We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Villa Nicolli Romantic Resort
Ranked #8 of 62 Hotels in Riva Del Garda
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 September 2014

Hotel was exceptionally clean and tidy, we had a small suite which was nice, a bit bleak, no pictures on walls, and a bit dark. The balcony overlooked garden which you could sit out and look at the mountains.
The spa was really nice but we did not use.
The pool outdoors was a bit cold for out tastes but the indoor one was reasonably warm.
The Hotel staff were really friendly and helpful, nothing was too much trouble.

Room Tip: We had a small suite and did not know what the other rooms were like. Very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Michele P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelRivaDelGarda, Direttore at Villa Nicolli Romantic Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 21 October 2014

Buongiorno from Villa Nicolli Romantic Resort!
We are really delighted to hear that you enjoyed a sit on the balcony while looking at the mountain and a warm swim in our indoor pool. Many thanks for leaving your opinion, much appreciated!
Best regards from Lake Garda,
Villa Nicolli & Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (644)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

171 - 177 of 644 reviews

Reviewed 31 August 2014

We travelled as a family of three with our 18 year old pre university son. We had a really enjoyable time and do not recognise the negative comments made by others.

Do not go if you expect this to be a modern city type boutique hotel. But do go if you want a well run, very clean traditional hotel with good facilities. We found all the staff helpful and friendly. They worked hard to communicate in English, German or Italian etc depending on your country of origin. The use of the indoor pool and free spa facilities; Turkish Bath, Sauna and relaxation beds are an extra you just do not get at many other hotels of this sort. There are separate pay as you use wellness facilities and treatments that looked good. The outdoor pool was good and there was plenty of space and shade in the garden area and around the pool. The free buffet lunch for hotel guests was an added bonus. The use of swimming hats (3 euro each) indoors and outdoors helped maintain the overall feeling of cleanliness.

The food is Italian and served in the Italian style, good local choices well presented over a leisurely couple of hours. Do not expect quick buffet Mediterranean style service. I can say that every meal we had was excellent, the staff friendly and attentive. After the meal a 10-15 walk to Riva was easy and a pleasure. Plenty of places to eat and drink if the hotels more formal menu approach is not your choice.

Riva itself has enough activity, with lakeside parks and bathing areas, water sports, cycle paths, bars, restaurants, shops etc to hold attention all week. We took a day trip by boat to Limone and Mesceline (20 euros each on the ferry plus concessions) where we went up the mountain in a cable car (again 20 euros each plus concessions). All recommended. We also used the free (you leave a 50 euro per bike refundable deposit) hotel cycles to go on the flat cycle path to Arco - about 1 hour each way. Well worth the look.

All in all a pleasurable experience and we would not hesitate to revisit if the opportunity arose again. They also helped us celebrate our wedding anniversary with a number of kind touches. Much appreciated.

Room Tip: I suspect the rooms at the front and back of the hotel will have the best views. Our room was a fron...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank CarltonColville2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelRivaDelGarda, Direttore at Villa Nicolli Romantic Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 21 October 2014

A big THANK YOU for your lovely review and the kind words. It's a pleasure to read that you had an enjoyable family holiday in our hotel and that all aspects from the food to the cleanliness and the friendly service went so perfect. We are more than happy to hear that you had a great experience and had the opportunity to visit well all the surrounding area.
We look forward to welcoming you soon again to our hotel,
Kind regards,
Villa Nicolli Romantic Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2014

We stayed at this hotel for seven days (room 110 and room 111), With our sons. It is a wonderful hotel with excellent accommodation, attentive friendly staff and top notch food. The accommodation is spotlessly clean and the spa and pools rival some of the best hotels we have stayed in.

Wine prices start from about 20 euros.....not expensive is it .

I really don't recognise the negative comments on other reviews. How could anyone criticise the service. For goodness sake this is a holiday hotel in Italy and the relaxed " no rush" approach should be embraced and applauded . This is not a business venue for stressed out guests.
In respect of its location it's about a ten minute gentle walk to the main centre and located in a lovely area.

In conclusion, visit this hotel and immerse yourself in the relaxed atmosphere, great service and fine environment. You won't regret one minute.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Biker3000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelRivaDelGarda, Direttore at Villa Nicolli Romantic Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 21 October 2014

It's wonderful to start the day reading such a positive comment. We are really grateful, thank you so much: your lovely words and all the praise are much appreciated!
We are very pleased that you and your family enjoyed everything of your holiday with us, especially the relaxed atmosphere. We do hope there will be another chance to have you all here soon.
Best wishes,
Villa Nicolli & Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2014

Room 301, comfort room, priced up from normal room.
Room small for price paid, strugglled to find enough power points to charge appliances, had to use one in the bathroom not ideal. No full length mirror in room, or tea, coffee.
Warning in manuel if you used minin bar for own goods, the whole of the mini bar contents would be charged to your room- very mean.
Bathroom small, shower cubical tiny,
Breakfast option in or outdoors, we choose outdoors.
Wild birds were eating the scrambled egg off the serving spoon, and the cake which was uncovered, I would not eat the egg after seeing this, and only eat covered items. Good choice of fresh fruit.
We tried the spa, swimming pool salted water, and only usable if you used swimming hat, it was ok but not as good as we expected.
Did not eat in resturant for evening meal.
Location was far out of town and about 15 -20 min walk, which made it quite in the evening, no traffic noise. In an area with private holiday flats, which I did not expect from the photo of the hotel from the outside

Room Tip: Rooms on the front better then side as sjde have very little view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank angiemow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelRivaDelGarda, Direttore at Villa Nicolli Romantic Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 9 November 2014

Buonasera and thank you for your review even if we are sorry to read it.
We would like to explain that, fortunately, our hotel is located not in the middle of the city centre, but near a beautiful garden. We think that it's lovely and relaxing having breakfast outside waking up by the song of a bird. We are sorry that you don't agree with us.
Best regards from Lake Garda,
Villa Nicolli & Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2014

If you want a luxurious holiday close to the beautiful lake but access to the mountains then this is the best.
The hotel accommodation was perfect with good rooms for guests. Our bedroom was good with views of the mountains and vineyards.
The meals were superb and gave a good opportunity to enjoy the local specialities and there was a relaxed approach to give plenty of time to enjoy the dinner.
Amongst many other top notch features to point out was the staff. They really did go out of their way to ensure that every guest could enjoy their stay. This was true of the receptionists, the waiters, the barman and the cleaning team. It was a privilege to stay in their hotel and they wanted everyone to share it.
The Inghams rep did a very good job in making you aware of what was available.
There were plenty of things to do within the locality including borrowing the hotel bikes! We were sad to leave the area but also the hotel and it's staff.
There are so many good qualities to point out and I have no hesitation in recommending this Hotel as a top spot in a gorgeous part of Italy.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
5  Thank Judith14_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelRivaDelGarda, Direttore at Villa Nicolli Romantic Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 6 November 2014

Dear Judith,
Thank you very much for your lovely review.
It's fantastic to hear that you consider our hotel as an excellent one. Very important to us is that you enjoyed your stay so much: this makes us really happy because it's our work's main aim. And your beautiful comments reward our efforts: THANK YOU!
We hope you will visit us again soon. Kind regards,
Villa Nicolli & Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2014

Villa Nicolli is a ten minutes lakeside walk into delightful Riva del Garda. There's a lot to praise about this hotel. It has an excellent spa and pleasant outside pool. The hotel is kept spotlessly clean throughout and is well-maintained. Our room (described as a junior suite but which was really a large family room with an enormous bed and first-rate linen) was keep immaculately clean by the maids. There is an excellent complimentary wine and olive-oil tasting event plus a complimentary lunch served on the terrace. Smiling and helpful staff are an asset to the hotel especially Sylvia on reception, although one receptionist had a bad attitude (she had short dark hair). When we approached her she didn't look up from the computer and irritably barked "Eeh" because we were obviously an intrusion! Vito (?) the wine waiter was very professional.

Due to ill health this was our first trip abroad for nearly four years so a lot was riding on it but our holiday was marred by appallingly slow service in the dining room. Four courses (preceded by a buffet-salad bar) was overly-ambitious considering that the restaurant seemed to be understaffed. On our first full night, we were over two hours in the restaurant, which has no outdoor seating. By the time you are finished you have missed most of a beautiful evening. We didn't complain that night but others did.

You have the same table every evening and so it added insult to injury to be able to note that the people at the next table would arrive 10-15 minutes after us but be served their courses efficiently and leave well before us. It transpired that they were getting this favoured treatment because they were on their 7th visit to the hotel. They said the service generally was the poorest they'd known from previous visits, and that they didn't recognise any of the restaurant staff. They also thought it odd that they were served before us and others.

By all means show you appreciate customer loyalty (warm recognition and a free drink perhaps?) but don't do it at the expense of other paying guests. It is short-sighted to offer such markedly different levels of service. It alienates them and ensures they will not become returners. This experience was insulting and infuriating - not what you want to feel when you are in need of relaxation on your precious holiday. Obviously, this soon resulted in our complaining and promises were made to improve service, which it did but it all fell apart again on the last night. The dining room staff were always pleasant in spite of being understaffed and under pressure.

We thought the food very good and well-presented. I would also add that wine is expensive but the quality didn't disappoint us, and we especially enjoyed the wines from the local areas. However, dinner is an important event, especially on holiday, and we were badly let down by a poor experience, which would prevent us from ever recommending this hotel to anyone.

Room Tip: Our room overlooked the pool area and, as others, have said you can see the steam rising from the mo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank loveroftravel52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelRivaDelGarda, Direttore at Villa Nicolli Romantic Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 8 November 2014

Good morning and thank you for your review. We are very surprised to read about a rude receptionist with short dark hair, because none of the reception has this kind of hair and the ladies are always friendly and polite. For sure you spoke with someone not of the reception and we are sorry about it. We always deal the same way with our Guests, we don't prefer one guest to another. We do all our best to satisfy all our Guests and in the service we don't do any difference. We are very sorry about your bad experience.
Best regards from Lake Garda,
Villa Nicolli Romantic Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2014

From the first moments we stepped into Vila Nicolli we felt a good vibe and were made very welcome by the lovely staff. The facilities are pretty good, an indoor and outdoor swimming pool (swimming caps are compulsory to remember to take them or else the reception will sell them to you for 3 Euros), a small spa and a large restaurant and bar area. They also have some cycles you can take out for the day free to see the sights - these are city bikes though and the tyres aren't the type you'll want to take out on the many mountain bike trails around Lake Garda.

The rooms were ok, a little dated and the little A/C unit just about coped with the Italian heat. We were upgraded to a deluxe room which was a nice touch but all this really meant was the room was a little larger and we had a shower cubicle instead of a shower over the bath.

The restaurant serves traditional Italian food in the standard starter-first main-second main-dessert format so understandably the portions aren't huge otherwise you'd never get to the end. A few times we just fancied a pizza or a big bowl of pasta so we headed into town. The standard of food in the restaurant is high though and the waiters were all lovely. Breakfast and lunch can be taken outside on the terrace which is a lovely setting when the weather is good. There was a pretty good selection for both too.

In keeping with the majority of hotels in the area, the don't serve water at meals as standard, there is no tap water so you'll need to buy a bottle of still or sparkling if you want some water with your meal. Our tour rep told us this is standard across Italy but having travelled there several times with work and holiday this is not the case, it seems to be a local thing or a Northern Italy thing.

The location of the hotel is very good - not down in town drowned by the many tourist hotspots or directly by the lake where the hotels and campsites are crammed together - about 5 or 6 minutes walk to the lake and about 8 to 10 minutes to town. There's combined cycle path and pedestrian walk ways to take you everywhere so you don't have to worry about walking along the roads (which do get pretty busy at the height of tourist season!!)

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank JamieFinlay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelRivaDelGarda, Direttore at Villa Nicolli Romantic Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 9 November 2014

Good evening from Villa Nicolli Romantic Resort!
Many thanks for your kind review and for your visit.
We are glad to know that you had a lovely stay with us and enjoyed throughout our facilities.
We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you again in the future.
Kind regards from Lake Garda,
Villa Nicolli & Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Riva Del Garda hotels
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Liberty
Grand Hotel Liberty
#15 of 62 in Riva Del Garda
1,216 reviews
0.4 mi away
Astoria Park Hotel SPA Resort
Astoria Park Hotel SPA Resort
#11 of 62 in Riva Del Garda
892 reviews
0.4 mi away
Lido Palace
Lido Palace
#2 of 62 in Riva Del Garda
648 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Luise
Hotel Luise
#3 of 62 in Riva Del Garda
676 reviews
0.5 mi away
Parc Hotel Flora
Parc Hotel Flora
#5 of 62 in Riva Del Garda
539 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Portici Romantik & Wellness
Hotel Portici Romantik & Wellnes...
#13 of 62 in Riva Del Garda
406 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Nicolli Romantic Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Nicolli Romantic Resort

Address: Via Umberto Cattoni 5, 38066, Riva Del Garda, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Trentino-Alto Adige > Province of Trento > Riva Del Garda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Riva Del Garda
#8 Luxury Hotel in Riva Del Garda
#9 Family Hotel in Riva Del Garda
#15 Romantic Hotel in Riva Del Garda
Price Range: £128 - £270 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Villa Nicolli Romantic Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 59
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Villa Nicolli Romantic Resort, a Kingdom of harmonies, peace and wellbeing in Riva del Garda. Discover the thousand relaxation opportunities of Lake Garda: enjoy a spa treatment, taste delicious food in the restaurant Perla di Lago or stroll around Riva del Garda and the sorrounding area. An unique and exciting experience to fall in love with this small ancient world... Click on the video and make the trip start! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Villa Nicolli Romantic Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nicolli Hotel Riva Del Garda

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing