We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Next to petrol station!”
Review of Hotel Garni Prince

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Garni Prince
Ranked #44 of 62 Hotels in Riva Del Garda
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Next to petrol station!”
Reviewed 31 August 2008

Just back form Garni Prince. As others have said Marina on the reception was wonderful and couldnt do enough to help us. The hotel is only 2 minutes literally from the 'beach' which was great BUT 2 main gripes:
1. Pictures/description in brochure do not show it is connected to a petrol station (see picture). The smell did permeate in to our room. Our view consisted of the hotel across the road and the petrol station. We werent even right above it as some of the other rooms were!
2. Compared to the other 3 star hotels in the resort that we saw I think it was more like a 2 star. Perfectly clean and tidy but not 3 star.

On a last plus the breakfast is great!

  • Liked — Near the lake and clean
  • Disliked — basic and the position overlooking petrol station
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank daff201
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    14
    23
    12
    6
    0
See reviews for
6
42
Solo
0
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 June 2008

We have just returned from two weeks in Riva and we stayed in the Prince again after having had a great time there nine years ago. Nothing has changed, it is still a great hotel in a great location. Everyone there was extremely helpful and friendly. The room was quite large and very clean and the breakfast buffet was great. I wouldn't hesitate to go back again.

  • Liked — The Location and the friendly staff
  • Disliked — A pool would have been nice
  • Stayed May 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank lg08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
staffordshire
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2007

Have just spent a week at the Hotel Prince. The hotel is idealy situated in Riva. The lake 100 yards, shops and restaurants close by. The hotel is well run and very clean. The staff are all very helpfull. If you need anything just ask Marina on the reception, she will go out of her way to help you. We stayed on a B&B basis, the breakfast has a good selection of cold meats, cereals, fruit, yogurt, pasteries etc. tea, coffee and juices. You wont leave hungry. We shall return to this hotel and can recomend it. Riva itself is a great base for a holiday, we hired a car in the uk (holiday autos) before traveling and picked it up in downtown Riva about a 1 mile walk. We had no problems driving around, take a sat nav device or rent one that covers europe it will give you a more relaxing time navigating around this very beautiful part of Italy.

  • Liked — Clean and good location
  • Disliked — n/a
  • Stayed August 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank montyStaffordshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancashire England
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2007

Spent last week in June 2007 at the Prince. Although arrived late Saturday evening, made to feel welcome from word go!. Well located hotel, just nice stroll from town centre, along the lakeside, or main road. They have recently installed AirCon in the rooms and for an extra 8 euros per night is terrific system. Breakfast was great with excellent choices of meat, cheese, cereals, toast and rolls. The hotel staff were excellent and could not do enough to help. Marina on reception was particularly friendly & very capable. A number of the guests return year after and year, and we can understand why. We will be joining them again in the future.

  • Liked — Great Atmosphere
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed July 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank J&VHT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ireland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2005

I just got back from staying in Riva del Garda. The Prince Hotel was a great base from which to see everything. It's 2 mins to the lake and stony beach and 15 mins to the centre of the town. Theres plenty of parking, although the underground car park is very steep to get in and out of. The rooms are good size but the shower is a little on the small side. The big problem is the heat, there is a fan in the room, well more of a box realy that only blows hot air no matter what you set it at is next to useless. That aside, breakfast was great, the staff are good and the room is cleaned everyday. They even folded up my t-shirts!! Just out the front there is a restaurant and ice cream shop, both serve beer. The town is great, narrow streets tourist shops the lake, everything. Go see Pub all'orca just off the centre of town, a great little place. The main tourist there is German, the locals know this so most of the menus are in Italian, German and English. Also most of the locals speak all 3 languages. I had a hire car while I was there and it was a great way to see the whole lake we even went to Venice in an hour and a half via the A22 and the A4 which take you right there. The tolls for the motorway are cheap, you get a ticket coming on and you pay at a manned booth when you leave, parking was easy but not that cheap, Venice is 4 euro for 2 hours up to a max of 20 euro. The car I had came with GPS Nav built in which I had to convert to talk english, if you are getting a car I would highly recommend the GPS stuff, just pay the extra you won't regret it. But I don't recomend driving for the faint hearted, I enjoyed it but I talked to others who didn't want to drive anywhere because they thought it was too dangerous. You can hire scooters and bikes but unless you are very good on a scooter its just madness. As for bikes there is hundreds of miles of cycle traks for you to explore, from simple (flat) to expert (hilly). You can hire boats and windsurfers down on the beach, you can also get peddlos. I heard the Italy was expensive, well to put that right it's not expensive. A 2 course meal including wine and coffee right on the lake front was 60 euro including a tip. There are expensive things but if you use your head you wont get caught out. Riva is a very safe town, everyone is frendily, and everything stays open late. If you tinking of going to Italy then make sure that Lake Garda and Riva are in there.

  • Stayed August 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
15 Thank Bodhan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 January 2005

I have stayed at the Hotel Prince in 2000 and 2001. It is a small but comfortable, family run hotel with extremely friendly staff. The rooms are average size with mini bar. This great especially in the summer months when the weather is hot. We stored all our drinks etc in it. The only downside is that there is no air conditioning, although there is a ceiling fan.

The buffet breakfast is good with yoghurts, cereal, rolls, ham, cheese etc on offer and the milky coffee was a hit with us.

It is in a brilliant location just a 2 minute walk from the lake. It is about a 5-10 minute walk into the centre of Riva. We used the path around the lake as the scenery is beautiful but you can also use the main road.

There is a particularly good ice-cream shop nearby beside the Parc Flora which is the hotel next door and there are a few small shops and a larger supermarket across the road so you can stock up on supplies of water, drinks etc.

I would thoroughly recommend the Hotel Prince.

  • Stayed June 2001
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
24 Thank TracyJG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Riva Del Garda hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Brione
Hotel Brione
#38 of 62 in Riva Del Garda
199 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Al Maso
Hotel Al Maso
#29 of 62 in Riva Del Garda
240 reviews
1.0 mi away
Villa Maria Hotel Garni
Villa Maria Hotel Garni
#25 of 62 in Riva Del Garda
162 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Canarino
Canarino
#36 of 62 in Riva Del Garda
124 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Rudy
Hotel Rudy
#14 of 62 in Riva Del Garda
434 reviews
0.3 mi away
Residence Marina
Residence Marina
#47 of 62 in Riva Del Garda
25 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Garni Prince? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Garni Prince

Property: Hotel Garni Prince
Address: Via Franz Kafka 1, 38066, Riva Del Garda, Italy
Region: Italy > Trentino-Alto Adige > Province of Trento > Riva Del Garda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #44 of 62 Hotels in Riva Del Garda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Garni Prince 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel setting is one of the best in Riva del Garda; near the Saint Nicolò harbor, the Hotel is only 100mt. away from the beach, the windsurfing area and only a short walk from the city centre, near the shopping ways, the Restaurants and the beautiful walk along the lake. Elevator, parking, garage, bar, TV room . Rooms with bathroom, balcony, satellite TV, radio, telephone, safe, air conditioning, ceiling fan, mini-bar, WI-FI area. Parking-place guarantee at 300 mt. from the Hotel. In Hotel ONLY on request and reservation ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Garni Prince reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Garni Prince Hotel
Hotel Garni Prince Riva Del Garda/Nago, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing