We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good hotel, location and staff.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Grand Hotel Liberty
Ranked #17 of 62 Hotels in Riva Del Garda
Dundee, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Very good hotel, location and staff.”
Reviewed 12 August 2014

Just back from this hotel and was a bit worried after reading the reviews especially regarding the 'basic' rooms. I emailed ahead and asked for a room at the front of the hotel and although not given the street view we were given a room in the original building at the front. The room although small had a high ceiling giving it a more roomy feel. It was also very tastefully decorated and spotless, no smells of any kind what so ever. Other members of the family were in the back building and although their room was fine they did say it was not as nice as ours. Public areas in the hotel are beautiful and the spa is a very big bonus, loved it. Only down side to the spa was that the robes cost 15 euros each and if you wanted a clean one over the week you had to pay another 15 euros. Not a deposit just a payment. We are really fussy eaters but the food was great up until the last two days when the menu only had dishes we weren't that keen on. Breakfast good too and the waiting staff are very friendly and helpful. I would recommend this hotel to anyone and would not hesitate to go back myself. Riva is stunning and the hotel on 5 min walk to the center. Thanks to all the staff.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank roserab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlessandroLiberty, Proprietario at Grand Hotel Liberty, responded to this review, 23 November 2014
Good afternoon,

thanks for your holiday with us !
We always do our best for Guests, and reading most of the review,
we are doing a great job : )

See you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,120 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    355
    444
    203
    78
    40
See reviews for
123
649
37
40
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (161)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2014

Just back from a very beautiful part of the world and had the absolute pleasure of staying at the Grand Hotel Liberty. Had an issue with the first room, too small, but the manager was very accommodating in fixing us up with a more comfortable one. This set the tone for the holiday, everything about the place was wonderful, we went with the travel department which was nice, our sixth time with them to different destinations. We will defiantly return again of our own organising.
Breakfast was fine and the evening meals, pre ordered at breakfast were very nice and of appropriate portion. It is never easy to please everyone regarding taste and on that note will finish by highly recommending here. There is something here for everyone, just do the research.

Being inspired by such beauty and tranquillity was very humbling indeed.

Romancing Riva del Garda

I could be alone with you,
content, watch beauty be,
romantic and enchanting
complete in soothing me.

Teasing constant motion
majestic curves and flow
liberating valleys
within my heart you grow.

Lake Garda mí amore
dancing moments that I can,
savour all you give me
to satisfy this smitten man.

I’ll remain your true admirer
compliment you in my verse,
Imbibe your charming magic
in memories I will immerse.

Oh Riva how you spoil me
your scenes beyond compare
I wish to stay forever
live my days without a care.

I will be alone with you,
content, watch beauty be,
romantic and enchanting
complete in soothing me.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Patrick I I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlessandroLiberty, Proprietario at Grand Hotel Liberty, responded to this review, 23 November 2014
Good afternoon,

nice to read this review and thanks a lot !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newry, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2014

Just returned from a weeks holiday (31.7.2014-7.8.2014), staying at the Grand Hotel Liberty in Riva del Garda, a trip organised bt traveldepartment.ie.
Hotel is very grand looking,entrance and the downstairs of the hotel is beautiful and very well maintained. Our bedroom on the other hand was like walking back into the 1950s!! It was a bit on the small side especially the bathroom, it just needed some updating as it was very tired looking. It was very clean and the maid came in every day with fresh towels and the bedding was changed twice. For all the time you spend in it, none of the faults bothered my husband and I. There is an option to upgrade your room at a price, make sure you ask not to be put into an attic room, they are small with very small windows. But on arrival if you are not happy tell the reception they are very happy to help,we were offered an alternative room, but there was very little difference in the rooms.
The restaurant and meals were lovely, a mainly continental style breakfast,but with added scramblrd eggs and bacon. You chose your evening meal at breakfast,which meant that you didnt have to hang around for your meal, they were very efficient in getting your meal to you.
The staff in the hotel are very friendly and always happy to help with any problems or enquiries.
There is a lovely pool area with plenty of sunbeds, be aware if there are any Germans staying in the hotel, they do put their towels out early! We only went there at the end of the day to swim as we enjoyed going to Lake shore to sit in the sun, be prepared to be lying on grass and take shoes for the water as getting into the lake is difficult as its very stoney.
We had 3 trips included in our price,Verona,Venice and coach trip around the Lake, all were very good, all very much a taster for each especially in Venice, you definitely need more time or this trip.
We were lucky with the weather, was very warm, with occasional showers so
be prepared for the odd downpour!
Overall we had a fabulous time in Lake Garda, the Italian people are lovely, will be returning as soon as possible.

Room Tip: Request a balcony room, or room with view to pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lesley Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlessandroLiberty, Proprietario at Grand Hotel Liberty, responded to this review, 23 November 2014
Good afternoon,

thanks a lot for the review !
I will pass your review same like all others al our Staff !

Have a nice winter
Alessandro
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2014

Spent 10 fantastic days at the Hotel Grand Liberty, Lake Garda recently. We stayed in room 126, and luckily and a nice little surprise, it had a balcony (not many rooms in this hotel have balconies). The decoration is a little dated but other than that it was roomy and well equipped with a flat screen TV and clean. It had a mini bar which was handy and stocked each night if necessary. The air con was controlled by reception who had the sense to turn it off when it was not quite so hot. Dining experience was also very good, the food was well presented and very tasty, the only complaint here is they tended to rush you through the course's. Drinks in the bar were reasonably priced, but you could always go to the nearby supermarket and buy very cheap drinks - for example, 750ml bottle of vodka for under a fiver, we saw wine for less than £2 if you wanted to chance it! The hotel is situated about 8-10 minute walk from the lake itself, but it is a very nice walk and you can go various different ways. Amenities at the hotel, the outdoor pool was probably the coldest pool we have ever got in, but refreshing on a very hot day. We had a couple of days rain and so went to the indoor pool and enjoyed the jacuzzi, steam room, sauna and an amazing aromatherapy shower - no extra cost. We also enjoyed a massage and pedicure in the wellness centre which was very relaxing and not overpriced either. All the staff were very friendly and helpful when assistance was required. Overall Riva is a beautiful resort and the hotel did not disappoint in any way. We would recommend this hotel and would definitely go back - sooner rather than later hopefully.

Room Tip: 126 was a good room, on the quieter side of the hotel - although it did not seem noisy anywhere
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Warmit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlessandroLiberty, Proprietario at Grand Hotel Liberty, responded to this review, 23 November 2014
Good afternoon,

thanks a lot for your long stay with us !
Appreciate to read your review and I hope to see you again with us !

Thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Omagh
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2014

Travelled to Riva Del Garda with my wife as part of a Travel Department package, although we chose extras in pool side bedroom with air conditioning. Thus we were allocated a room in the Grand Hotel Liberty. Hotel staff were friendly, helpful and very interactive. Offering advice and responding to conversation positively. Bedroom tidied and linen changed without once being interrupted. Breakfast and evening meals (half board) excellent with a new three or four main meal options each evening. Breakfast option including cooked, cold and cereal with wide fruit selection. Bar, lounge, covered and uncovered deck seating. Private external pool facility and internal pool and spa facility. Closely sited to shopping centre or the town square where entertainment is free while you eat or drink at the water side. Fantastic base from which to explore the beautiful Lake Garda area.

Room Tip: Room overlooking the pool had a private balcony for sun bathing
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WhatOmagh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlessandroLiberty, Proprietario at Grand Hotel Liberty, responded to this review, 23 November 2014
Good afternoon,

thanks a lot for all !
Just remind for who is reading that we give always our 100%
and the hotel is open all year round !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ireland
Level Contributor
41 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2014

Stayed at this hotel on a Travel Department holiday. Reception staff were always very pleasant and helpful. Restaurant staff were excellent and great fun. Food was excellent. Loads of places to sit and relax, bar area and outdoor bar area were very pleasant places to hang out. The pool was perfect.

Room Tip: We were in room 306 looking out on the lake, it was a lovely big room with a fine en-suite. As it wa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kevin1812
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlessandroLiberty, Proprietario at Grand Hotel Liberty, responded to this review, 23 November 2014
Good afternoon,

thanks a lot for your stay and review !

Hope to see you again in the future !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cork
Level Contributor
38 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2014

We stayed in this hotel in June 14 for a week ,it's a lovely old fashioned hotel . We went with the Travel Department and it was a wonderful experience . The staff are all excellent ,very efficient and friendly , its a very quiet relaxing place and it's location could not be better , just a short walk to lake and with nearby shops and a supermarket a short distance .The only thing was the attic bedroom which is tiny .
I would advise all visitors to take boat trip out on lake and visit all the villages around the lake especially Sirmione, Limone,and Malcesine and take the cable car to top in Malcesine. The trip up the mountains is well worth it stunning vistas of mountains and lakes .

Room Tip: Don't accept a room on the third floor and ask for a corner room
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank anne550
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlessandroLiberty, Proprietario at Grand Hotel Liberty, responded to this review, 22 November 2014
Good afternoon,

thanks a lot for your stay and your review.
WE hope to see you in the future

Thanks a lot
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Riva Del Garda
0.2 mi away
Lido Palace
Lido Palace
#1 of 62 in Riva Del Garda
5.0 of 5 bubbles 561 reviews
0.4 mi away
Astoria Park Hotel SPA Resort
Astoria Park Hotel SPA Resort
#10 of 62 in Riva Del Garda
4.0 of 5 bubbles 773 reviews
0.5 mi away
Parc Hotel Flora
Parc Hotel Flora
#4 of 62 in Riva Del Garda
4.5 of 5 bubbles 492 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Luise
Hotel Luise
#3 of 62 in Riva Del Garda
4.5 of 5 bubbles 587 reviews
25.0 mi away
Hotel Caesius Thermae & Spa Resort
0.3 mi away
Hotel Sole Relax & Panorama
Hotel Sole Relax & Panorama
#13 of 62 in Riva Del Garda
4.0 of 5 bubbles 490 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Liberty? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Liberty

Property: Grand Hotel Liberty
Address: Viale Giosue' Carducci 3/5, 38066, Riva Del Garda, Italy
Region: Italy > Trentino-Alto Adige > Province of Trento > Riva Del Garda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Riva Del Garda
#13 Luxury Hotel in Riva Del Garda
#21 Family Hotel in Riva Del Garda
#29 Romantic Hotel in Riva Del Garda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel Liberty 4*
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our hotel is situated at only 200 meters from town center and lake side. We provide for our Guest, free parking, free Wi-Fi in lounge area and all rooms, free access to pools,fitness room,sauna, turkish bath, kneipp and relax zone. We have 94 rooms but we are still a family hotel. We serve lunch on our terrace overlooking the pool and garden.We also provide half board/full board accomodation, and we can also manage for a wonderful wedding if you wish to marry in Riva del Garda ! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, ACCOR, Ebookers, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, LoveHolidays, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your Grand Hotel Liberty reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Riva Del Garda
Grand Hotel Liberty Riva Del Garda/Nago, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing