We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Europa Skypool & Panorama
Ranked #14 of 62 Hotels in Riva Del Garda
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 August 2008

Just returned from a lovely holiday in Riva del Garda having stayed at the Europa Hotel for a week (wished it could have been longer). The hotel breakfast room was a big surprise on our first morning as the view across the lake was spectacular and the selection of food was extremely generous.

Our room was rather small and did not overlook the lake but it was adequate and had plenty of storage space, a good size bathroom and very clean.

The roof terrace and pool was an added bonus, very quiet and a good place to read when not taking in the lake view.

We could not have planned a better location. It was convenient for the lake steamers, the restaurants, the old town and shops. It was just great to step out into what seemed like a postcard picture every morning.

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank keentraveller003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (310)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

172 - 178 of 310 reviews

Reviewed 20 June 2008

Riva is lovely and we booked for early May to ensure it wouldn't be too hot, and the weather was perfect. We had paid extra for a room overlooking the lake - however, the night we arrived we noticed that out room door didn't lock. This was reported to Paulo the night manager immediately. He was very laid back about the whole thing, assuring us that our possessions would be safe, and promised to have it dealt with, but the day we left it STILL hadn't been seen to.
So if you are allocated Room 207, check to see if it's been sorted yet!
Another reason we had booked the Europa was for the swimming pool on the roof but when we enquired about it, it wasn't going to be opened "until next week". I wonder how many guests over the weeks had been told "next week".
Apart from that, the room was adequate and we didn't suffer too much from external noise.
Continental breakfast was plentiful (but the head waiter was a bit sharp when I accidentally spilt some cereal on to the table) and the dining area overlooked the lake.
All in all, apart from the door issue ,we found nothing to complain about and would go back for the hotel's location alone.

  • Stayed: May 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank LucyDiamondScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2007

What a shame. Perfectly OK stay for three days and then, at check out, the front desk guy tries to increase the room rates despite the hotel's reservation confirmation clearly stating the rate quoted by them when the reservation was made a couple of months before...There had been a "mistake". What a terrible tactic for a hotel management to try. He persists, stating that it is in case we come back to stay again. He doesn't realise that trying to hike the price when the bill is being settled is a sure guarantee against ever wanting to stay there again. Terrible attitude to customer service.

  • Stayed: October 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
6  Thank Dublin8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2007

We visited the best western europa in september of this year.First impressions were that it was ideally located on the side of the river, with an excellant view across the town square. We had paid extra for a room with a lakeside view and although the rooms were very simply decorated (not at all as shown on the website) the view was gorgeous. The downside to our front facing room was the noise late at night from the bars and early in the morning from the shops and restaurants setting up.
Food in the hotel comprised of a continental breakfast, well stocked with cereal, freshfruit, cheeses and meats and a four course evening meal with an excellant and interesting selection of meats, pastas and desserts. Being vegetarian i initially found nothing i could eat on the menu, one word to the waiter though ensured that there was always something available off or on the menu from then on.
The staff throughout the hotel were pleasant, friendly and willing to please.
The best western europa is an ideal base from ,which to explore the surrounding areas, we travelled to the dolomites, highly reccomended and to verona.There are also some excellant walks, if you feel like working off all the pasta you have eaten, try the climb up to the chapel, we did it in two hours, up and down.
Riva is a beutiful town with some excellant restaurants and street bars and ideal for those wh are tired of the usual beach holidays.

  • Stayed: September 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank ellie14101972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2007

Past reviewers of this hotel have given a strangely flattering but inaccurate picture of this mediocre establishment. My wife and I have just spent an enjoyable week here but would not consider it up to the standards of many other hotels in the area in this tariff range. Yes, it has a lakeside position…but not a ‘great’one. Its lakeside entrance door is situated next to a rather tacky little bar, which can get quite noisy in the evenings. Unless you are using the ferries daily I see no pleasure in being situated adjacent to the main ferry terminal with all the activity around the booking booths and coach drop-offs.

To compare it to a ‘four-star’ is stretching the imagination a little too far. It is just one of those typical bland, terraced establishments which have been tarted up (or maybe ‘bodged’ up) to try to compete with the superior purpose-built competition. No ‘grounds’ to walk around in, terraces to relax in with a drink after days out…..’Nothing’ really – you just have to pop out to use ‘other’ peoples facilities.

We found the rooms here to be pretty grim. Knowing we were coming to this hotel we purposely did NOT upgrade to a lake-view room, as we see no point in paying extra for what we consider to be poor value. There are no balconies worth mentioning, the views are not THAT attractive (….just the Sole Hotel opposite and busy ferry terminal activities.) The square can be noisy at night with holidaymakers and in the early morning with refuse collections. In summer the windows will be shut anyway due to the air-conditioning. No – we prefer to spend the upgrade money on a few extra bottles of Bardoleno when staying in this location. However, on arrival when we simply requested a room less gloomy with a slightly larger window we were curtly informed by the manager that we were paying for a ‘cheap’ room, and anything better would entail further charges. (Oh dear, another one of those people in the wrong occupation.) We later found out that this was one of the LARGER rooms which could cater for THREE people. Take note!

The restaurant overlooking the lake is very pleasant and undoubtedly the most attractive feature in this hotel. The evening meals were superb with four entrée and four main course choices as well as a starter salad buffet and sweet selection. Amazingly, the owners are discontinuing the half-board option next season in favour of bed and breakfast deals with some ‘local dish’ restaurant idea being suggested. Not good news.
Breakfasts became pretty boring after a couple of days. Nothing HOT except the DIY toast….not even the stewed coffee or boiled eggs. You can only take so much of the ham and cheese, cerials etc, but ‘breakfast’ isn’t what Italy is about so please don’t expect the ‘full English’. Also, if you are with a coach party you will not be seated in the section of the room with the views.

Yes there is a mini-pool on the roof next to the staff lift (elevator) and under the chimney. There’s no room for the sun beds…..they’re on another stretch of roof a little further up.It’s OK, but we are used to better….with a drinks service maybe…and less road noise. No entertainment- it’s not that sort of a place. Just pray for good weather so that you can get out.

This hotel will always be popular due to its central position and it’s ‘Best Western’ membership, but it’s nothing special. Not a complete write-off ,as this part of the lake is wonderful and it would be difficult to be unhappy here so near to so many attractions. Just don’t pay too much for what limited facilities you are getting.

  • Stayed: September 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
9  Thank Trellis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2007

Super holiday. Food excellent and lovely ambience in hotel restaurant overlooking the lake. We had a spacious and immaculate room with a mountain view.
Great, central location, just step out of the hotel and you are in the hub of things.
We would return.

  • Stayed: August 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank RochdaleSian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2007

Lake Garda in August is beautiful and very busy. It was a struggle to find a reasonably priced hotel close to the centre of Riva del Garda but the Best Western Europa fit the bill.

We arrived very late on a Sunday night and our first experience was of the friendly night porter moving his own car to give us a parking space right in front of the door. This set the tone of the hotel very well.

The staff were helpful and friendly. The room was a little small but clean and well designed with enough space for everything. It would have been nice to get a view overlooking the lake but it didn't really matter.

I would have no hesitation recommending it to anyone.

  • Stayed: August 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank ColmDAthlone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Riva Del Garda hotels
0 mi away
Hotel Sole Relax & Panorama
Hotel Sole Relax & Panorama
#17 of 62 in Riva Del Garda
561 reviews
0.4 mi away
Grand Hotel Liberty
Grand Hotel Liberty
#13 of 62 in Riva Del Garda
1,255 reviews
0 mi away
Hotel Portici Romantik & Wellness
Hotel Portici Romantik & Wellnes...
#11 of 62 in Riva Del Garda
426 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Lido Palace
Lido Palace
#2 of 62 in Riva Del Garda
659 reviews
0.8 mi away
Parc Hotel Flora
Parc Hotel Flora
#5 of 62 in Riva Del Garda
547 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Antico Borgo
Hotel Antico Borgo
#15 of 62 in Riva Del Garda
404 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Europa Skypool & Panorama? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Europa Skypool & Panorama

Address: Piazza Catena,13, 38066, Riva Del Garda, Italy (Formerly BEST WESTERN Europa)
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Trentino-Alto Adige > Province of Trento > Riva Del Garda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Luxury Hotel in Riva Del Garda
#19 Romantic Hotel in Riva Del Garda
#26 Family Hotel in Riva Del Garda
Price Range: £96 - £208 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Europa Skypool & Panorama 4*
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern hotel set in the historical town center facing the port; meeting facilities, rooms and terrace restaurant with views of the lake, sky-pool turkish bath and solarium terrace with view of the lake. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Europa Skypool & Panorama reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Europa Hotel Riva Del Garda
Best Western Hotel Europa
Best Western Riva Del Garda
Riva Del Garda Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing