We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Avoid this hotel”
Review of Hotel Gabry

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Gabry
Ranked #23 of 62 Hotels in Riva Del Garda
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 October 2011

My wife and I stayed at the Hotel Gabry for 4 nights in September 2011.
It is quite difficult to find this hotel as it is at the very end of a cul-de-sac squeezed in between several other hotels which over look your balcony and pool area.
Unfortunately, this hotel is very basic and is clearly not worth paying almost 90 Euros per night per room for bed & breakfast.
On arrival we were checked in by a very unwelcoming young man. In fact, all the reception staff we encountered during our stay were exactly the same and did not acknowledge us as we came and went through reception throughout the day.
The standard double room was extremely basic with not enough drawer space, a tiny TV and no waste paper basket. The bathroom was very compact with a tiny shower cubicle. We were charged an extra 6 Euros per day for air con which was a complete waste of money as the air con was switched of when we left the room. The air con was only a noisy fan blowing cold air when you were actually in the room but went off as you left and therefore you came back to a very warm room. We could not use it during the night as it was too noisy. The old fashioned key operated room safe was tiny and is only good for very small and thin items.
We thought breakfast was reasonable for the first couple of days until one evening we saw the buffet tables were just covered with a couple of table cloths and left out for the following morning. The bowls of various cereals were not even covered over but just lying exposed. On the third day the warm scrambled eggs and sausages were inedible.
One reason we chose this hotel was for internet access as we take a laptop with us to keep in touch with family and friends. However, the two PC's in the bar were appallingly slow at everything (one was not working at all) and the in-room ADSL cable operated internet access was even worse and was completely useless. We resorted to going out to other hotels where wi-fi with decent speed was available.
We did not use the pool area but we did try once to use the outside sitting areas, but the gardens were overgrown with lots of black fly and mossies. We spent most of our time during the day and evening away from the hotel.
The Hotel Gabry is a very poor quality hotel and we would not recommed it at all.

Room Tip: Go to another hotel
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Westlo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (155)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Gabry
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

33 - 39 of 155 reviews

Reviewed 13 September 2011

In many ways a good hotel with a nice staff and free bikes to ride, but it was a bit of a walk to reach the center of town.The wifi was free, but it was too slow to use for anybody with an average amount of patience.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank shelbo_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2011

Nice hotel, but not exellent. Breakfast was good and tasty. Staff was helpful. Room was clean, but bed was uncomfortable, too hard. Aircondition was expensive, 40€/week, but bikes was free to hire. A little bit too far from citycentre, but to lake was only 100 meters.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sahlari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2010

The place was in a nice location at riva del garda. A 10 minutes walk to the center of riva. The rooms were clean and comfortable. We even had a big balcony with a nice view on the mountainside. The breakfast was great with a rich variety of local food. The staff was nice and helpful.
We recommend this place to everyone.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Skyliteee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2010

Hotel is quiet and off the main road. It is within walking distance to the town centre of Riva del Garda. Breakfast was very good with plenty of variety. The staff were very pleasant and helpful. Hotel was very clean. The pool was cleaned every day but it was very cold.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Claudine F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2009

We stayed here for four nights in mid May at the end of our tour of Italy. The hotel is lovely and modern - wooden flooring, natural material furniture and a very contempory design in the rooms. If you are lucky enough to be at the back of the hotel you will have fabulous views of the mountains that surround Lake Garda.
The hotel is situated set back from the lake in the middle of several other hotels, despite this it is incredibly quiet. Within a 2 minute walk you are at the side of the lake and within 15/20 mins you are in the middle of Riva del Garda. The walk into the town is lovely through well kept gardens and beside the lake - we did this walk everyday we loved it so much!
The breakfast at the hotel is very good with loads of choice - breads, meats, cheese, fruit juice, a variety of hot drinks as well as eggs and sausages.
There are loads of restaurants within walking distance of the hotel and many, many more in the centre of Riva.
Overall we would highly recommend staying here and wished we'd booked for longer!

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ZippieDevon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2008

Good value hotel about 15min walk into the centre of Riva DG. Very clean rooms, polite and helpful staff. Breakfast was good but ask the breakfast staff for a fresh coffee as the stuff in the breakfast room is awful. We would probably stay in an hotel nearer to the centre next time but would have no hesitaion in recomending the Gabry as a good budget hotel

  • Stayed: September 2008, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank michaelgould
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Riva Del Garda hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Villa Enrica
Hotel Villa Enrica
#19 of 62 in Riva Del Garda
158 reviews
0.2 mi away
Panoramic Hotel Benacus
Panoramic Hotel Benacus
#20 of 62 in Riva Del Garda
232 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ambassador Suite Aparthotel
Ambassador Suite Aparthotel
#18 of 62 in Riva Del Garda
209 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Garni Prince
Hotel Garni Prince
#45 of 62 in Riva Del Garda
58 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Rudy
Hotel Rudy
#21 of 62 in Riva Del Garda
450 reviews
0.1 mi away
LakeFront Hotel Mirage
LakeFront Hotel Mirage
#10 of 62 in Riva Del Garda
327 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Gabry? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Gabry

Address: Via Longa 6, 38066, Riva Del Garda, Italy
Region: Italy > Trentino-Alto Adige > Province of Trento > Riva Del Garda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#23 Romantic Hotel in Riva Del Garda
#25 Family Hotel in Riva Del Garda
Price Range: £90 - £121 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Gabry 3*
Number of rooms: 39
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Gabry reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gabry Hotel Riva Del Garda

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing