We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“good food” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ristorante Ancora at Hotel Ancora - CLOSED

Ristorante Ancora at Hotel Ancora
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Riva Del Garda, Italy
Level Contributor
27 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“good food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2014

Street tables, good service and attention from the owner, good wine selection.perfect for a romantic dinner.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Grazia L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

97 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9
    18
    16
    21
    33
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Nice restaurant, average service and eatable food”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 December 2013 via mobile

We visited this restaurant quite early Friday evening and were the only customers at the time of arrival. Service was fast. We ordered two starter salads, which had seen the best days maybe day before. On starter we ordered was not avaulable, but waitress suggested good options outside the meny.

I had risotto, which was taisty, that applys also also seafood pasta. Weissbier was warm when it came to the table.

We were hungry and had not time to look after better restaurant. This filled the need for us, but if you want to have a good dinner, maybe some other restaurants are for you.

While we were eating, several local looking people came in and had pizzas. Maybe that was the speciality of this place?

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Kasawa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarasota, Florida
Level Contributor
19 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Worst meal in 28 days!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 October 2013

Unfortunately, we did not look up this place on TripAdvisor or we would NEVER have eaten there. We were lured in by the friendliness of the owner and then were terribly disappointed with the food. The pizza was inedible - they may have a wood burning oven, but sure don't know how to use it.. As they say in Italian "che delusione"!!! Don't make the same mistake we did!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank CZHalls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sao Carlos, SP
Level Contributor
61 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Buona Pizza”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 October 2013

The pizza is very good, although it took a little long to receive the order. The environment is very friendly and charming.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jader S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Runcorn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Very Poor”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 October 2013

Visited this restaurant whilst in Riva and only looked at the TA reviews afterwards. To be fair it was the worst restaurant of our week in Riva. We were lured in by the cosy tables in the cobbled street, only for the owner to try and get us to eat on the otherside of the restaurant in the less attractive main street. He was dishing out tickets offering free bruschetta, which turned out to be bread and a bit of tomatoe suce. I just checked the bill and there was a 1 euro cover charge per person!!

The pizza was avereage and the salad poor. Whilst I can't say the service was slow or bad, I don't recall seeing a smile.

Overall, there is better value and quality to be had elsewhere.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank BajanVirgin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Ristorante Ancora at Hotel Ancora also viewed

Riva Del Garda, Province of Trento
Riva Del Garda, Province of Trento
 
Riva Del Garda, Province of Trento
Riva Del Garda, Province of Trento
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing