We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“welcome return to Grand Hotel, Riva” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Grand Hotel Riva

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Grand Hotel Riva
Ranked #48 of 62 Hotels in Riva Del Garda
South Lanarkshire
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“welcome return to Grand Hotel, Riva”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2010

Having enjoyed our holiday at this hotel last year, we booked the same fortnight for 2010. It didn't disappoint. Staff helpful and polite, especially the main receptionist who has too many different jobs to do, including tending bar and needs some assistance. The meals were all of a good standard and the restaurant was efficiently run by the new maitre d'. Our room on the 4th floor had wonderful views over the lake and was very comfortable and quiet, ideal for the daily afternoon siesta! I said last year that the hotel is needing some tlc, and a start has been made with the restaurant being completely refurbished. The rest will come in time, I'm sure. It can't all be done at once, unless one of your overly fussy disgruntled reviewers is a multi millionaire and could make a large donation? Whatever happens, we'll be back next year.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sammi49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

771 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    148
    198
    203
    140
    82
See reviews for
119
440
18
37
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2010

Good position in a nice resort but we totally agree with other reviews from this year which very much reflect our impressions. From the moment we arrived the reception was surly and unhelpful, the restaurant staff likewise, the food so appalling, overcooked, tasteless and unappetising, that for the first time ever, after the first couple of evenings, we ate out both in the evenings and for breakfast at our own expense rather than let it ruin our holiday. We found some great restaurants for this by the way. One night we had chosen fish, it had clearly been under the hot lamp for so long that you could have bounced it off the floor it was so hard and rubbery. As for breakfasts call us picky if you like but in a 4star hotel we expect tea/coffee for breakfast served in pots not out of a machine. We expect proper fruit juice and fresh fruit for breakfast not fruit salad out of a tin. Likewise we don't expect to be served processed peas out of a tin as veg with the main course of the evening meal. There was no attempt at presentation of the food, it looked as if someone in the kitchen had just dolloped it onto the plate. The food was a cross between school dinners and motorway service station food in the old days before they improved a bit. The room was to be generous "tired". In need of paint, curtains and net track falling apart and open holes in tiles in the shower. The tour operators brochure described the public rooms as airconditioned - well someone must have turned it off in the dining room for the week! Totally agree with other comments about the roof terrace. Incidentally the tour operators brochure suggested the hotel provided a welcome drink.We've been back a week and are still waiting for it - in fact a welcome would have been nice! In short do not touch this hotel with a barge pole and any self respecting tour operator should drop it like a hot potato.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank IandR47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Riva Del Garda hotels

Dallas/Fort Worth
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2010

Just came from 2 nights in this hotel. Nasty rooms in serious need of paint (and some actual cleaning would be nice). Great location, right in square of city but after staying here I would have rather walked several miles to the square than to stay here again. Restaurant is DREADFUL. Spend your money on another hotel. This one needs to undergo a serious management and quality upgrade.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BobFromDFW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey, England
Level Contributor
21 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2010

I‘m afraid we have to agree with the majority of people who have stayed in this hotel and left their reviews. The hotel has seen better days and the food is not particularly good at all.

The breakfast is fine with bread choices, hard boiled eggs, one type of sliced processed cheese, one or two types of Italian sliced meat and various jams and honey; there’s also occasionally some fresh fruit but always tinned fruit salad, prunes and yoghurt. There were also a couple of cereal choices. To be honest we did not dislike the coffee – it offered a really good cappuccino considering it was from a machine! So, all in all, a typical continental breakfast and exactly as we would expect.

However, where it all went wrong was with the evening meal. There are four courses and, if you go early enough, there is always a good choice of salad (depending on how full the hotel is). The next course is either soup or a choice of pasta – I suppose you cannot go far wrong with that (other than a lentil soup which was like hot water with brown beans in it – yuk!). The main course was the problem – they offer four choices, including one vegetarian option – but they all come with the potatoes of the day and cold, overcooked vegetables. There are a couple of reasonable choices for dessert so no major problems there but very little fresh fruit on offer. I think most people’s problems were with the main course. How a four star hotel restaurant can offer a main course dish of mozzarella cheese and tomato with a side plate of mashed potato and cold overcooked carrots surprises me immensely.

The dining room was attractive with views of the lake and the mountains but there was no air conditioning so it was often too hot for comfort. However, we found the restaurant staff friendly at all times.

On to the rooms. We had a suite with a balcony and a partial lake view. However, the air conditioning was in the small sitting room and consequently did not reach the bedroom. The temperature was hovering around 40° towards the end of our week so it made for some uncomfortable sleeping. The bed was reasonably comfortable, with pristine linen changed regularly.

The small bathroom was fine – a small shower, toilet, bidet and sink. Very clean, well tiled and with enough towels supplied daily.

From the outside the hotel looks quite nice but as a previous reviewer has said it all changes there. There is a distinct lack of TLC – and it is needed in abundance to make this property into the hotel it must have been in previous years.

The carpets did not always look as if they had been cleaned properly and there was a small pile of rubbish on the second from top step of the staircase leading to the restaurant that was there for the entire week. The girl on the reception desk also covered the bar area which left a lot to be desired.

The terrace on the top floor is a lost cause. There are tables and chairs where you can sit with a coffee after breakfast, and some plastic loungers. There is absolutely no shade and nowhere where you could get a drink of any kind. All it would need is a fixed shaded area (we know that parasols would be out of the question because of windy days) with a small bar and/or a machine to buy a drinks, and it would be used more, I am sure.

Although the hotel was wonderfully situated – probably one of the best positions in Riva – we would have to think long and hard before we booked there again. It certainly does not warrant its four star status. I am not sure how it achieved a four star status in the first place as it does not have a swimming pool or any other amenities that would justify a high rating.

On the plus side, Riva and its surrounding area is stunning, with some really nice bars and restaurants. Go there – but not to this hotel unless it’s bed and breakfast only. When asked further on in this report if I would recommend this hotel to a friend, I have said 'yes' but only because of its position.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jayelkay123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2010

Having literally just returned home after a week in Riva, Lake Garda, I feel compelled to write a review for anyone considering booking this Hotel - Don't Do It!

I have visited Lake Garda 3 times and this Hotel was a very big let down despite showing 4 stars on the building and even if it's as a 3*.

Hotel location is great - albeit the 'Balcony with full Lake view' is an interesting interpretation of a full lake view. Even if you discount the single crane working on a new construction (and I was able to look beyond this), the view is partially obscured either by the Castle or the trees - you would have to have a room on the roof to get a clear lake view. It took no more than 2/3 mins to walk to the main square where you pick up the ferries, as well as immediate access to the various shops. In the other direction, it is a pleasant stroll to the water front where you can swim and laze by the lake if you so wish.

The staff were 'ok', but not overly helpful, especially when, upon arrival we found we had been allocated a room without balcony, despite paying extra specifically for the balcony. It was very much a case of 'it's not my responsibility' and a general disinterest in wanting to instigate any activity that may have resolved or at least helped the situation.

The Restaurant on the 5th floor had huge potential and the 'main man' was lovely, courteous and clearly took pride in his work. However, any claims of the hotel being fully air-conditioned are not evident in the restaurant. The room has a stunning view over the lake in one direction and mountains behind in the other. The food itself was poor to average and after 2 nights, despite having paid for half-board, it became unbearable to eat in the restaurant and we ate out for the rest of our stay. Any 'buffet' items were not replenished sufficiently to provide enough choice for all guests and the selection itself was very limited.

The rooms were basic and clean, but again the air conditioning was non-existant in one of the rooms although fine in another. It really was luck of the draw as to whether your aircon worked at all, or effectively.

The same person manned the front desk and the bar, and after only one evening 4 different drinks had run out - and we are not big drinkers!

We had further issues when we spoke to a member of staff the night before we left to check what time we could have the rooms until. We were assured midday as standard and possibly until 1pm if we checked again in the morning. On the morning of our departure, we were then advised that we had to vacate the rooms by 10am. Again, no mention of an apology regarding us being misinformed. We did eventually manage to keep one room until 12.

This Hotel has huge potential but sadly is in need of some investment to bring it up to date and enable it to offer the services I am sure it was once renowned for. It is over-priced and is a poor second to other accommodation we have experienced on the lake, of a lower star rating.

If I were a Tour Operator, I would not want to be associated with the Hotel as it is now. Our first 2 trips to the lake were with one Tour Operator, whereas this time we went with a different one. Rightly or wrongly, it has associated this bad experience with the tour operator and I would not book through them again.

Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Cariad5569
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2010

This hotel is not a 4 star, food is dreadful, gala evening had fish only on menu with trout for antipasta and second course, menu is not good and food badly cooked and vegetables often cold. All hot drinks for breakfast were from a dispensing machine, be careful as you might get some of the previous residents coffee in your hot water!!!!. A double room had only one bedside lamp and the lighting was dim even by hotel standards. No iron avalable for guests and getting items pressed was quite costly. At times I felt I was in a hostel and while some of the receptionists were OK others left a lot to be desired. There is no computer with internet facillity available to residents, I was directed to an internet cafe nearby. The location is superb but there are other centrally located hotels.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank morrisnDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Giessen, Germany
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 November 2009

an overall nice hotel with tidy rooms and a (for italian standards) decent breakfast. the prices were ok, too. the hotel is situated right beside the castle and the marketplace, the distance to the lake is only 500m, so this hotel is an overall good place for a visite at lake garda. the employees could have been a bit friendlier, though.

Stayed August 2009, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank AndreHo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Riva Del Garda hotels
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Liberty
Grand Hotel Liberty
#17 of 62 in Riva Del Garda
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,095 reviews
0.6 mi away
Parc Hotel Flora
Parc Hotel Flora
#4 of 62 in Riva Del Garda
4.5 of 5 bubbles 471 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Sole Relax & Panorama
Hotel Sole Relax & Panorama
#13 of 62 in Riva Del Garda
4.0 of 5 bubbles 476 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Portici Romantik & Wellness
Hotel Portici Romantik & Wellnes...
#11 of 62 in Riva Del Garda
4.0 of 5 bubbles 356 reviews
0.6 mi away
Astoria Park Hotel SPA Resort
Astoria Park Hotel SPA Resort
#10 of 62 in Riva Del Garda
4.0 of 5 bubbles 744 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Europa Skypool & Panorama
Hotel Europa Skypool & Panorama
#20 of 62 in Riva Del Garda
4.0 of 5 bubbles 259 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Riva? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Riva

Property: Grand Hotel Riva
Address: Piazza Giuseppe Garibaldi 10, 38066, Riva Del Garda, Italy
Region: Italy > Trentino-Alto Adige > Province of Trento > Riva Del Garda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
#14 Spa Hotel in Riva Del Garda
#19 Luxury Hotel in Riva Del Garda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel Riva 4*
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grand Hotel Riva is an elegant hotel in Liberty style in the historic centre of Riva del Garda, offering a breathtaking view of Lake Garda and the lush green area surrounding its banks. The interiors are completely renovated in a contemporary style with a touch of flair to allow you to experience modern style combined with maximum comfort and a price that is accessible to all. The Grand Hotel Riva is the ideal destination for those interested in taking a vacation with their family as well as for sports lovers or people coming to Lake Garda for business. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Jet2Holidays , Odigeo, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), LoveHolidays and Agoda so you can book your Grand Hotel Riva reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Riva Del Garda
Grand Hotel Riva Riva Del Garda/Nago, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing