We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good 3* star hotel”
Review of Grand Hotel Riva

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Grand Hotel Riva
Ranked #50 of 62 Hotels in Riva Del Garda
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Good 3* star hotel”
Reviewed 15 August 2012

After reading poor reviews of this hotel we were pleased to say that we enjoyed our stay at the Riva Hotel in July 2012. Hotel has been refurbished. Our balancy room was spacious and had great views overlooking the marina. The hotel is situated in a great location close to bars, shops and within walking distance to the ferry. Food fine and the restaurant is on the top floor with great views for evening meal and for breakfast. Staff and Manager very attentive and pleasant. I agree the bar is empty during the day and evening. The hotel is rated 4* but we say it's definately a good 3*




.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank angela789
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

829 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    157
    219
    215
    146
    92
See reviews for
128
475
23
39
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2012

Great hotel was here July 2012 and has been completely renovated so many reviews are outdated. Was on my own and staff attentive and caring. Ate in a couple of times and food was excellent and they catered for my vegetarianism very well. Views are stunning and right on the Piazza made it perfect for atmospheric evening strolls. Was verging on idyllic!!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Danielle7756
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2012

you couldn't ask for a better location in a most picturesque old town. This hotel was built to impress and recent refurbishments have modernised it (but not lavishly or expensively).

Rooms are standard twins with well reasonable facilities - safe, wardrobe, storage, TV, etc. The bathrooms are spacious with excellent showers.
I'm underwhelmed by chocholate brown carpets and formica wood-effect panelling!! and must mention that at no stage did I see anyone vacuum the carpets.

The restaurant on the 5th floor has wonderful views out over the lake, but the maitre'd has tight control over who gets to sit nearest the windows. Breakfast can be taken on the roof top. Food is generally excellent. We did a full week half-board and only had one dissappointment when the "Gala Dinner" on the Sunday evening appeared as Turkey, mash & gravy (no alternative choice!). Pasta dishes were all excellent and fish featured as a choice almost every evening.

staff are all reasonable - some more helpful & customer freindly than others.

The bar is a dead area - almost everyone goes to the cafes/bars on the other side of the square which is much livelier.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CorkRed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2012

This older property has been nicely refurbished and is centrally located in Riva Del Garda.
We had booked a disabled friendly room and were greatly pleased with the one allocated.
The room was large and had a balcony with a great view of the lake, the bathroom was fine with easy access.
The restaurant is situated on the 5th floor and commands really stunning views of the lake to the south and the town and mountains beyond to the north, as the weather was great during our stay we took breakfast on the restaurant terrace which has a fantastic panorama from the lake in the south right round to the north and is directly above the Piazza Garibaldi.
The breakfast was buffet style and quite substantial with a great selection of breads and pastries, cooked meats, cereals, cheeses, fresh fruit salad, etc, etc.
Dinner consisted of Salad bar starter, a Pasta course (with soup and fruit juice alternatives), main course of fish and meat dishes and an excellent selection of Deserts to finish.
The hotel staff were extremely helpful and friendly.
Would I stay again - Absolutely, we have already booked for late September!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank David G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2012

No tea making facilities in room. New decor inside is modern and nice. Staff mostly friendly. Views from our room of newly refurbed square below - amazing!
Food - hit or miss. Recomend the trip to Renno up in the mountains.
Overall I would stay here again :)

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank ShrewsburyPaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zürich
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2012

I was there during the MTB Marathon end of April 2012. The Hotel has a great location, the staff was friendly and our room was renovated and had a balcony with an absolute fantastic view. Value for money was excellent. So therefore, I am not so sure why some of the reviews are so negative. I would definitely reccomend this hotel for a stay. And I will also come back myself. Parking was not available anymore because there were so many people at the Marathon, but there is a garage within 5 min walking distance, so no problem.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mountain_Biker3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2012

The only good thing about this Hotel is the location..............bedrooms are small and you can hear all your neighbours through paper thin walls..............no atmosphere......................no restaurant...........no Internet.................they had to turn on the lights in the bar when we asked for a drink. Lake Garda is a super place and there are 100's of good Hotels..............just avoid this one! The Hotel was like a building site (no mention of this when we booked). When it's finished I think in the UK it would maybe warrant 2 stars but not more.

Room Tip: Room 303 is tiny and a very strange layout.......cables not finished and it sounds like the people i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Derek5658
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Riva Del Garda hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Riva Del Garda hotels
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Liberty
Grand Hotel Liberty
#14 of 62 in Riva Del Garda
1,162 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Portici Romantik & Wellness
Hotel Portici Romantik & Wellnes...
#12 of 62 in Riva Del Garda
385 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Sole Relax & Panorama
Hotel Sole Relax & Panorama
#21 of 62 in Riva Del Garda
521 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Antico Borgo
Hotel Antico Borgo
#16 of 62 in Riva Del Garda
376 reviews
0.1 mi away
Centrale Hotel -- Riva Del Garda
Centrale Hotel -- Riva Del Garda
#39 of 62 in Riva Del Garda
442 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Europa Skypool & Panorama
Hotel Europa Skypool & Panorama
#15 of 62 in Riva Del Garda
284 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Riva? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Riva

Property: Grand Hotel Riva
Address: Piazza Giuseppe Garibaldi 10, 38066, Riva Del Garda, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Trentino-Alto Adige > Province of Trento > Riva Del Garda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
#15 Spa Hotel in Riva Del Garda
#21 Luxury Hotel in Riva Del Garda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel Riva 4*
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grand Hotel Riva is an elegant hotel in Liberty style in the historic centre of Riva del Garda, offering a breathtaking view of Lake Garda and the lush green area surrounding its banks. The interiors are completely renovated in a contemporary style with a touch of flair to allow you to experience modern style combined with maximum comfort and a price that is accessible to all. The Grand Hotel Riva is the ideal destination for those interested in taking a vacation with their family as well as for sports lovers or people coming to Lake Garda for business. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Hotels.com, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Ebookers and Cancelon so you can book your Grand Hotel Riva reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Riva Del Garda
Grand Hotel Riva Riva Del Garda/Nago, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing