We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location - very avaerage food”
Review of Hotel Primo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Primo
Ranked #50 of 62 Hotels in Riva Del Garda
Reviewed 26 July 2010

We didn't pay a lot for this holiday for half board so don't feel we can grumble, room was basic but very clean, staff were helpful and nice, breakfast and dinner was basic but edible, there were 4 courses, pasta in tomato sauce, then salad, then main meal of risoto, veal, chicken etc, lastly ice cream or fruit, if your looking for a standard hotel at a good price then I would recommend this hotel

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank firsties
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (113)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

28 - 34 of 113 reviews

Reviewed 28 September 2009

If you get a good deal on this hotel as we did then it's not too disappointing as the rooms are clean and the staff kind and hard working. The location is good for the lake front but 20mins into the town (we didn't mind this as the walk along the lake front into town is nice).

Our only disappointment was with the mealtimes. We were halfboard and breakfast was fine. The evening meals have limited choice and were of poor quality (althought there was plenty of food!)We felt like we were rushed through each course and it definitely didn't feel relaxing!! The dining room was stuffy and lacking in any kind of atmosphere. We were jealous to see the other customers (who weren't staying at primo) sat in the nice outside section with a huge menu to choose from!

We have been to italy several times and the food has always been amazing and a real focus of the holidays so to us, the poor quality and poor atmosphere were a real low point and affected what was otherwise a lovely holiday.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CA31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2009

This hotel is officially 3 stars but is only worth 2 at best. The food is edible but poor quality, and the rooms are clean but very dated with paper thin walls and 70's decor. It is a 20 min walk to the square, so if you dont like walking, this is not the hotel for you. In fact the only people this hotel is for, is people doing Garda on a budget and dont mind roughing it a bit.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank megaweb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2009

Stayed for 1 week, half board. Rooms clean and comfortable. Try to get a room at the front if you want a balcony with some sort of view. side rooms look on to next building.

Road at the front can be busy at certain times of the day.

Food was plentiful and included options every evening.

Breakfast selection limited (as expected).

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Soulskimp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2006

We stayed at Hotel Primo for a week on HB basis - booked through [---------------]. Although the room size was average, it's clean and got all the basics we needed. The bathroom also clean and maintained well. The bathroom and the room were cleaned everyday we stayed there. The hotel is at the centre of the Riva Del Garda - all shops bars etc. only a couple of steps away. More importantly, the Lake Garda is only 200m away from the hotel - very nice. The ice cream bar, Flora, just opposite Hotel Primo, serves variety of lovely ice creams. They played loud music until 1am so sometimes it’s quiet difficult to get some sleep early even though the hotel room was double-glazed. The hotel staff were very friendly, polite and helpful. Although the food was good and served well, disappointed with lack of choices - same dish was served 3 consecutive days. And similar issue with breakfast – very limited choices. But we had a good time during the stay at Primo and I would stay in the hotel again.

Stayed: May 2006
4  Thank Martin_Dev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2006

The hotel is in a perfect area of the beautiful town of Riva, just a few hundred metres from the lake front (not visible from the hotel though) and a nice half hour lake walk into the town. There is no pool but the lake is great for swimming. If you are not too good at Italian or German you might struggle to explain things to some of the staff but a few can speak English well, so use your rep if you are struggling. The rooms are nice and very clean, as is the whole hotel. The food in general was very good but was better some days than others, although the restaurant staff were very helpful and polite. In summary, great hotel, very helpful and polite staff and a perfect area....very highly recommended

  • Stayed: July 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank Johnbrisdgeman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
England
146
Reviewed 5 September 2003

My girlfriend and I booked a last minute deal to lake garda not knowing the hotel that we were staying at before we got there, my girlfriend was panicking a lot when we were on the coach driving through the outskirts as there are some down market hotels but then the coach stopped at the hotel primo and we were pleasantly surprised when it looked good.When we got to our room we were happy to see that our money was well spent. The room was basic but it had everything anyone needed (2 Beds (easily pushed together to make a double), satellite TV, wallrobe and it even had a balcony although the view was not that great. Also the shower room was well quipped (just make sure that your girlfriend does not turn off the hot water without realising it because cold showers aren't that nice) with all the usual and clean towels everyday as well as a maid service everyday.The hotel also served hot meals throughout the day as it was a resturant as well. We were staying HB where we got a breakfast (sorry I can't comment on it as we didn't get up that early) and a 3 course meal in the evening. My girlfriend and I are both vegetarians but as we booked last minute we couldn't inform the hotel of this but the waiter we had always came up with a vegetarian alterative for us witch was always as good as Italian food could get.As for lake garda (riva del garda) you can get a more picturesque area, you are surround by mountains and you have a crystal clear lake just a minutes walk away from your hotel. There isn't that much to do Riva del Garda apart from go swimming in the lake, sit in the sun and go on some beautiful walks taking in the views. If you want to go swimming you will be happy to know that there are special areas of the lake cordoned off with a life guard on duty throughout the day. The beeches are busy on hot days but you can always find a spot and there isn't loads of kids running around (which me and my girlfriend were very happy about).If you want loads of nightlife Riva certainly isn't the place to go, the main bar for the resort is dead opposite the hotel primo, but don't let this put you off as you wouldn't know if you were in your room and you can hardly hear the music if you are out on your balcony (my girlfriend and I actually like the quiet music in the evenings), If the noise does worry please don't let it as the main road in the resort where the vast majority of the hotel are off) makes more noise than the bar and even the road doesn't make that much noise (you want even hear in when your in your room). If you want to eat away from the hotel there are restaurants up and down the main road, you will be spoilt for choice but my advice is if you are going to stick with pasta dishes (which most people do) the stay at the hotel for your evening meal as there food was as good as you could find. If you are travelling on a budget then there are two supermarkets (only small but they had everything you needed) close by where you could buy food and make your own cheap lunches, also they are stocked with san tan cream and after sun if your girlfriend happens to get burnt and you run out of your supply.If you do run out of things to do in Riva there are local ferries that travel up and down the lake everyday so you can visit other areas of Lake Garda and the fraction of the price of an organised tour. If you want to get away from Lake Garda there was a tour company near by that organised trips to Venice, Verona, Milan and loads of other places at very reasonable prices.The last thing that I would say that Riva del Garda is a place where you can go on a truly relaxing holiday, where you can go and forget about everything back home. The only bad thing about the hotel is that it had no A/C in the rooms but it did everywhere else like the dinning room, also it had no swimming pool (but you don't need it when you have a lake as wonderful as lake garda only a minute away.For the first holiday away with my girlfriend I couldn't of asked for anything more, I hope that all our holidays together are as good as this one. See not all 18 year old are party going idiots some like to have nice holidays away to relax.

46  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Riva Del Garda hotels
1.3 mi away
Hotel Rudy
Hotel Rudy
#22 of 62 in Riva Del Garda
462 reviews
0.1 mi away
Residence Spiaggia
Residence Spiaggia
#47 of 62 in Riva Del Garda
36 reviews
0 mi away
Hotel Rialto - Ristorante Pizzeria
Hotel Rialto - Ristorante Pizzer...
#42 of 62 in Riva Del Garda
30 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Ambassador Suite Aparthotel
Ambassador Suite Aparthotel
#20 of 62 in Riva Del Garda
213 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Campagnola
Hotel Campagnola
#24 of 62 in Riva Del Garda
357 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Vittoria
Hotel Vittoria
#17 of 62 in Riva Del Garda
322 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Primo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Primo

Address: Viale Rovereto 57, 38066, Riva Del Garda, Italy
Region: Italy > Trentino-Alto Adige > Province of Trento > Riva Del Garda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Riva Del Garda
Price Range: £35 - £150 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Primo 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, TravelUp, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Hotels.com, Ebookers, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Primo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Primo Hotel Riva Del Garda

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing