We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“solo traveler”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Grand Hotel Liberty
Ranked #17 of 62 Hotels in Riva Del Garda
Donegal , Ireland
Level Contributor
46 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“solo traveler”
Reviewed 25 May 2014

Went with the travel department,the dining room staff are excellent,so nice but not over the top ,great craic.The tall bar man was very good,there was one man on reception very nice,unfortunately the females reception staff did the hotel a disservice. The food was excellent.The rooms were slightly disappointing but its for sleeping and the beds were good,the general layout was very good.would go back because the dining room staff are great and over all a very good well run
hotel in a great location

Room Tip: May need to upgrade
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Mary O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlessandroLiberty, Proprietario at Grand Hotel Liberty, responded to this review, 22 November 2014
Good afternoon,

thanks a lot for your stay !
I will speak with reception Staff about the comment,
and also we remind that we are going to refurbush the rooms soon

Thanks a lot for now
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,120 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    355
    444
    203
    78
    40
See reviews for
123
649
37
40
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (161)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dalkeith, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2014

We had a double room on the third floor in the older part of the hotel. The room was very clean and comfortable. Breakfast and dinner was excellent with a good selection of local food. Service in the hotel was great all the staff cleaners,waiters and receptionists could not do enough for you to make sure you enjoyed your holiday. We booked through Travel Department and must say they made an excellent choice of hotel in a beautiful location. Would definitely recommend this hotel and holiday.
Stayed Ay 2014

Room Tip: Choose a room in the older part of the hotel old Italian style of decoration lovely ad very comforta...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank John F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlessandroLiberty, Proprietario at Grand Hotel Liberty, responded to this review, 22 November 2014
Good afternoon,

thanks a lot for the review !
We are open all year round so see you again, also low season
Riva del Garda is very nice !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2014

Double room on first floor was very clean, small but well equipped with TV and fridge and very comfy bed. Good ensuite bathroom with shower over large bath and great water pressure with lots of hot water - not always available in some hotels.
Breakfast was good - a large range of foods and breads etc to suit all tastes including cooked eggs and bacon.
Location of the hotel was first class - central yet peaceful and quiet.
Service was excellent - very efficient and helpful - we booked with Travel Department and were very happy with all of the arrangements- we would recommend to others and will return to this hotel and area of the lakes, in preference to other resorts we have stayed - ie Sirmione which we found to be too crowded and after a few days a bit boring.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 645mb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlessandroLiberty, Proprietario at Grand Hotel Liberty, responded to this review, 22 November 2014
Good afternoon,

thanks a million for the comment , really appreciate !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 May 2014

Had a wonderful stay at the Grand Hotel Liberty, the hotel was lovely, the staff were exceptionally courteous and helpful. We were very fortunate with our rooms, I use the plural as our accommodation consisted of a very large room which was a sitting/dining room with enormous window with doors opening to a balcony, the view was delightful. Stairs leading from this room led to the large bedroom with en suite bathroom, consisting of two wash hand basins, toilet, bidet and Jacuzzi with an overhead shower. The Jacuzzi had very powerful jets and was extremely relaxing. The rooms were spotlessly clean. The indoor pool is lovely and the spa had much to offer. On hot days, it was nice to relax by the outdoor pool. The situation of the hotel was perfect as it’s just a short walk from the main shopping area and the harbour. I would highly recommend this hotel. Riva del Garda has much to offer, whether you wish to partake of water sports on offer or take ferry or boat trips to other areas around the lake and is very picturesque and very clean. The local people were also extremely friendly. Many good bars and restaurants with beautiful views of the lake and mountains. We booked our holiday through The Travel Department, who were wonderful. Our tour guide Martin, was exceptional, he could not have done more to ensure that all within his party had a fabulous holiday, his knowledge of the area and of it’s history was extensive and imparted to us with added personal anecdotes which made for very interesting and entertaining listening. We will definitely return to this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Falajoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlessandroLiberty, Proprietario at Grand Hotel Liberty, responded to this review, 22 November 2014
Good afternoon,

thanks a lot for your stay !
Hope to see you with us in the future !

Alessandro
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waterford
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2014

Just back from a wonderful walking holiday in Lake Garda, organised by the Travel Department and the group of 12 were based at the Grand Hotel Liberty for the week. I highly recommend this lovely old world hotel, which had high ceilings and old architecture combined with modern needs eg free wifi. Lovely warm welcome on arrival, quick check in and a nice clean room, which was basic but had air conditioning, TV with over 80 channels, a fridge and nice bathroom with large bath and good water pressure. The room was located in the new part of the hotel but was very quiet and although it was small I was out all day taking in the fantastic walking routes around Lake Garda and spent little time in the room.
The staff were friendly and could not have been more helpful, accommodating all requests. The Maitre'd George was charming but Bruno our waiter for the week was most helpful when it came to advice about touring the area etc and looking after all alternative dinner requests!. After reading previous reviews I was a little apprehensive about the food but no need as every meal was delicious with plenty of choice. You did have to select your meal at breakfast time which may put some people off but didn't cause our group a problem.
The highlight of this lovely hotel for me was the wellness spa, which surpassed all expectations. for €15 robe & towel charge, you had the use of this facility for the week. It was spotlessly clean and had all the modern equipment in the gym area. The pool had a variety of jets around the pool that soothed the tired muscles after a long day hiking in the hills. There is a lovely outdoor pool but still a bit too cold to try that out. There was a great selection of treatments but be sure to book ahead as they are busy.
Finally the Grand Hotel Liberty is in a great location, within 5 minutes walking distance to the shops, bars and restaurants in Riva. The bus stops outside the door if you wish to explore further afield.. the boat for the lake trips was less than 10 mins walk from the hotel.
I would definitely return to this lovely hotel and would recommend it.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Decies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlessandroLiberty, Proprietario at Grand Hotel Liberty, responded to this review, 22 November 2014
Good afternoon,

thanks a lot for your stay !
I will forward the comments to our Staff !

Have a nice day
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vantaa, Finland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2014

There were some problems with Wifi when we arrived, service weer great and few hours later Wifi was working. This was really goods service, thank you!
Breakfast was excellent, coffee, bread, cheeses, eggs and much more.
Only one thing to complain. The room on the top floor. I think there were some serious problems with ventilation. I would not recommend to stay there longer times (we where 2 nights). This was the only hotel in out 6 day trip that had this bad air in the room (and this was the most expencive hotel that we stayed in).

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank empqu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlessandroLiberty, Proprietario at Grand Hotel Liberty, responded to this review, 22 November 2014
Good afternoon,

thanks for your stay and review !

Reading the review I can say that 2 points are not a lot, only for the air room problem.
We normally change room if Guests have problems, and we never had this type of
complaint. We remind that we have many different type of rooms.

Anyway all other things I see are good so thanks a lot !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2014

We stayed herefor a week as part of a holiday package with the Travel Department (unfortunately we can't review them on tripadvisor, but theuy were extremely helpful over the phone, organising champagne and flowers to be ready in our room upon arrival, we could not fault the travel department staff here in ireland to our tour guide and bus drivers, exceptionally helpful and kind!) The hotel from the outside looks absolutely amazing and we certainly werent disappointed when we entered either. The staff were extremely courteous, very profeesional and friendly at the same time. Douilio , the restaurant maitre (manager) and his team were very friendly and understanding, particularly the waiter/barman, Bruno that looked after us for most of the week.
The food was delicious, the public areas, that we saw, were immaculate. And the wellness center/spa as an extra treat if you didn't want to go walking again or are just having a lazy day.
A hotel well run, well exceptiionally maintained is certainly entitle to the four star status it has!
All 'n' all, we could not fault the Grand Hotel Liberty and the team that run it.
We could not reccommend this hotel or even the Travel Department enough, if its just a break away from the stresses of reality, a romantic holiday, this is certainly a place to consider.

Room Tip: Ask for the front of the hotel, lake side, its the original building (palace)
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kalelabba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlessandroLiberty, Proprietario at Grand Hotel Liberty, responded to this review, 22 November 2014
Good afternoon,

thanks a lot for your stay with us and your wonderful review !
WE cannot thank you enough for your holiday and waiting to see you again !

Have a nice day
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Riva Del Garda
0.2 mi away
Lido Palace
Lido Palace
#1 of 62 in Riva Del Garda
5.0 of 5 bubbles 562 reviews
0.4 mi away
Astoria Park Hotel SPA Resort
Astoria Park Hotel SPA Resort
#10 of 62 in Riva Del Garda
4.0 of 5 bubbles 774 reviews
0.5 mi away
Parc Hotel Flora
Parc Hotel Flora
#4 of 62 in Riva Del Garda
4.5 of 5 bubbles 494 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Luise
Hotel Luise
#3 of 62 in Riva Del Garda
4.5 of 5 bubbles 587 reviews
25.0 mi away
Hotel Caesius Thermae & Spa Resort
0.3 mi away
Hotel Sole Relax & Panorama
Hotel Sole Relax & Panorama
#13 of 62 in Riva Del Garda
4.0 of 5 bubbles 490 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Liberty? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Liberty

Property: Grand Hotel Liberty
Address: Viale Giosue' Carducci 3/5, 38066, Riva Del Garda, Italy
Region: Italy > Trentino-Alto Adige > Province of Trento > Riva Del Garda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Riva Del Garda
#13 Luxury Hotel in Riva Del Garda
#21 Family Hotel in Riva Del Garda
#29 Romantic Hotel in Riva Del Garda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel Liberty 4*
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our hotel is situated at only 200 meters from town center and lake side. We provide for our Guest, free parking, free Wi-Fi in lounge area and all rooms, free access to pools,fitness room,sauna, turkish bath, kneipp and relax zone. We have 94 rooms but we are still a family hotel. We serve lunch on our terrace overlooking the pool and garden.We also provide half board/full board accomodation, and we can also manage for a wonderful wedding if you wish to marry in Riva del Garda ! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Odigeo, ACCOR, Priceline, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Grand Hotel Liberty reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Riva Del Garda
Grand Hotel Liberty Riva Del Garda/Nago, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing