We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel Sole Riva del Garda”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Sole Relax & Panorama
Ranked #16 of 62 Hotels in Riva Del Garda
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 June 2014

Lovely hotel, great location just a short stroll from where you catch the boats. Hotel was extremely clean, staff excellent, we stayed half board and the evening meal was excellent. We choose this hotel because of its location to the lake as we travelled with my parents and did not want to have to walk too far to catch the boats. We all had a great holiday.

Room Tip: Try and get a lake view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jane H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (554)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

190 - 196 of 554 reviews

Reviewed 9 June 2014

Just back from this hotel. Wonderful location in the main square and on the edge of the lake. The staff are super friendly and eager to help. We had a balcony room with stunning views of the lake. However, even though the rooms were serviced daily and very clean they were dated. We had a small bath with a hand held shower. The wc had an excellent flush which wet the surrounding floor tiles if you failed to put the lid down before flushing. There was a horribly old fashioned cream hairdryer which took an age to dry hair but was successful at burning your hand. The room had no real comfort although we found the beds comfortable. The main reason this hotel is not 4 star is because of the dinners. Breakfast was fine. Bog standard - cereal, tinned fruit, boiled eggs, white roll, brown roll, slow toaster and always over cooked scrambled eggs and streaky bacon - sometimes over cooked sometimes crispy. The coffee was pretty gross considering we were in Italy! The fruit juice was diluted squash! There was the usual selection of ham, salami and plastic cheese. However the dinners were DREADFUL with one exception being the gala dinner when we had hot delicious pasta and a decent main course. The rest of the time the food was lukewarm, small portions and believe it or not the accompanying scanty vegetables were tinned or frozen! Around Garda are fields of beautiful fresh vegetable produce - why don't they find their way to the kitchen of this hotel?? The first night I was served a breaded fish fillet which was warm and thin and tasteless with tinned peas and 4 small potatoes that were allegedly sautéed. I couldn't believe it! It didn't get much better. In the end I made sure I had a good lunch out and had one of their unremarkable salads from their salad bar (wet lettuce, dutch tomatoes, grated carrot, tinned sweet corn, pickled beet root - you get the gist!) One evening I thought I'd try the ice cream. They have their own gelato shop in the hotel which sells superb ice cream. Great I thought until I was presented with cheap vanilla and chocolate ice cream from a catering tub. If you had the cheese course (loosely described) the squares of rubber came with one slice of dutch crisp bread. I think the problem is that they are working from a tiny budget per head and thus is constraining them. If a diner were to eat in the main hotel restaurant on the beautiful terrace then the food I observed being served there bore no resemblance to the cheap and nasty stuff we were being served. The waiting staff worked hard and were very good at their jobs. The head waiter was obsequious and kindly. The wine was excellent and very
reasonable. Would we go again - no. A shame really as the hotel Sole could be a remarkable place.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Mashanannafanna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2014

Lovely hotel in beautiful spot. Great views and very handy for ferries to other resorts on the Lake. The hotel has good staff and is spotlessly clean in all areas. We chose a lake view with Thomsons Lakes and Mountains which is a must. We also booked the Venice trip which was very well organised throughout (also recommended) and don't forget the gondola ride! Venice is magical. The only downside to this hotel is the food. You have to choose your evening meal from a small menu which is on your table when having breakfast, ticking off what you want. There wasn't a lot of choice of cooked food at breakfast either. Having said that we didn't go hungry. All in all we had a great holiday.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lynda H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2014

Our first time to Lake Garda and we picked Hotel Sole after reading other Tripadvisor reviews - we certainly weren't disappointed.
LOCATION: Absolutely great, right on the waterfront with views either of the lake or the pretty town square dominated by the old clock tower. Some rooms are inward facing with no view.
A 2 min walk to the ferry quay where you can take a boat to Malcasine and / or Limone (we recommend a 'north lake' ticket at 20 Euros which you can use to visit both places on a round trip). A pretty walk all along the lakeside to Torbole (about 3 Km) but suggest you take a jumper as it is ALWAYS windy as you get further along the path. Plenty of benches to stop & take in the scenery on the way & several pretty grass areas with beaches here too. Beware of cyclists who share much of the path. Riva itself is a lovely resort with many cobbled streets and boutique shops and restaurants as well as some larger designer outlets, it's also much flatter than other resorts and seemed far less crowded than other places we visited.

ROOMS: Ours was lovely and spacious with a big balcony looking straight over the lake. Very comfy beds and a flat-screen TV with 2 English speaking news channels. Plenty of hanging and drawer space as well as a minibar (seemingly no restriction on own drinks in room) and free safe. Shower mounted at waist height over bath was a little awkward to use at first. Towels changed almost daily and room spotlessly cleaned and tidied every day.

MEALS:
BREAKFAST had something for everyone with lovely fresh rolls and croissants every day and a good choice of cereals, yogurt, meat, cheese & toast. Scrambled egg & bacon (every day!) and mainly tinned fruit, though some apples in a bowl to 'pinch' for later.
All meals are taken in the restaurant on the ground floor which is a pity as no view from most tables. You will be allocate a table on your first visit to the restaurant and keep the same table throughout your stay so if you have a choice - choose carefully.
DINNER: A self service salad bar to start followed by (at least) 3 courses which are normally pre-ordered from 4 choices of each course at breakfast. Quality was variable with some days much better than others & quite a lot of frozen food used. Pasta course was always good though rather filling. Drinks reasonably priced with house wine at 14-16 Euros a bottle. Service was excellent (TIP- Don't arrive at dinner too late or you may be rushed through with only seconds gap between courses).
HOTEL GENERAL: All public areas were very clean & reception staff were always helpful. We were disappointed that the bar area was not very welcoming with no comfy seating and all rather 'harsh', although there is, of course, outside seating. There is only one small lift which could generate quite a queue / wait as many guests are elderly and need the lift to access the higher floors.
SUMMARY: We loved it here and will certainly return and insist on a lake-view room.

Room Tip: All rooms quiet as no passing traffic but front lake view rooms with balcony are definitely worth th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank JanandPete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2014

We first stayed at the Hotel Sole just over a year ago (May 13) and were very impressed with the hotel, its location and the friendliness of the staff. We booked to stay at the hotel again (May 14) and were a little anxious if we would enjoy our family holiday as much. We shouldn't have worried! Our room was even better and the staff were just as nice, if not even friendlier and remembering us from last year (hope for the right reasons lol). Traditional Italian food to cover all tastes were on offer and staff were more than willing to help you have an enjoyable meal.
To sum it up, great hotel in a great location, great food and great staff. We will be returning next year.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the main building when booking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank cjandmj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014

We have stayed on Lake Garda before but this is the first time at the top of the lake in Riva. The position and aspect of the hotel is perfect, probably the best in town. Unfortunately we were unable to get a room with a great view but we did have a balcony which you could see a bit of lake and mountain from. The room itself is pretty basic but clean. I understand that most rooms are of a similar ilk. What really impresses here is the service from the staff, particularly the restaurant staff. Nothing was too much trouble and the head waiter (if that is his title) is onto anything like a shot almost before you have noticed it yourself. We had a deal including dinner but decided to eat out most evenings. That was no reflection on that food or the restaurant but our desire to explore. If you feel the need to explore other options for dinner in the evening then I can recommend Ristorante Benacense across the square towards the right. I would highly recommend this hotel for your holiday as it seems many other people would too.

Room Tip: See if you can get a room with a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Gus A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2014

Despite booking this hotel early, when we eventually arrived we were told we were double booked! We had booked a taxi via the hotel which didn't turn up. When we phoned the hotel they told us to just get another one from outside the airport! No apology. They didn't seem bothered they double booked us either. They sent us to their sister hotel Portici. The staff there were wonderful and were very apologetic even though it wasn't their fault.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Service
2  Thank Marian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Riva Del Garda
0.3 mi away
Lido Palace
Lido Palace
#2 of 62 in Riva Del Garda
654 reviews
0.3 mi away
Grand Hotel Liberty
Grand Hotel Liberty
#14 of 62 in Riva Del Garda
1,239 reviews
0 mi away
Hotel Europa Skypool & Panorama
Hotel Europa Skypool & Panorama
#15 of 62 in Riva Del Garda
303 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Portici Romantik & Wellness
Hotel Portici Romantik & Wellnes...
#12 of 62 in Riva Del Garda
413 reviews
0.7 mi away
Astoria Park Hotel SPA Resort
Astoria Park Hotel SPA Resort
#10 of 62 in Riva Del Garda
907 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hotel Lago di Garda
Hotel Lago di Garda
#2 of 33 in Torbole
1,161 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Sole Relax & Panorama? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sole Relax & Panorama

Address: Piazza Tre Novembre 35, 38066, Riva Del Garda, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Trentino-Alto Adige > Province of Trento > Riva Del Garda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Family Hotel in Riva Del Garda
#15 Luxury Hotel in Riva Del Garda
#24 Romantic Hotel in Riva Del Garda
Price Range: £105 - £204 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Sole Relax & Panorama 4*
Number of rooms: 81
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With its splendid lake front facade adorned with arches, balconies and decorative ovals that recall the historic porticoed buildings of the square the hotel boasts large lounges, an impressive staircase and a terrace looking out onto the lake. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, LoveHolidays, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, HotelsClick and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Sole Relax & Panorama reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sole Hotel Riva Del Garda
Hotel Sole
Sole Riva Del Garda

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing