We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice little hotel”
Review of Hotel Gabry

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Gabry
Ranked #25 of 62 Hotels in Riva Del Garda
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 July 2012

Hotel is about 20 min walk from Riva center. Breakfast is very good and the staff are very helpful. We had no problem with early breakfast at 5.30 o'clock or to get advice to all our questions. Air-con is effective and quiet. Parking is free. I can recommend this place.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank olli p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (155)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

27 - 33 of 155 reviews

Reviewed 8 July 2012

Let's start with the breakfast. Lots of variety with local specialities. Very tasty ham. Only downside is there is only machine coffee (but hot chocolate was marvelous). On breakfast there are a little info paper on every table, which tells you the weather of the day and also tips where to go.

Hotel staff is always eager to help you. They have also lot of brochures what you can take. Hotel has free bikes for it's guests. You can also rent mountain bikes for only 15€ per day (the bikes are Trek 4900 includes helmet, locks etc.). Hotel guests can also attend for free to professional biking trips to mountains (book one day advance). There are also a locked place to store your own bikes.

Hotel is located about 15-20 min walk from Riva centrum. The longer walking path on the beach is much more nice than little bit shorter along the Via Longa.

Rooms were tidy and they cleaned every day. There is a safe in every room, but you have to pay. Also air condition is chargeable. Pool area looked also very nice, but there are no pool-towels.

All-in-all very nice family-hotel and I will definitely go again on the next time.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Cole S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2012

Just back home from a stay in Hotel Gabry, the staff were friendly when engaged. The pool was a welcome escape from the 40 degree (!!!) heat. Peaceful and quiet at night with an air con system that you barely knew existed (because it was so quiet). Location wise, it was fine for a 20 minute stroll along the busy Via Rovereto to the center of town (might not be ideal for elderly visitors). Easy to find via GPS but could be a problem to locate without it. Plenty of leaflets available from reception on local activities, bikes are available to customers. Breakfast buffet is superb and very european. We will be back again to this place. PS, check out Gelateria Flora for some Ice-Cream & La Paz for some cocktails on Via Rovereto.

Room Tip: Get the Superior room, its 20 euros extra but there are 2 sun loungers on a private terrace.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank somath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2012

Hotel a block or so back from the main road which we prefer. Pleasant rooms and dining area for breakfast. Breakfasts good with home made cakes/pastries. Always able to park in the hotel grounds. Plenty of leaflets for things to do around and about. Resort excellent, we went for four days of mountain biking which was superb. Bike storage available. And was nice to relax by the pool each evening after a hard day in the saddle. Nice walks on the shore into Riva town, but a few good local pizzerias if you didn't want the 15min walk. Staff very friendly and helpful. Would recommend.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Phil S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 December 2011

Stayed here in August 2011, and found it a great base for exploring Lake Garda and the surrounding areas. The staff were really helpful and friendly throughout our stay. The hotel is a lovely walk along the lakeside from central Riva (great to walk off all the fabulous ice-cream!) and is in a quiet location. Our room was really spacious and traditionally decorated. You will be disappointed if you come expecting a contemporary decor. The room was really clean on our arrival and was cleaned daily. Each room had a safe to secure some smaller items. The pool is a little on the small side but we got sunbeds any time we came down. It was really useful to have internet access while we were there. The breakfast buffet was great and really set us up for our days exploring Lake Garda. We also used the bikes to get in and out of town on a few occasions so that was a useful extra to have available. All in all, we had a great holiday in Riva del Garda and would recommend to anyone to visit here. We would love to return and would happily book again if we do return to Riva del Garda.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DublinGenie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2011

This is the third time we have stayed at The Gabry. It is familly run and they are all very friendly and extremely helpful. The breakfasts are superb and the homemade cakes and pastries are delicious. If you are a windsurfer or cyclists then this is the place for you. They run organised cycle trips from the hotel every day which are of varying distances and if you want to windsurf, then you are a short walk (20mins along the lakeside) from all the expertese you could possibley want.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stjhnsm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2011

My wife and I stayed at the Hotel Gabry for 4 nights in September 2011.
It is quite difficult to find this hotel as it is at the very end of a cul-de-sac squeezed in between several other hotels which over look your balcony and pool area.
Unfortunately, this hotel is very basic and is clearly not worth paying almost 90 Euros per night per room for bed & breakfast.
On arrival we were checked in by a very unwelcoming young man. In fact, all the reception staff we encountered during our stay were exactly the same and did not acknowledge us as we came and went through reception throughout the day.
The standard double room was extremely basic with not enough drawer space, a tiny TV and no waste paper basket. The bathroom was very compact with a tiny shower cubicle. We were charged an extra 6 Euros per day for air con which was a complete waste of money as the air con was switched of when we left the room. The air con was only a noisy fan blowing cold air when you were actually in the room but went off as you left and therefore you came back to a very warm room. We could not use it during the night as it was too noisy. The old fashioned key operated room safe was tiny and is only good for very small and thin items.
We thought breakfast was reasonable for the first couple of days until one evening we saw the buffet tables were just covered with a couple of table cloths and left out for the following morning. The bowls of various cereals were not even covered over but just lying exposed. On the third day the warm scrambled eggs and sausages were inedible.
One reason we chose this hotel was for internet access as we take a laptop with us to keep in touch with family and friends. However, the two PC's in the bar were appallingly slow at everything (one was not working at all) and the in-room ADSL cable operated internet access was even worse and was completely useless. We resorted to going out to other hotels where wi-fi with decent speed was available.
We did not use the pool area but we did try once to use the outside sitting areas, but the gardens were overgrown with lots of black fly and mossies. We spent most of our time during the day and evening away from the hotel.
The Hotel Gabry is a very poor quality hotel and we would not recommed it at all.

Room Tip: Go to another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Westlo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Riva Del Garda hotels
47.4 mi away
Residence Vecchio Porto Excelsior
Residence Vecchio Porto Excelsio...
#58 of 62 in Riva Del Garda
54 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Antico Borgo
Hotel Antico Borgo
#15 of 62 in Riva Del Garda
404 reviews
1 mi away
Hotel Europa Skypool & Panorama
Hotel Europa Skypool & Panorama
#14 of 62 in Riva Del Garda
310 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Ambassador Suite Aparthotel
Ambassador Suite Aparthotel
#20 of 62 in Riva Del Garda
220 reviews
0.2 mi away
Parc Hotel Flora
Parc Hotel Flora
#5 of 62 in Riva Del Garda
548 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Luise
Hotel Luise
#3 of 62 in Riva Del Garda
677 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Gabry? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Gabry

Address: Via Longa 6, 38066, Riva Del Garda, Italy
Region: Italy > Trentino-Alto Adige > Province of Trento > Riva Del Garda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Family Hotel in Riva Del Garda
#23 Romantic Hotel in Riva Del Garda
Price Range: £88 - £185 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Gabry 3*
Number of rooms: 39
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Gabry reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gabry Hotel Riva Del Garda

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing