We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“better than expected”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Centrale Hotel -- Riva Del Garda
Ranked #39 of 62 Hotels in Riva Del Garda
Reviewed 21 April 2008

I read some criticisms of this hotel and was apprehensive about staying there. It really was very good. We paid no extras and had a 3 person room for 2 of us. Excellent view over lake. Looked like brand new bathroom. Food good, with some choice every day. I would recommend this hotel.

Stayed: April 2008
1  Thank phanta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (468)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

226 - 232 of 468 reviews

Reviewed 19 April 2008

Just returned from a 5 day break at this hotel, which we were concerned about after reading previous reviews on Trip Advisor. I have to say all these comments were totally unfounded. The Hotel was excellent value for money in a superb location directly on the waters edge. The rooms were clean, tidy, well furnished and cleaned daily with fresh towels, soaps etc. Food was very nice with a 3 course meal and a salad buffet offered every night. As an alternative you could eat from the A La Carte menu with an 8 euro reduction per person and a free bottle of house wine per couple. The staff were friendly and helpful. The breakfast was fine with buffet style cereal. fruit, yoghurt, croissants, bread rolls jams, ham and cheese. The resort of Riva was lovely with plenty of shops, coffee bars etc - all very clean and tidy. We booked this holiday with Italian Getaways and the inclusive trips to Venice and Verona were abosolutley brilliant, as were the guides that accompanied us. Altogether a really pleasant break that we could not fault.

  • Stayed: April 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank JILLPlymouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2008

We were a bit dubious about this hotel after reading the reviews. Please do not be put off. The hotel location is to die for, pay a little extra for a lake view or better still a balcony!
The rooms are very clean and tidy, plenty of storageand although we booked a double had a spare single bed and plenty of space. The children were in the room next door as requested.
The evening meal is value for money with a choice of starter and main course. Normally a soup or pasta and then meatand or fish. If you don't fancy the dessert on offer you can ask for ice cream. We stayed there for 10 nights and not once did we ask to upgrade to ala carte. The girls are vegetarians and they catered for them every night with 3 courses either a soup, pasta, pizza or omelette and there was no extra charge and nothing was too much trouble.
The hotel was full and the service is very good.
Breakfast was only busy on a couple of days when there were trips onor meet the rep when everyone decided to have breakfast at the same time. English people like to queue but there is no need just make separate lines for the hot drinks, juices and food, its not dificult.
They arehappy for you take wine up to your room with a couple of glasses at discount prices, sit back and enjoy your view!!!

  • Stayed: April 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IsleofManShirls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2008

after reading previous reviews of the hotel we were pleasantly suprised at how nice the hotel was. The hotel is situated very close to the lake and views are spectacular either overlooking the lake or the mountains. Rooms were cleaned and new towels left everyday. Quite a good variety of food which was served by very friendly staff. A trip by cable car to the top of malcesdine mountain top is worth every part of the 17euro return trip.The water taxis are a convenient way of travelling on the lake and were 14 euro for a hop on hop off ticket for one person per day.
overall the hotel represents good value for money

  • Stayed: April 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HOLIDAYSGloucester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2007

My sister-in-law and I booked our holiday with Italian Getaways after watching their DVD extolling the virtues of their friendly family -run hotels. They were not interested in our complaints and letters have been going backwards and forwards from me to them since July until eventually we were offered a bottle of 'bubbly' and a good deal if we were to book with them again. I have declined this offer and opted to write an honest review of our experiences at the Hotel Centrale in Riva del Garda.

We were appalled by the attitude and rudeness of the management and some of the staff from the onset. All 'guests' who had booked half board were treated in the same way. We were not allowed to eat outside where the view of the harbour was idyllic but were ushered into a back room where we were given a menu of very little choice and no choice for dessert - this was a bowl containing two discoloured pears! We were told we had to eat before 8.00 p.m which we never do on holiday and were further told that we had to choose, there and then, our meal for the following night. This reminded us of being in hospital. We were extremely unhappy about this and sent for the owner who was very sharp with us. We were told that if we wanted to eat outside we must buy our meal but could have a 10 euro discount. So that we could attempt to enjoy our holiday we did this every night and incurred a hefty bill in the process. This was on the second night so after that we tried to stay within budget which was impossible. Then we encountered a very rude waiter who made rude and personal remarks which I shan't repeat but he made other remarks when we ordered half a caraffe of wine in order to keep down the bill. Italian Getaways call this a free upgrade (to half-board) but at those prices it was hardly free. I sent Italian Getaways a photo of this waiter but they weren't interested in pursuing the matter.

The breakfast room was a dour place, upstairs. Again people could not eat outside as in other hotels. There was no lingering over meals. It was a case of get it eaten so we could get outside to lovely views. The food was very poor.

The shower tray was cracked and the grill was dirty in the bathroom but other guests complained of the same so we didn't ask to change rooms. Italian Getaways would not accept this as a reason even though we sent them photographs (attached).

The a la carte menu, available in the outdoor part of the restaurant, is for passing trade where people may sit all night long, eating their meals in a leisurely manner and enjoying the views. Half board guests are treated like second-class citizens.

Lake Garda is beautiful and Riva del Garda is a lovely little place but I would advise anyone to avoid this hotel like the plague especially if want booked half board. We met a couple who were on the same holiday who were not quite as aggrieved because they had managed a last minute deal with Crystal. They had paid half of what we had paid and had a free bottle of wine and water with each evening meal. I have never stayed in a hotel where I have been treated differently from other guests and been offered different food and I have stayed on a half board basis many times.

I have never been in a hotel like it. It was an Italian version of Fawlty Towers where the owner was abrupt and not to be questioned.

I would never go there again or recommend this hotel or Italian Getaways to anyone.

I would be more than happy to give more details, and there are more, to anyone who wishes to contact me.

  • Stayed: July 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank ElaineCross
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2007

My husband and I stayed at the Centrale in early October. We got a good deal with Italian Getaways. 7 days half board.

I had tried to book a lake view room before we went but to no avail, however on arrival at the hotel I asked for lake view room and got one!! The room was fairly small with a long window looking out across the square and the lake. The view made up for the narrowness of the room. The bathroom had a WC, bidet and shower cubicle, good size white soft towels and sachets of shampoo/shower gel.

Breakfast was taken in a dedicated breakfast room. The first day was chaotic because as well as our coachload that arrived the day before there was another large group leaving! This entailed a lot of waiting in line to get the various components for breakfast.
The rest of the week was ok as people spread themselves out a bit more. The brekfast consisted of fruit juice, tea, coffee, rolls, ham,cheese, hard boiled eggs, croissants,rye bread, cereal and a good selection of preserves.

Evening dinner was ok with the half board included. salad, choice of 2 starters (soup or pasta), meat and 2 veg and dessert.
I am a bit of a foodie but found it ok. You could eat in the hotels main restaurant area and get EUR 10.00 per person off of the bill if you wanted to. They also gave a discount if you ate lunch there.

The best reason to stay here is the location - right on the square overlooking the lake, close to the ferry, on the flat so good for people who can't manage the hills. Lots of shops and parks nearby. The market visits twice a month too. We took the bus from the bus station (10 minutes walk, slightly uphill) to Malscecine and took the cable car up to Monte Baldo - well worth doing on a clear day - fantastic views. It is better to go by bus and return by the ferry as the road up from the ferry is very steep.


Excellent bar - The Pub With no Name - across the square. Fabulous ice cream at the Gelateria in the Hotel Sole also in the square.

  • Stayed: October 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank FoofooEssex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2007

having just returned from a week at Hotel Centrale, Riva del Garda, Lombardy, readers may benefit from this mixed review. The hotel is as named, centrally located. Paying extra for a lake view which also looks over a square and the Town Hall, I believe, was well worth it. The room was spacious, no bath, only shower etc., but the maids kept it very clean. The catering was basic-no frills, but healthy and edible-until our last evening. The fish I was served tasted mouldy and the potatoes were dried up. I decided not to make a fuss and ate the peas. I passed comment when the waitress cleared the plates (staff had been pleasant and chirpy all week), only to be treated with ambivilence. After dessert, which was a fresh pear plus a few grapes to share between two, the waitress charged us 9euros for two 3euro drinks, thus foregoing the tip I had put aside for the waiting staff for that week. It was alot more than 3euros! Anyone feeling like a grumble, might enjoy.

  • Stayed: October 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank kathrynNorthWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Riva Del Garda hotels
0 mi away
Hotel Sole Relax & Panorama
Hotel Sole Relax & Panorama
#16 of 62 in Riva Del Garda
562 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Antico Borgo
Hotel Antico Borgo
#15 of 62 in Riva Del Garda
404 reviews
0.1 mi away
Grand Hotel Riva
Grand Hotel Riva
#55 of 62 in Riva Del Garda
881 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Vittoria
Hotel Vittoria
#18 of 62 in Riva Del Garda
322 reviews
0 mi away
Hotel Europa Skypool & Panorama
Hotel Europa Skypool & Panorama
#14 of 62 in Riva Del Garda
310 reviews
0 mi away
Hotel Portici Romantik & Wellness
Hotel Portici Romantik & Wellnes...
#11 of 62 in Riva Del Garda
427 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Centrale Hotel -- Riva Del Garda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Centrale Hotel -- Riva Del Garda

Address: Piazza Tre Novembre 27, 38066, Riva Del Garda, Italy
Region: Italy > Trentino-Alto Adige > Province of Trento > Riva Del Garda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #39 of 62 Hotels in Riva Del Garda
Price Range: £62 - £166 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Centrale Hotel -- Riva Del Garda 3*
Number of rooms: 70
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, LoveHolidays, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Centrale Hotel -- Riva Del Garda reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Centrale Hotel Riva Del Garda
Centrale Riva Del Garda
Hotel Centrale Riva Del Garda

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing