We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good choice for a relaxing holiday”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Villa Nicolli Romantic Resort
Ranked #8 of 62 Hotels in Riva Del Garda
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 September 2009

Stayed here for 6 days in August. Very nice hotel with good food (especially the pasta). We were initially disappointed with our junior suite (top of the range and at the back of the hotel with a lovely view) as it was very dark wood with a strange wall between the bedroom and sitting area (I had expressly asked for a suite without this configuration as we had spotted it on the website). After one night, they moved us to one of the newly decorated suites in the Garden House which was much better. Although it didn't have the same view it was brighter, with better furniture and bathroom, and with more effective air-con - room 503. After reading other reviews on the site I suspect that we did over-pay, but we had to book ages in advance as we were not flexible with dates, and we only wanted 6 nights so that was probably the reason. Only real drawback for us was the slightly longer walk into town than we were expecting but it was not too bad, and certainly do-able after dinner or if you wanted to catch a boat to go out for the day. Nice pool despite the rule about having to wear caps! Spa was ok but a bit over-sized for the plot - we felt that it didn't really blend in well and would have probably preferred a larger garden. Very nice staff and good service. Free lunch when you are on half board is a nice touch - just salad and pasta usually but good. Some entertainment (two nights while we were there) but pretty low-key, which suited us fine.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VAH12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (634)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

321 - 327 of 634 reviews

Reviewed 31 August 2009

Our first impression of the hotel was nice but not four star. As the week progressed we observed that the hotel was spotlessly clean; the staff were very friendly and helpful; the pool was crystal clear and a delight to swim in; there is no handrail at the pool or on some of the steps so that was a problem for some the the disabled people there, of which there were a few; the hotel is a bit out of town so those with walking difficulties will need to taxi - 8 euros each way; there was no entertainment provided and so the hotel was very quiet at nights (which suited us just fine); the spa is only open 3-7pm and the treatments are quite expensive; the food was, at best, average.
We were disgusted to find out that everyone we spoke to paid half of what we did for the week (£1740), so if you are thinking about this hotel, others sourced it at a much cheaper rate from Barrhead Travel and LastMinute.com. Despite the price we had a lovely time here and would definitly return but not at the price we paid.
Although the hotel was newly refurbushed and very nice, it was in reality a three-star trying to be a four-star.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WEEBUFFY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2009

we travelled to riva on the 15th august 2009 in a party of 6 we stayed at hotel nicolli and was really inpressed with everything about the place we stayed here in 2008 and promised to return as we did ,while there had no cause to complain about anything ,while there we organised a surprise birthday party for our friend with the head waiter and surprised him by putting banners and balloons on our table ,great hotel ,great staff ,great food,would recommend to friends ,made welcome on arrival by receptionist,and head waiter at evening meal ,only draw back was the new spa not open long enough only complaint

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank golfer029
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2009

The Hotel Villa Nicolli is a good hotel in the lovely town of Riva del Garda. When we arrived we were a little disappointed. We were late due to delays, and although the hotel had kindly provided us with some food, in my opinion it was inedible. I mistakenly assumed this was what we were going to be given all week. Our room was very small. It had a balcony, but I remembered reading a review about the balcony being like a bunker, and I commented to my friend that that is what our balcony looked like. However, after a good nights sleep, everything was much better. Our room, although small was very clean, the bed was comfortable and the bunker actually had very nice views! Our bathroom towels were changed regularly and the cleaners did a terrific job throughout the hotel. To my relief, we were taken to dinner in the proper restaurant, which was very nice. The food and waiter service was very good.
The hotel is about 10 minutes walk from the lovely square in the middle of Riva del Garda. Riva del Garda is a lovely resort and having visted most of the towns around Lake Garda, in our opinion probably the best. We really enjoyed going out in the evenings for walks or sitting in the square where there are beautiful views of the lake and night time entertainment. During the day, you can go to any of the towns around the lake by boat.
Overall, a very nice hotel in a lovely location.

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AntheaNorfolk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2009

What can you say that has not been said before. The hotel is in a good position if you want a quiet holiday. The food served at all meals is excellent. The staff are all very good an work hard. The pool is very good. We had room 211 at the back of the hotel and the views from the balcony were stunning, the vineyards and the mountains. The town is only a 15 mins walk away and great when you want to walk off the food. All in all we had a great time as we wanted a relaxing holiday.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sandybee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2009

After a two year break, we returned to this hotel along with my sister, her two children aged 5 and 18 and my 75 year old mother. All of us found the hotel to be welcoming and helpful at all times. Our room was at the front of the Hotel and my sister had a family room in the Garden block; both rooms were clean and spacious with pleasant views, were certainly not "tired" and were better than others we have stayed in in Riva. With regards to maintenance, we had a problem with our shower which we reported in the morning and upon our return, a few hours later, the faulty unit had been replaced. However, we would have to agree that the air conditioning in our room could have been better at night.
I am not sure how some of the previous guests felt that children were not made to feel welcome in the hotel as, at the time of our stay, there were several children present and ALL staff were kind, thoughtful and eager to chat with them.
Once again we felt we had good value regarding food and there was plenty of choice on the evening menu. A slight criticism would be that whilst the food for the buffet breakfast and evening salad bar are replenished it is not done quickly enough, due to insufficient staffing.
We would like to stress just how friendly we found all the hotel staff, from reception to the room maids, restaurant and bar-staff.
To sum up we all loved the Hotel's location, pool and garden, new facilities and are looking forward to our return next summer. We hope our favourite bar man is there to serve us our grappa's and cappuccinos! Thank you to all.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HubsBlackCountry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2009

Location: This was very good, about 10 minutes from the main town of Riva. Very quiet location, I would suggest you try and get a room overlooking the vineyard, as the views were lovely. Make sure you do a boat trip at least once, the views are spectacular.

Rooms: Small but very nice, equipped with: television, safe, hairdryer, shower cubicle and air conditioning. Also, most rooms have a balcony and comfortable bed. Free Internet use (1 hour per week) in reception.
Communal Areas: Extremely clean in all areas.

Restaurant: Large dining room, which was nice but had no views. You are allocated a table for the week.

Food: We went half board and found the food to be of a good standard, some courses had to be sent back, due to overcooked meat or receiving the wrong dish, but these were isolated incidents. There are 4 courses, with addition of the salad and cheese tables. Desserts were delicious, with lots of choices. Breakfast was continental, with fruit salad, cereal, pastries, cold meats, cheeses and cooked eggs, bacon etc. We had the option of free lunch daily, which was usually leftovers from the night before, but in general this was of good quality still.

Pool: Lovely, very peaceful and plenty of sun beds when we were there. They also provide an indoor spa, which is a great added extra, which includes: pool with jets, Turkish bath, sauna etc. Beauty treatments are available, I had a massage while there and it was lovely. Please ignore previous review about opening hours, the spa is open from 15:00 until 19:00 (but only open an hour for children, although this seemed to be vague, so may change).

Staff: All the staff were extremely helpful, it could get quite busy and waiters struggled slightly to provide a top service. Reception are extremely informative about the local area and also have discount vouchers for Gardaland and other places of interest.

Rules: There are some funny little rules, which seemed a bit pedantic, i.e.: you must wear swimming caps in the pool (these can be purchased at the hotel, they are made of material and nicer than plastic caps); you cannot keep your own drinks in the mini fridge.

All in all, the hotel was very good and for the price we paid, great value. I would not recommend for children, it is a very grown up hotel and there are no facilities for children, other than the pool.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SidneyUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Riva Del Garda
0.4 mi away
Lido Palace
Lido Palace
#2 of 62 in Riva Del Garda
627 reviews
0.4 mi away
Astoria Park Hotel SPA Resort
Astoria Park Hotel SPA Resort
#11 of 62 in Riva Del Garda
875 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Liberty
Grand Hotel Liberty
#15 of 62 in Riva Del Garda
1,191 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Hotel Lago di Garda
Hotel Lago di Garda
#3 of 33 in Torbole
1,086 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Luise
Hotel Luise
#3 of 62 in Riva Del Garda
661 reviews
0.5 mi away
Parc Hotel Flora
Parc Hotel Flora
#5 of 62 in Riva Del Garda
532 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Nicolli Romantic Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Nicolli Romantic Resort

Address: Via Umberto Cattoni 5, 38066, Riva Del Garda, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Trentino-Alto Adige > Province of Trento > Riva Del Garda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Riva Del Garda
#8 Luxury Hotel in Riva Del Garda
#9 Family Hotel in Riva Del Garda
#15 Romantic Hotel in Riva Del Garda
Price Range: £86 - £203 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Villa Nicolli Romantic Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 59
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Villa Nicolli Romantic Resort, a Kingdom of harmonies, peace and wellbeing in Riva del Garda. Discover the thousand relaxation opportunities of Lake Garda: enjoy a spa treatment, taste delicious food in the restaurant Perla di Lago or stroll around Riva del Garda and the sorrounding area. An unique and exciting experience to fall in love with this small ancient world... Click on the video and make the trip start! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Expedia, Evoline ltd, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Villa Nicolli Romantic Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nicolli Hotel Riva Del Garda

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing