We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyable stay in Lake Garda”
Review of Hotel Gardesana

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Gardesana
Ranked #39 of 62 Hotels in Riva Del Garda
Certificate of Excellence
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Enjoyable stay in Lake Garda”
Reviewed 12 May 2010

We have recently returned from holiday in Lake Garda. We stayed at the Hotel Gardesana. We travelled with the Travel Department and thought the holiday was extremely good value for money, especially as it included trips to Venice , Verona, and a triparound the lake. We were delayed on our return journey by the ash cloud but were well looked after by the tour company and spent two extra nights in Lake Como which was a nice unexpected add on to our holiday!
The rooms at the Hotel Gardesana although not large or luxurious were perfectly adequate and very clean. The staff were very helpful and always pleasant. The food was plentiful and there was plenty of choice.The hotel is situated just outside Riva but easily within walking distance and there is a lovely path along the side of the lake which leads to the town. There are plenty of ferries to take you to the other towns around the lake and for !5 euros (less if you are OAP) you can buy a pass for unlimited travel around the northern area of the Lake.The weather in April was variable and not warm enough to sit outside but the hotel does have a nice outside pool with plenty of loungers.
We enjoyed our stay and would be happy to return.

  • Stayed April 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hopi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

178 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    41
    83
    39
    11
    4
See reviews for
28
74
22
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
N.Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 May 2010

The size of the room we where in was small and basic ,very clean, very noisy from the throng of traffic at the side of the hotel at all times day and night. Food was excellent beautifully presented and piping hot. Staff were warm and friendly. Entertainment on the Monday night was very good it was a way of guests getting together for a sing song shame it was on for only one night in the week. As our holiday was a split one we preferred Hotel Gardesana to the one at Lake Como even though it was larger and much grander.Hotel Gardesana had overall a more welcoming atsmophere.

  • Stayed May 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Berjoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
1 review
Reviewed 19 April 2010

Travelled to Lake Garda with the Travel Department on 7th April for 7 nights. On arrival our group of 4 were ushered to our accommodation which was towards the back of the hotel. The two rooms we were allocated were in a very tired condition and badly in need of updating. On reflection this area of the hotel looked like it hadn't been used in ages. On our second night we noticed ants in the bathroom and the next morning informed the manager, who said the place would be sprayed while we were out that day. However, on returning to our rooms that night we were horrified to find the bathrooms infested with ants, crawling all up the walls and shelves. We had to emply and shake all our toiletries and even throw some away as ants were all over them. We also spotted some in the bedrooms. I have a serious phobia about ants and was not the better of this ordeal. We had to ring our rep the next morning and we were subsequently moved to rooms upstairs. We did not, however, receive any apology from the hotel management. I would certainly not recommend this hotel as apart from the ant experience the evening meals definitely left a lot to be desired also. Most of the dinners appeared to be cooked from frozen.

  • Stayed April 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ronnie6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
H_Gardesana_Staff, Owner at Hotel Gardesana, responded to this review, 22 April 2010
Good afternoon, we normally don’t reply to costumer review, because of course everyone
Have his own opinion about holiday, hotel, service and food.

In this case sorry I want to reply because I think your opinion is too much outside the true.

We allocate you in a ground floor room, because on the room request was written :
Both rooms large, nice and lowdown. Really important as ****** has asthma.
We decided to allocate you on 2 triple rooms, larger that all the other rooms in the hotel.
We understand that the hotel is not new, but we use always these rooms, for people asking ground floor room, family room or bigger rooms than normal, we was thinking of making something nice to you.
You also never reported that to us, maybe we can try to move you before of the problem of the ants.
We are sure that we made apologize of the problem when happened, and we do our best to move you to upper floor when the problem was not resolved.

We want to say also that the hotel is very clean, and could happen in a spring weather that some ants are coming in the room, maybe for some juice, maybe for something to eat that was in the rooms. But not for other reason.
It could happen also in private houses to find ants,maybe you are not used to this in your country, but sorry here could happen.

We are surprised to read about the meal, because I remember that someone of your group told me that apart of the ants problem, the food was good. All the group was happy about the food, we didn’t get any complain and weare also surprised that you wait to go back home to report this.
Yes some ingredient could be frozen at origin, more safer and clean for not having any problem with Guest, but not all the food, and anyway is not cooked from frozen.

We are really sorry for your holiday, but we always try to do our best for our Guest, we think that you can see other review before yours. Thanks a lot
The management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
edinburgh
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 October 2009

I arrived home yesterday after a 7 day stay at the Hotel Gardesana in Riva arranged through the Travel Department. I am amazed at the negative comments here about this hotel and feel that they may have been made about a similarly named place elsewhere (there are two hotels named Gardesana on Lake Garda that I am aware of). I found the hotel to be of the highest standard with accommodation, facilities, service from and friendliness of staff - a special mention of Gabriella in the restaurant and the reception staff -and food all excellent. a most enjoyable stay and I will most certainly be back and would not hesitate to recommend it.

I was a solo traveller but with a large group who also booked through the Travel Department and all of my fellow travellers were of the same opinion about this hotel as myself.

A big thank you to all the staff!

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank scotguy58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stirling, Scotland
Level Contributor
119 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2009

We stayed here for one week travelling the tour company "The Travel Department". The food was really excellent for a three-star hotel. Didn't have a bad meal - and I am difficult to please as I don't eat meat.

Rooms were quite small but had everything we needed (except a kettle). Cleaning standards are very high. Our room was at the side - we had a nice view of the mountains from the balcony but we did get some traffic noise. Rooms at the back overlooking the pool were quiter but had smaller balconies.

The hotel has a decent-sized pool and a lovely big garden - mature pine and olive trees for shade.

The Travel Department are a good company - we had several trips included (Verona, Venice) and the optional trip to the Dolomites was excellent.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kameko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2009

I stayed at the Hotel Gardesana recently with my husband and son during a holiday booked with The Travel Department. The hotel is in a good location slightly away from the centre of Riva del Garda but easily reached on foot. The nicest way is to cross the road opposite the hotel entrance and follow the footpath to the lake, then follow the lakeside path to the town centre. It takes 15 to 20 minutes and is breathtakingly beautiful. You can walk on the main road and it is slightly faster but we never bothered.
The hotel itself is mainly good value for money but a little tired in some respects. It is a modern block design with a traditional lobby and reception. We stayed in the summer and the guest rooms were in desperate need of air conditioning. There are a variety of rooms and if your room does not suit a little polite assertiveness will secure a better one. The first room we were given was round the back of the hotel on the ground floor. I was nervous of people climbing in the window as there was a public road just feet away and the alternative was to have the window shut and cook. It was also dark and the bathroom smelt of urine. We asked for a change and got a room (202) on the second floor with a balcony and a safe. This room was lovely and light with a great view. However the rooms at the front suffer from road noise as the traffic only seemed to ease between 2 and 5 in the morning. Also there were some silly fixable things such as the balcony door not having a working lock, one of the bedside lights not working, the hairdryer coming to pieces when you used it. All of these things are easily fixed and would have given a better impression. You can hire a fan for the room at 2 euros per night, and the safe is a 5 euro deposit plus 1 euro per night. The hotel has a wonderful outdoor pool and a mercifully shaded garden. Rooms at the side do not seem to have balconies. There is no lift.
The food was excellent and the staff are very good at taking into account dietary requirements. Drinks are not included and the wine prices were steep for quite ordinary wines. We had to purchase water for the table at 2.50 euros per bottle and it would have been nice for some to have been included. You selected your evening starter and main course at breakfast and choose a dessert in the evening. We felt the helpings were ample but some guests felt the main courses were a little mean One night they had a Gala night with candles, dimmed lights and live music. The four course meal was lovely and beautifully presented as always. The live music, thankfully after dinner, came from Claudio and his organ and you had to place your tongue firmly in your cheek and treat it as a bit of a giggle rather than a piece of musical virtuosity. I’ll never forget his Village People melody as long as I live!
A little along the road from the hotel towards town is a wee supermarket which is handy for buying supplies.
Eating out –wise, people raved about the Bavaria restaurant but they wouldn’t let us share a pizza when we were in despite others being allowed to earlier in the week. Apparently it depends on the waiter! We went round the back to the Bellariva which has a lake view and they were lovely. We were allowed to order a pizza between two and they made a mini one for our son. The prices were excellent and the staff were delightful.
Riva itself is gorgeous, less touristy (and hence less packed) than many of the towns on the lake but just as beautiful. Climb the clock tower at 1 euro each for stunning views. Ferry rides are excursions in their own right and the towns of Limone and Malcesine (with trip up Mont Baldo on the cable car) are extremely worth the trip. Trips to Verona and Venice were included as part of our package but seeing the lakeside towns was honestly the highlight. Watch out for hidden charges though. There is a tourist tax of 1 euro each for Verona and a charge for the water taxi of 15 euros each which was not mentioned as part of the booking. It is hardly optional as you cannot get Venice without it! There is also a trip to the Dolomites which is extra and I heartily recommend it. Beautiful scenery and a delicious lunch. _ bliss!
Riva felt safe day and night and there was a pleasant lack of neds, litter, vandalism and dog poo. What a wonderful place!

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank G-witch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2009

We have just returned from a lovely holiday in Riva del garda - stayed at the Hotel Gardesana. Apart from lack of air conditioning (a fan can be hired for 2 euros per day) this proved to be a great little hotel. Lovely staff; super food - especially the evening meal. We loved the garden and pool. We'll be back!

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank freedomEdinburgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Riva Del Garda
20.5 mi away
Hotel Gardesana
Hotel Gardesana
#1 of 26 in Torri del Benaco
242 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Garni Prince
Hotel Garni Prince
#44 of 62 in Riva Del Garda
55 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Brione
Hotel Brione
#38 of 62 in Riva Del Garda
199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel Gabry
Hotel Gabry
#23 of 62 in Riva Del Garda
144 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Villa Enrica
Hotel Villa Enrica
#18 of 62 in Riva Del Garda
151 reviews
0.1 mi away
LakeFront Hotel Mirage
LakeFront Hotel Mirage
#16 of 62 in Riva Del Garda
278 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Gardesana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Gardesana

Property: Hotel Gardesana
Address: Via Monte Brione 1, 38066, Riva Del Garda, Italy
Region: Italy > Trentino-Alto Adige > Province of Trento > Riva Del Garda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #39 of 62 Hotels in Riva Del Garda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Gardesana 3*
Number of rooms: 38
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Ebookers, Booking.com, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Gardesana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gardesana Hotel Riva Del Garda
Hotel Gardesana Riva Del Garda/Nago, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing