We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awful food”
Review of Hotel Primo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Primo
Ranked #55 of 62 Hotels in Riva Del Garda
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Awful food”
Reviewed 17 April 2014 via mobile

Didn't stay here but ate here, food was absolutely awful. We were looking forward to basic but tasty Italian food, the lasagne was heavy with no meat as far as we could tell and tasteless, the fish was dry. Avoid eating here at all cost

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Catherineers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlessandroLiberty, Owner at Hotel Primo, responded to this review, 27 February 2016
Good afternoon,

we like to inform that from 2016 season the management has been changed.
New management from a 4 star hotel and also all new staff

Come to enjoy our Restaurant and Pizzeria !

See you !
Thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    13
    30
    30
    9
    10
See reviews for
24
31
6
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
fatboyzdiner
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2013

My mum has just returned from a week at the Hotel Primo, in Riva del Garda. She has asked me to write this review as she had such a lovely time, and wanted to pass on her thoughts.
After a long transfer from Milan Bergamo, my mum was made to feel very welcome and found her room to be very comfortable. The food was varied and delicious, the staff friendly and attentive. Her room was cleaned every day and the hotel as a whole was kept spick and span. The location was good - only 5 mins walk to the lakeside and 15 to the centre of Riva.
For her (very) early morning departure, the hotel provided an extensive packed breakfast which was very welcome.
My mum - Betty Davies - dice che ringrazio molto!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fatboyzdiner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Istanbul, Istanbul, Turkey
Level Contributor
37 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2013

İ went to garda to the optimist world championship , we stayed at hotel primo at the race time , i can say that the dinner is not amazing everytime you eat pasta but the hotel employees are smiling always ... İ don't know why , but it's funny , the rooms are well and the hotel is in a good place .

Room Tip: The rooms who are in the front have a good landscape
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HalukCalin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2013

Just returned from a week at the Primo. The welcome was good and remained so throughout our stay. The hotel is run by a young couple who work very hard. Money has clearly been spent on the front of the place, the outside seating and restaurant are as good as any on Viale Rovereto but that is where the investment seems to end. The rooms are tired and dated, the bathrooms are in real need of updating - the plumbing is really eccentric with taps that never seem to work right. If you like to sleep with fresh air, you must not have a room on the front as the road noise and the noise from the gelateria opposite will keep you awake. Fortunately the air con worked. It was nice to have a fridge in our room.

Part of our package was half board, which meant a limited choice of meals but there was always plenty of it and a reasonable choice. We thought the breakfast was good.

The hotel was nowhere near full or even half full which is a shame as the staff were all friendly and the business deserves to succeed. More should be spent on the rooms and better reviews
would follow.

I would recommend this hotel but only for a few nights.

Room Tip: Rooms on the front have a balcony but loads of noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank andy186364
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bucharest, Romania
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2013

The stuff was nice, the breakfast was so-so, but the hotel didn't worths even for free! The check-out at was at 11.00 because they have only one women to clean, so she needs some time, it's normal. But for the hotel manager is not normal to have the 11 as check-out! Is not normal to have only 1 lady to clean all the hotel! It's not normal to have this OLD OLD bathrooms and rooms. All you can say about the hotel is that he needs a rennovation! So, untill then, stay away!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank s_michela
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mariano M, Proprietario at Hotel Primo, responded to this review, 21 August 2013
Google Translation
Gentili ospiti,
grazie per aver pubblicato i vostri commenti sul nostro hotel, siamo dispiaciuti che le vostre aspettative non siano state rispettate, ma desidererei fare delle puntualizzazioni in merito, Il nostro hotel è classificato 3 stelle e non un 4 o 5 stelle (quindi prezzi e servizi sono adeguati a tale classificazione). Le camere sono essenziali, pulite e con tutto il necessario dovuto, il prezzo é equo e giusto, sia per il contesto che per i servizi offerti. Per quanto riguarda il ceck-out é normale che sia entro le 11 di mattina (come regolamento esposto e come specificato nel sito utilizzato da voi per la prenotazione), questo per garantire il ceck-in dalle 14 dei nuovi clienti in arrivo e non perchè ho solo una donna delle pulizie (cosa tra l'altro non veritiera). Ricorderei anche che il ceck-in é stato fatto in piena notte ben oltre l'orario previsto, senza problemi e senza supplementi (servizio non dovuto ad un 3 stelle), quindi prima di dare delle valutazioni cosi negative sarebbe ragionevole pensarci forse un po' di piu', probabilmente a voi non costa nulla, ma ad una azienda seria che lavora onestamente la cosa potrebbe pesare. Non sono consono a rispondere in questo modo hai miei clienti, ma questa volta mi sembrava giusto chiarire alcune cose.

Cordiali saluti Mariano M.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Riva Del Garda hotels

Cologne, Germany
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2013

We stayed in the Hotel Primo in early August 2013. The hotel and facilities were as expected.
On the positive side:
- Friendly welcome
- Room with AC and working
- Cleaning done daily
- Closely located to the lake, just across the road 50m
- Only ten minutes’ walk into town
On the negative side:
- Internet worked not all the time
- Breakfast was average
- For dinner you better use some of the other restaurants close by
Value for money was ok, given that it was high season. Parking was a bit cumbersome, but free.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Monty8888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kent
Level Contributor
24 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2012

We have just come back from a week at the primo hotel and everything was satisfactory, for what we pay''d we had our monies worth so no complaints from me, the staff did everything to make our stay comfortable and on our last day because of our early flight they gave us each a packed lunch that lasted us all day.Throughout our stay they was always there to please us .They have no ket'tles in the room so its a good ide'a to pack one. the hotel is a nice walk away from riva and my best tip is to take the 10 euro return boat trip to limone and just chill out,or walk the other way along the lake into torbole ,if you take the 2 euro bus into malcesine that runs every hour you will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank contentedKent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Riva Del Garda hotels
0.8 mi away
Canarino
Canarino
#37 of 62 in Riva Del Garda
124 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Garni Prince
Hotel Garni Prince
#44 of 62 in Riva Del Garda
55 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel La Perla
Hotel La Perla
#62 of 62 in Riva Del Garda
158 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel Rialto
Hotel Rialto
#45 of 62 in Riva Del Garda
26 reviews
0.1 mi away
Residence Spiaggia
Residence Spiaggia
#48 of 62 in Riva Del Garda
32 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Bristol
Hotel Bristol
#46 of 62 in Riva Del Garda
150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Primo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Primo

Property: Hotel Primo
Address: Viale Rovereto 57, 38066, Riva Del Garda, Italy
Region: Italy > Trentino-Alto Adige > Province of Trento > Riva Del Garda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Riva Del Garda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Primo 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Expedia, LoveHolidays, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Primo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Primo Hotel Riva Del Garda
Hotel Primo Riva Del Garda/Nago, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing