We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (205)
Filter reviews
205 results
Traveller rating
45
93
44
15
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
45
93
44
15
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviews lake garda torri del benaco the main road recommend this hotel small balcony italian hotels main course lovely pool beautiful walk fantastic hotel receptionist dessert rep coach
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 205 reviews
Reviewed 27 September 2017

Dreadful hotel with miserable staff . The food was undercooked/ over cooked/ cold, tiny portions and little veg or Mediterranean vegetables in sight. This is in a land renowned for its wonderful quisine! Nasty rooms with tiny beds. My room looked out at the kitchen door and open bins. In its favour, the hotel was clean. I wasn't expecting a top rate hotel but on holiday I do expect a friendly smile, a decent bed, a comfy seat and some decent food. None of these criteria were met. The fact that it was three star has little to do with it. It costs nothing to smile and I've stayed in three star hotels around the world many times before. I also noted a review about the downstairs cafe and first floor dinning room. Please note there were no such facilities at this hotel. There has obviously been a mix up in the posting. Chose a different hotel. There are some wonderful ones in Riva.

Room Tip: From what we experienced and from other people's viewpoints there were no good rooms. Wifi only by standing by main offfice.
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jennifer E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2017

Just how do you describe a surprise special birthday holiday ? Fantastic, great , wonderful, especially in the beautiful Riva. Organised through a very reputable large Belfast company , What could possibly go wrong???
The Hotel Del Gardesana is situated about 15 minute beautiful walk along the banks of the lake into Riva, or along the main road - All flat and an easy walk.
Our holiday in Hotel Del Gardesana was different to say the least, we laugh about it now but if I described it as Fawlty Towers you may get the picture a bit clearer!
What have we to complain about you may ask - the hotel was spotless, our room which was in an annex beside our friends was great, spacious,beside the pool and very comfortable. Compared to others in our party it was a castle! Many complained about the small size of their rooms, especially single rooms which were tiny- bathroom in our room was bigger than some of the rooms !
However the staff on our arrival were to say the least unfriendly, abrupt and unhelpful. When asked for something I got a very abrupt NO without explanation. When I requested an alternative dish for dinner I was told NOT POSSIBLE! I simply wrote my request on menu choice sheet and did get it the following evening to everyones surprise and my delight! (omelette)
They did, as the week went on become more sociable but that was due to our fun attitude and social interaction with them.
It was the food which caused the issues for us all.
Unfortunately the food left more than a lot to be desired!
Breakfast was fine, usual continental breakfast with eggs and bacon available. You order your meal the evening before and great debates arose as to what exact delicacy we would get.
. The evening meals were horrendous, They were pathetic- bland, tasteless and undescribable, so many were sent back to the kitchen or simply left. The waiter was not happy when we complained to him about it.
People complained to the rep but were informed it is a 3 * hotel with basic food! That did not go down well, in fact we found it insulting!many of us have stayed in 3* accommodation before and never had food like this served up.
The salad bar was our main stay -fresh vegetables but a little more variety would have been appreciated.
. Pasta, pasta and more pasta- yes we knew we were in Italy but you can only eat so much pasta that was hard and the sauce with it minimal.
One evening meal was meat skewers- Fat skewers more like. Out of 4 skewers we were able to completely fill 2 skewers with fat and send them back to the kitchen for the chef!!!. The serving staff did not appear to have any method in serving people and often main meal arrived before starter was finished or the dessert before main meal etc- ( we did have a laugh about it all) . We did notice guests of another nationality were always served before us and asked how their meal was etc. We didn't have that courtesy!. Nibbles were also provide for them at the bar area which we did not get offered.
Honestly- We really cant complain about our accommodation, it was perfect but the FOOD was a contentious subject- Its bad when a McDonalds tasted better!!
Take our advice if you want to eat out regularly even though you have paid for a meal in your holiday price then I couldn't recommend a cleaner place- It has the potential of being a wee gold mine but its reputation is certainly at risk if they continue to serve food which it is putting out to guests now.
For comfort and cleanliness we will give it a full 5 * but for food and courtesy from staff I think a course in customer service and cooking wouldn't go amiss.
Beautiful Riva, I hope to visit you again- Hotel Del Gardesana DONT THINK SO!!

Room Tip: If you want the best room in the hotel ask for 301 in the annex. Avoid single room at all costs -tiny.
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank sharon m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2017

Spent a weeks holidays at Hotel Gardesana never would return to it. Hotel itself was spotlessly clean and although rooms were very clean they were very basic. Small balcony with one dodgy chair and table overlooking a beautiful pool which was always clean. The food in this hotel was atrocious, breakfasts was sufficient but evening meals were shocking altogether. No potatoes served a small portion of meat or fish and a spoonful of vegetables. (You had to pick your menu the night before for the next night). The salad bar kept us going. Staff was disorganised and not interested in the needs of the guests. We traveled with a group from N. Ireland and most of the group felt the same way regarding this hotel.

Room Tip: Don't use this hotel
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank Betty M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2017

Room was a box not much more to be said. Balcony small table with one chair which you couldn't sit on. Complained to a female member of staff who said all rooms same size so nothing they could do. Eventually a manager came over and took us to a different room which was massive compared to original. Hotel itself clean but food absolutely dreadful. Not just my opinion but majority of guests said the same. People complained continually got chips once with dinner about six chips in all. No potatoes or vegetables. Breakfast was the best. No tea or coffee at dinner and no butter for bread rolls. No tea facilities in rooms. Staff at times friendly but overall very disappointed with our stay in this hotel after reading such good reviews. Never again would I stay there

Room Tip: Would say good luck you'll need it.
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank icelandedna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2017

The Gardesana is very clean and has a lovely pool. It is conveniently located for walking into Riva and for using public transport.
On arrival, we were met at reception by a young lady who responded to our questions with one word answers before slamming the keys on the counter. When I asked where the lift was, she said simply, “There” and gestured. Not exactly the welcome normally given in Italian hotels.
We had booked two single rooms. They were both small, as were the beds. One room was especially small. This room had only one window and as the air con was controlled by the management, it was impossible to reduce the temperature to a comfortable level for sleeping. The next morning, tired after a hot sleepless night, my friend asked if the air con could be altered. The same young lady told her to open the window. Unfortunately, the room had a view of the dustbins and from midnight each day, there was the noise of staff clearing up and throwing bottles into bins etc. We also suspected our rooms were near staff quarters, as alarm clocks rang daily from about 5.30. This really wasn’t a holiday where you got a good night’s sleep!
With one exception, the staff were grumpy and did not smile. One evening, dessert was served before the main course, but when we pointed this out, the server‘s reaction was to shrug and then fetch our nearly cold main courses. Some of the food was alright, but it was cold at other times too and once, the meat was not cooked through. Our drinks were served in inconsistent measures (just three sips on one occasion!) and seemed smaller than those served to other guests. We decided to drink water for the rest of our stay.
We were not the only unhappy people at the hotel. Some of the other guests had complained to their tour company and by the middle of the week, the staff became more friendly. We assumed something had been said to them.
The area around Lake Garda is fantastic, but I really can’t recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Don't book a single room. Check rooms are not near the dustbins .
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank essar2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews