We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a bit disappointed”
Review of Grand Hotel Riva

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Grand Hotel Riva
Ranked #55 of 62 Hotels in Riva Del Garda
Reviewed 3 August 2014 via mobile

I was there just for a night. I had a very minimal room (I guess in a new area of the building) with a very small bathroom (with holes in the wall) without shampoo or bathsoap. There was a small balcony with a nice view but if was full of trash (empty bottles and cigarettes). The wifi was very poor. The breakfast on the last floor was good with a nice view. Considering it's a 4* hotel, I was expecting a better room and accommodation (given also the paid prices)...

Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
Thank oibafomer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (881)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

166 - 172 of 881 reviews

Reviewed 29 July 2014

An exceptional venue with fantastic staff. They helped us with transport to reach them on our arrival in Desenzano. Their local cab driver was excellent and even stopped to show us a fireworks display at no extra charge. The restaurant staff were friendly and helpful and the quality of the breakfast was superb. We would highly recommend this hotel and are likely to return.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank McLean-Buechel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2014

We did not stay here, but we ate here, and I cannot find a separate rating anywhere for the hotel's restaurant. But this needs to be said: The worst meal we had in two weeks in Italy was at this restaurant. We had climbed to S. Barbara, it was mid-afternoon, and this place was open (many others were not). I ordered an omelette, my daughter a hamburger, my son pasta. All three dishes were horrendously over-salted. The first two came with a mountain of French fries, also horrendously over-salted. Oddly, the hamburger consisted of two patties and no bun. But it was the salt that secured this restaurant's ranking as dead last of all the places we ate over two weeks.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
2  Thank Wolverine73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2014

Very disappointed with the food in the upstairs restaurant, very basic considering what we paid, very poor selection to choose from and we were not offered any alternatives and ended eating out most nights. Also disappointed that we had to pay for the hire of bicycles when friends staying in similar hotels in the area got them free of charge. Requested early morning wake up call on day of departure and it didn't happen. Rooms very basic with tea or coffee making facilities, overall disappointed with the hotel and service provided.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Dobson2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2014

Just back from a relaxing holiday in riva del Garda. Staff at grand hotel were lovely and pleasant. Food was amazing on both hotel restaurant and ground floor restaurant. 10 mins from the beach and had brilliant views, both at night and during the day from the top floor restaurant. Hotel spa was amazing, we mostly used the hot tub and steam room, worth your while when it was raining. Great experience. I will defiantly be back.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
Thank Claire D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2014

Had a great week at the Grand Hotel Riva. Situated in the centre of Riva Del Garda close to all the shops, restaurants and boats. Friendly and helpful staff, a great roof top restaurant with good food and great views of the lake, Riva and surrounding mountains. The room we had was clean and had a balcony plus a window overlooking the square.

Room Tip: The higher the room the better view you will get.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Robert D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2014

The Grand Hotel restaurant situated on the top floor has a fantastic vue over Lake Garda and over Riva del Garda. The manager Ingnazio is a very professional person with a lot of humor and make the guest having a great time! The breakfast is very good with fresh fruits as well. The staff is very nice! The waiter Mohammad helped carrying food from buffe because I had a broken leg. Thank you!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ursula L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Riva Del Garda hotels
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Liberty
Grand Hotel Liberty
#13 of 62 in Riva Del Garda
1,255 reviews
0.6 mi away
Parc Hotel Flora
Parc Hotel Flora
#5 of 62 in Riva Del Garda
548 reviews
0.2 mi away
Lido Palace
Lido Palace
#2 of 62 in Riva Del Garda
661 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Vittoria
Hotel Vittoria
#18 of 62 in Riva Del Garda
322 reviews
0.1 mi away
Centrale Hotel -- Riva Del Garda
Centrale Hotel -- Riva Del Garda
#39 of 62 in Riva Del Garda
468 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Portici Romantik & Wellness
Hotel Portici Romantik & Wellnes...
#11 of 62 in Riva Del Garda
427 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Riva? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Riva

Address: Piazza Giuseppe Garibaldi 10, 38066, Riva Del Garda, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Trentino-Alto Adige > Province of Trento > Riva Del Garda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
#15 Spa Hotel in Riva Del Garda
#21 Luxury Hotel in Riva Del Garda
Price Range: £66 - £180 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel Riva 4*
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grand Hotel Riva is an elegant hotel in Liberty style in the historic centre of Riva del Garda, offering a breathtaking view of Lake Garda and the lush green area surrounding its banks. The interiors are completely renovated in a contemporary style with a touch of flair to allow you to experience modern style combined with maximum comfort and a price that is accessible to all. The Grand Hotel Riva is the ideal destination for those interested in taking a vacation with their family as well as for sports lovers or people coming to Lake Garda for business. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Expedia, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., Ebookers and Cancelon so you can book your Grand Hotel Riva reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Riva Del Garda

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing