We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“PLeasant hotel, nicely situated”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Centrale Hotel -- Riva Del Garda
Ranked #42 of 62 Hotels in Riva Del Garda
Reviewed 8 October 2012

What a nice pleasant place to while away a week, lovely view from the window of the lake, admittedly not much of the lake but you could definiteley see the ferries adn all the activities around the square. A perfect location for getting out and about in the town. Continetal breakfast quite adequate and what you would expect but the room was quite basic. We only ate in the restaurant, not as part of the package offered and what we had was very good, the service was excellent

Room Tip: pay the extra to get the view, and a balcony
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FRanGib
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (447)
There are newer reviews for Centrale Hotel -- Riva Del Garda
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

124 - 130 of 447 reviews

Reviewed 4 October 2012

If you're staying here & are offered this room - just say NO. This room is not even wide enough to take a single bed, so they were placed end to end. Very companiable - even the simple pleasure of sitting up in bed to read was denied us, since there were no headboards to the beds. The worst thing was the soil pipe behind an access panel that ran down the wall in the corner of the room, so every time anyone flushed, showered, used their wash-hand basin in the floors above we heard a deluge of water down this pipe. I'm not saying it leaked, but do you want to be woken by this at all hours? The hotel was very clean, fresh towels every day etc, but the food was abysmal - I just about lost faith in Italian cooking, until our last night when we ate elsewhere and had a wonderful meal (to celebrate my 60th birthday) - can you understand why I was cross now, I'd saved up for this trip. Our complaints were met by borderline rudeness/ indifference.

Room Tip: Like the title says - Room 101, just stay away.
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Patricia H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2012

Having paid a little extra for a room looking over Lake Garda boy did we strike lucky but if you wanted an early night you do get the sounds of the hustle and bustle of square below, so maybe this wont be for you. We experienced sun, the cloud rolling down the mountains towards the lake and even lightening as a storm travelled up towards us at Riva. It was very spacious and kept very clean and towels changed when we needed them. We only stayed bed/breakfast which was the usual buffet but quite adequate. We did use the hotel restaurant were you sit outside again looking at the lake and the food was very good and you get 10% off as a guest. We did go out to others which were varied but Pizza comes in so many varieties at many restaurants there is one to suit all tastes. I will say our friends room though just as spacious was lacking space to put toiletries in the bathroom.

Room Tip: Pay a bit extra for view for rooms at back maybe a bit dark
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rosemary w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2012

A friend and I stayed at this hotel in July 2012. The position of the hotel is as its name says - central. This means it is in the square and therefore you must expect noisy surroundings, not noticed in the day, but in the evening when people are out dining and drinking - noisy!
If you are a night person this will be fine.
We stayed for B&B, all I can say about the breakfast is it's minimal but not interesting.
The bedrooms are clean if basic, no complaints there as you only sleep in the place.
The staff were miserable and grumpy. Each morning we observed how little they communicated with the guests, one waitress in particular would almost sweep you out the door so she could clear the tables.
Other guests were making the same comments so either they just had a miserable lot of staff at that time, or they were miserable and grumpy all of the time.
I personally have never stayed at such an 'impersonal' hotel, and I wont be going back there.
I also missed not having a sun lounging area, we had to sunbathe, read and rest in public parks, and there was no swimming pool.
Riva del Garda itself is a fabulous place. I've had many holidays in various places around Lake Garda so was able to compare, and Riva is lovely. Plenty to see and do, and a much bigger place than I expected. I will definitely go back to Riva but not Hotel Centrale.

Room Tip: They said that the rooms overlooking the lake were noisy, so we picked one at the back which was - n...
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gold22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2012

We have recently returned from this hotel. We were on a half boared basis.
As the meal on an evening was a set menu (more or less) This was slightly poor but an allowance of 8 euros per head was allowed if you wished to eat a la carte. We chose to do this as did a number of others. This proved ideal.

The position of the hotel is at the far north of lake Garda and couldnt have been better all amenities close by.
The rooms on the small side but very clean and well looked after. Towels and bedding changed regulary Staff a bit quiet but there when you needed them. Agood economical hotel

Room Tip: We had a side view room but probably would chose lake view next time with a balcony ( not many of th...
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank syddor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2012

We went to Riva Del Garda last year.Had a lovely holiday,in a different Hotel but really liked the look of this hotel.The location is perfect,if you like a lot going on in the evenings.The food was nice with good service.
You have a choice of two starters and two mains,which you order the night before.
The trips to Venice and Verona are very well run.Our room was very clean and big,and we had a fantastic week.

Room Tip: We had a nice room at the back of the hotel,no veiws but a lot quiter.I found the bed and pillows a...
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank julie h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2012

The hotel is fine for the money paid and central. The village is lively. The food at the hotel was included in our holiday. The dinner menu is limited and is not offered front of house but only to guests, portions are on the small size and quality is school-mealish (for those of us who had standard 2 course school meals with no options!).
Room was cleaned daily with fresh towels. Bed was large and slightly hard for me. TV was a bit small for size of room - we want to watch closing ceremony of Oylmpics - only English Channel is BBC World News, so watched on Italian, there are also German channels.
We also had breakfast included; ham & cheese were processed, there was some fruit, ceral, cossiants, toast and of course tea and coffee - all self-service.

Room Tip: Few of the lake view rooms actually have a balcony that you can sit on but view of lake was lovely...
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank DeniseJay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Riva Del Garda hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Portici Romantik & Wellness
Hotel Portici Romantik & Wellnes...
#13 of 62 in Riva Del Garda
395 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Sole Relax & Panorama
Hotel Sole Relax & Panorama
#22 of 62 in Riva Del Garda
537 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Europa Skypool & Panorama
Hotel Europa Skypool & Panorama
#14 of 62 in Riva Del Garda
295 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Grand Hotel Riva
Grand Hotel Riva
#51 of 62 in Riva Del Garda
840 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Vittoria
Hotel Vittoria
#16 of 62 in Riva Del Garda
321 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Antico Borgo
Hotel Antico Borgo
#12 of 62 in Riva Del Garda
397 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Centrale Hotel -- Riva Del Garda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Centrale Hotel -- Riva Del Garda

Address: Piazza Tre Novembre 27, 38066, Riva Del Garda, Italy
Region: Italy > Trentino-Alto Adige > Province of Trento > Riva Del Garda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #42 of 62 Hotels in Riva Del Garda
Price Range: £74 - £142 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Centrale Hotel -- Riva Del Garda 3*
Number of rooms: 70
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), LoveHolidays, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Centrale Hotel -- Riva Del Garda reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Centrale Hotel Riva Del Garda
Centrale Riva Del Garda
Hotel Centrale Riva Del Garda

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing