We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (205)
Filter reviews
205 results
Traveller rating
45
93
44
15
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
45
93
44
15
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviews lake garda torri del benaco the main road recommend this hotel small balcony italian hotels main course lovely pool beautiful walk fantastic hotel receptionist dessert rep coach
Filter
Updating list...
67 - 72 of 205 reviews
Reviewed 17 December 2012 via mobile

I spent a wonderful week at Hotel Gardesana with Travel Department, I was a solo traveller & there was no extra supplement which was great! My room 115 located on 1 st floor overlooked the pool & was very comfortable, (the single rooms size do vary in size) a nice bright bathroom & was quiet airy, did rent fans which was approx €1 a day & well worth it! Pool area was lovely & no problem in getting sun beds, on half board, couldn't fault the service/ food, the staff were wonderful & enjoyed some lovely evenings just sitting outside enjoying a glass or two with Irish/ Scottish travellers with Travel Department! Enjoyed a few trips locally, took local bus to Malcesine which I would highly recommend, beautiful town, then took cable car up to Monte Baldo! Sound Of Music country! The view from Monte Baldo was breathtaking! the view of Lake Garda is amazing! Enjoyed a lovely lunch, not v expensive, & just sat back & enjoyed the wonderful view! Weather was perfect & will cetainly return in the near future!

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank riakane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlessandroLiberty, Owner at Hotel Gardesana, responded to this reviewResponded 27 December 2012

Good afternoon and thanks a lot for your review !

Really appreciate that you find our hotel with a good service
in everything and also you enjoyed the sourroundings.

Hope to see you in the future and have a nice 2013 !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 December 2012

We stayed here as part of tour. Hotel was very basic. We were a couple in our early 30's and discovered that we were at least 20 years younger than most of the guests.

Breakfast and dinner in the hotel were part the deal.My partner was on his own for the first night of dinner as I was arriving later. The hotel sat him with two other partons. The next morning when asked for a table of our own we were told it was not possible we had to stay at the table that was allocated to us - even though half the restaurant was empty. After a couple of of this we then asked again could we have a table of our own for dinner again we were refused. We fancied just having our own company rather than having to entertain. We then went out for dinner the last evening as we thought we had been treated pretty badly by the staff.

Also headboards on the bed made it impossible to sit on the bed and read a book as it jutted out half way up your back.

Room Tip: Make sure and ask to see the headboard before you take the room. No air con in the rooms
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cailindeas30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlessandroLiberty, Owner at Hotel Gardesana, responded to this reviewResponded 27 December 2012

Good afternoon and thanks a lot !

Sorry about the problem in the dining room, but as you come part
of an escorted tour, we fixed the tables for 4 people.
If you are coming privately there is a place in a different area for private tables.

Thanks a lot for you stay and anyway hope to see you again !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2012

We recently stayed here with the Travel Department. The hotel may not be as fancy as some would like but it is very clean and the staff are excellent.

The room was small but comfortable with free wi fi and a balcony. The bed linen and towels were changed daily.

The food choices consisted of 3 starters, 3 mains and 3 desserts and all meals were very very good. My advice would be to go for the traditional Italian meals as they were really tasty.

Location is good, directly across from the lake and only a 15 minute walk into the centre of Riva. This walk is very beautiful.

Hotel staff were brilliant, very friendly and knowledgable.

Overall, I would recommend this hotel as it is good value for money, food is good, location is great and staff are excellent!

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank murca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlessandroLiberty, Owner at Hotel Gardesana, responded to this reviewResponded 5 November 2012

Good afternoon and thanks a lot !

Appreciate all your review and we really do always
our best for everyone !

Thanks a lot and see you in the future !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2012

ecently retuned from a weeks stay at this hotel, travelling with The Travel Deparment. Arriving late in the evening, the staff had waited on to provide us with an evening meal. The rooms are small however, they are very clean, with sheets and towels being renewed regularly. I was a bit scared that I would not like the food, but I can honestly say every meal was fantastic. We were given a menu evey morning at breakfast, where we selected from a choice of three starters, three main dishes and three deserts. Breakfast is continental, no problem there, as there is sufficient to select from. The staff at the hotel are really friendly. The walk into Riva along the Lake Shore is wonderful, and Riva itself is a beautiful town. We would highly recommend this hotel to anyone.

Room Tip: Did not visit any other room, we stayed in Room 120, twin beds, small but sufficient, had a nice little balcony for enjoying the view.
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lynda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlessandroLiberty, Owner at Hotel Gardesana, responded to this reviewResponded 24 October 2012

Good evening and thanks !

Wonderful to read that you are happy with us at all !
We give italian food menu and always improve our quality,
this year we didn't receive a negative for restaurant quality
and all our staff ! Very good and we can see it from all reviews !

Thanks again and don't forget to return very soon :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2012

For the price I cannot fault this hotel! cosy room, great shower, TV & Free WiFi (In your room), single bed was a little small, but not uncomfortable. Staff were very helpful and even printed me off an assortment of maps and bus timetables for the area. Would definitely stay here again ~ recommended!

Room Tip: Single room's bed a little small if your on the larger side, would go for a double in that case!
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mark C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlessandroLiberty, Owner at Hotel Gardesana, responded to this reviewResponded 24 October 2012

Good evening and thanks a lot for the review !

Really nice to read that you appreciate our services
and that you will definetely come back with us !
I am sure you will also reccomend our hotel with friends :)

Thanks again and see you soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews