We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The perfect setting for our Honeymoon!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Grand Hotel Liberty
Ranked #14 of 62 Hotels in Riva Del Garda
Reviewed 1 May 2014

We stayed herefor a week as part of a holiday package with the Travel Department (unfortunately we can't review them on tripadvisor, but theuy were extremely helpful over the phone, organising champagne and flowers to be ready in our room upon arrival, we could not fault the travel department staff here in ireland to our tour guide and bus drivers, exceptionally helpful and kind!) The hotel from the outside looks absolutely amazing and we certainly werent disappointed when we entered either. The staff were extremely courteous, very profeesional and friendly at the same time. Douilio , the restaurant maitre (manager) and his team were very friendly and understanding, particularly the waiter/barman, Bruno that looked after us for most of the week.
The food was delicious, the public areas, that we saw, were immaculate. And the wellness center/spa as an extra treat if you didn't want to go walking again or are just having a lazy day.
A hotel well run, well exceptiionally maintained is certainly entitle to the four star status it has!
All 'n' all, we could not fault the Grand Hotel Liberty and the team that run it.
We could not reccommend this hotel or even the Travel Department enough, if its just a break away from the stresses of reality, a romantic holiday, this is certainly a place to consider.

Room Tip: Ask for the front of the hotel, lake side, its the original building (palace)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kalelabba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlessandroLiberty, Proprietario at Grand Hotel Liberty, responded to this reviewResponded 22 November 2014

Good afternoon,

thanks a lot for your stay with us and your wonderful review !
WE cannot thank you enough for your holiday and waiting to see you again !

Have a nice day

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,237)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

257 - 263 of 1,238 reviews

Reviewed 25 April 2014

I’ve just spent a week at this lovely hotel as part of a holiday package with the excellent Travel Department and thoroughly enjoyed my stay here. It was €100 more expensive per person than a three star and worth every cent for anyone who values the superior comfort,luxury and touch of class that this type of hotel offers.

What isn’t apparent from the hotel website and other reviews is that the hotel comprises two buildings,one facing the street and one further back, linked by the single storey dining room and large hallway /verandah. The swimming pool and gardens are located between the two buildings, overlooked by the dining room and terrace, and everything is beautifully designed. The original 1910 mansion is at the front facing the street and this was my favourite part, as the atmosphere of the old mansion is expertly preserved, with a grand marble staircase,the walls are adorned with elegant paintings and the wide corridors are decorated with lovely antique furniture.

When we arrived we were originally given a room in the second building and our hearts sank as the room was drab and overlooked a very uninspiring side street. We immediately asked for a better room and without hesitation we were given a beautiful room on the third floor of the first building. Contrary to the impression given by photos of these rooms,they are very spacious and airy,especially if facing the front. Our room [306] was possibly the best room on the third floor as it was at the end of the corridor,so very quiet,had two windows,which, though small, still showed beautiful views of the lake and mountains, with another window in the large,airy bathroom also commanding a gorgeous view. We absolutely loved it.

The food was also superb,especially the evening meal. Three courses, different choices each evening, always cooked to perfection and beautifully presented. I would certainly consider it five star dining and I was also very happy with the breakfast. The service was also excellent. It was fast and attentive,headed by the excellent George [the so called George Clooney lookalike,lol] and special thanks to Paddy,the wine waiter and the only waitress whose gentle charm was much appreciated.

Overall,staying at this beautiful hotel was a great experience and I would wholeheartedly recommend it.

Room Tip: In both buildings the rooms at the front are much nicer.The best rooms are the ones facing the stree...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank acequion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlessandroLiberty, Proprietario at Grand Hotel Liberty, responded to this reviewResponded 22 November 2014

Good afternoon,

thanks for your stay and review !
I will forward your post to all Staff and sure they will be happy !

See you : )

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2014

I agree totally with the review of March 6th. Just returned from a wonderful week in GHL today. The restaurant staff are second to none. They could not do enough for you and are so dedicated to giving you a wonderful, unforgettable time in their hotel. I agree, the food is definitely not 5 star but the service definitely is. The staff that service the bedrooms too are wonderful and do a super job daily. We would have no hesitation whatsoever recommending the GHL to all. We travelled with the amazing Travel Department who are unbeatable in terms of quality and value.

Room Tip: We were in room 210. Definitely better rooms to be had.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sinead186605
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlessandroLiberty, Proprietario at Grand Hotel Liberty, responded to this reviewResponded 22 November 2014

Good afternoon,

thanks a lot !!

Very nice to read this review and that you were very happy !
Have a nice day

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2014

Lovely holiday with the excellent Travel Department. All tours well organised with the very helpful and informative Analisa as tour guide. She was brilliant and helped to made each trip enjoyable & fun. Hotel was well located, 2 mins from centre of Riva and lakeside, lovely room with helpful staff. Food was lovely on gala night, otherwise was ok, but definitely room for improvement, hence the 4 stars. If travelling to Lake Guarda for the first time I would highly recommend booking with The Travel Department.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
3  Thank Ann M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlessandroLiberty, Proprietario at Grand Hotel Liberty, responded to this reviewResponded 22 November 2014

Good afternoon,

thanks a lot for your review !
We are always open so we wait you again
when you like :) Riva is wonderful also in winter time !

Thanks

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2014

The hotel was absolutely fabulous. Nothing was too much trouble. The staff were really helpful and friendly. Our room was huge and looked out onto the front of Viale Carducci. The food was absolutely gorgeous. There were about 4 choices for each of the 3 courses. We loved every meal. The huge sun terrace and outdoor pool were great places to relax in after breakfast. There were plenty of other areas outdoor and indoor to relax in throughout the day or evening. The indoor pool was fantastic - the spa facilities were excellent - beautifully clean and well maintained. I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone and would happily stay there again.
The weather in April was absolutely fantastic. We walked to Torbole, climbed to Santa Barbara, swam every day in the pool, hired and rode bicycles to Arco and travelled by cable car up Monte Baldo and explored the town of Riva del Garda and Limone - it was an action packed week I won't forget. I would love to return.
Thank you to the staff of Hotel Liberty Grand for a fantastic holiday.

Room Tip: We overlooked the Viale Carducci but decided we liked the look of the rooms with balconies overlooki...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jayne Belinda F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlessandroLiberty, Proprietario at Grand Hotel Liberty, responded to this reviewResponded 22 November 2014

Good afternoon,

thanks a lot for all and your stay !
Reading your review I hope you will come back
and bring with you some friends :)

Thanks

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2014

Blue skies, great location, super hotel, fantastic (included) trips. What more would you want for a March holiday?
Oh I nearly forgot, good price from Traveldepartment.
We had never been with them before but we will again.
The tour guide was an Italian women with an Irish accent. You have to hear her.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank petemac43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlessandroLiberty, Proprietario at Grand Hotel Liberty, responded to this reviewResponded 22 November 2014

Good afternoon,

thanks a lot for your review !
We hope all to see you again in Riva and with us !

Thanks

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2014

Just returned from 5 days in Grand Liberty Hotel, a beautiful old world hotel with lovely public areas and restaurant. The breakfast was o.k with the usual cereals and cold meats with very little choice of hot food,Dinner was ordered at breakfast time with a few choices each day, the food was very good. The staff were all friendly and helpful. We had a room on the first floor which was very disappointing, the room was tiny had no balcony,a view of a car park,the wardrobe looked like it was put together by a bad handyman, the bathroom was o.k but the shower was also tiny and the shower head needs to be replaced as it didnt work like a proper shower should.
Overall this hotel is a 4 star hotel but was let down badly by the poor room we had

Room Tip: Try to get a room with a balcony as these look to be better
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank golfer081
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlessandroLiberty, Proprietario at Grand Hotel Liberty, responded to this reviewResponded 22 November 2014

Good afternoon and thanks for your stay !

We are making all process to have a full room refurbishment soon,
we understand that some rooms may not be at best now, a part of this
we are giving a perfect service and also all hotel areas are new

Thanks a lot

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Riva Del Garda
0.4 mi away
Astoria Park Hotel SPA Resort
Astoria Park Hotel SPA Resort
#10 of 62 in Riva Del Garda
904 reviews
0.2 mi away
Lido Palace
Lido Palace
#2 of 62 in Riva Del Garda
653 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hotel Lago di Garda
Hotel Lago di Garda
#2 of 33 in Torbole
1,158 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Parc Hotel Flora
Parc Hotel Flora
#5 of 62 in Riva Del Garda
541 reviews
25 mi away
Hotel Caesius Thermae & Spa Resort
1.6 mi away
Hotel Ideal
Hotel Ideal
#4 of 33 in Torbole
484 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Liberty? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Liberty

Address: Viale Giosue' Carducci 3/5, 38066, Riva Del Garda, Italy
Region: Italy > Trentino-Alto Adige > Province of Trento > Riva Del Garda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Riva Del Garda
#13 Luxury Hotel in Riva Del Garda
#29 Romantic Hotel in Riva Del Garda
Price Range: £43 - £1,024 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel Liberty 4*
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our hotel is situated at only 200 meters from town center and lake side. We provide for our Guest, free parking, free Wi-Fi in lounge area and all rooms, free access to pools,fitness room,sauna, turkish bath, kneipp and relax zone. We have 94 rooms but we are still a family hotel. We serve lunch on our terrace overlooking the pool and garden.We also provide half board/full board accomodation, and we can also manage for a wonderful wedding if you wish to marry in Riva del Garda ! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Expedia, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Hotels.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Grand Hotel Liberty reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Riva Del Garda

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing