2014

I stayed at this hotel for 4 days 16/07/2014-20/07/2014 and it was faultless from the friendly helpful staff the amazing views from the roof top pool and the wonderful food the rooms were kept spotlessly clean and everytime a member of staff went past there was always a warm greeting I'm already waiting for the tour operator to release dates so I can book to go back here I would recommend to any one

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mancitysteve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paolo T, Direttore at Hotel Kristal Palace - Tonelli Hotels, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2014

Dear Mancityst,
thank you for posting a kind review of your stay at the Kristal Palace. We are delighted to read that you experienced an excellent stay in our Hotel with wonderful food, amazing views, helpful staff and spotlessly clean rooms. It is very important for us to know that we are going on the right way.
We will be glad to welcome you again soon.
With best regards
Giuseppe Tonelli and the Kristal Palace Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2014

We have just returned from a wonderful week's stay. We booked this hotel on the back of the excellent Tripadvisor reviews. I have used Tripadvisor for many years and have never come across a hotel where I have struggled to find a negative comment. Our expectations were therefore very high and we weren't disappointed. On arrival we were given a room which we weren't too keen on and the lovely receptionist changed us straight away with no fuss. The food at this hotel is incredible so don't be surprised if you put on a few pounds although saying that the food is not fatty, quite the contrary, it is very healthy and the portions are just right. It's like a top restaurant in London and the staff are fantastic and very attentive. All the staff spoke English and German. The roof top pool is delightful and you can have what they call an "easy breakfast" next to the pool if you wish. Not quite the same choice as downstairs in the restaurant but still a good selection and, if you're still feeling full after the previous evening's meal, then this is the perfect place to go. I can't rave about this hotel enough and I hope the staff are retained for the next season (I believe the hotel shuts in November) as they are a huge asset. Lake Garda itself is stunning with lots of families, bikers and walkers. A trip to Verona is highly recommended, it's like a mini Rome, and the cable car trip at Malcesine is a must. Just one point here. We paid for a return bus ticket but the driver didn't give us a ticket so we asked for one as we got off. However when we got on the bus on our return the driver would not accept the "return" ticket and we had to pay again. Not sure if this is some sort of scam but we were a little disappointed and felt we'd been conned, the only thing to have gone wrong all holiday.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank JUKTRAVELLER
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paolo T, Direttore at Hotel Kristal Palace - Tonelli Hotels, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2014

Dear Jhuktrave,
thank you for choosing the Kristal Palace Hotel for your holiday and taking the time for sharing your feedback with us. How wonderful to read that you had a wonderful week's stay with us and that we met your high expectations. Your praise is particularly for the food: our “Live” Restaurant with open-plan kitchen and a Mediterranean and international flavour is one of our strengths points. We will pass your kind words to our Executive Chef and the Restaurant Team, they are working very hard to create superb dishes every day.
We are very sorry for the inconvenience on the bus...we hope it was a mistake and it will never occur.
We are all looking forward to welcoming you back soon.
Warm regards,
Giuseppe Tonelli and the Kristal Palace Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2014

We booked this hotel based on trip advisor ratings and the location and overall we where pleased with our choice especially the friendliness of the staff and the accommodation, however certain details were overlooked such as
- no tea/coffee making facilities
- no english speaking TV channels( expect for SKy news, who wants to watch Wimbledon in
German)the hotel lists main UK channels in their hotel brochure found in therooms but they are not avaliable .
- AS IT WAS OUR SILVER WEDDING ANNIVERSARY we where told by Topflight that a surpise would await us on arrival, dispite raising this with the rep at the hotel nothing was provided, also our request at time of booking viaTopflight for an upper floor suite was not acted on, we were allocated a room on 2nd floor with views overlooking building sites

On a more positive note the hotel rooms were spacious and nicely decorated, the large walk in
shower was great
The provision of umbrellas at the door was a great idea as we had experience of the seasonal thunderstorms, the staff where very helpful and the complementary hotel bicycles were great for exploring the area, Town centre is only a 10 - 15 min walk away and the scenery is fabulous

Overall we really enjoyed the stay and the roof top terrace is a gem I would have given a 5 star rating only for the issues mentioned. Will certainly go back again to the area


Stuart@portadown

Room Tip: Pick 4th or 5th floor for views and be sure your request has been granted
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Stuart S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paolo T, Direttore at Hotel Kristal Palace - Tonelli Hotels, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2014

Dear Stuart S,
thank you for sharing your opinion and for appreciating the friendliness of the staff and the accommodation. Our goal is to make each holiday a special one with extra little touches, like a bottle of prosecco to celebrate birthdays or the anniversary.
We are very disappointed to read it didn't work. A fruit basket and a bottle of spumante has been delivered in your room after the suggestion of the rep. We apologise for the inconvenience and we will check with our room service what happened. It is anyway an action at our own discretion and completely free of charge.
We hope you will have the opportunity to visit us again soon and enjoy here your next holiday.
With best regards
Giuseppe Tonelli and the Kristal Palace Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Riva Del Garda
0.4 mi away
Lido Palace
Lido Palace
#2 of 62 in Riva Del Garda
628 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Savoy Palace - TonelliHotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Luise
Hotel Luise
#3 of 62 in Riva Del Garda
661 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Parc Hotel Flora
Parc Hotel Flora
#5 of 62 in Riva Del Garda
532 reviews
1.4 mi away
Aktivhotel Santalucia
Aktivhotel Santalucia
#1 of 33 in Torbole
700 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Garda - TonelliHotels
Hotel Garda - TonelliHotels
#7 of 62 in Riva Del Garda
719 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Kristal Palace - Tonelli Hotels? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Kristal Palace - Tonelli Hotels

Address: Via Confalonieri, 8 | Via Confalonieri, 8, 38066, Riva Del Garda, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Trentino-Alto Adige > Province of Trento > Riva Del Garda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 62 Hotels in Riva Del Garda
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Kristal Palace - Tonelli Hotels 4.5*
Number of rooms: 58
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, LateRooms, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Kristal Palace - Tonelli Hotels reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing