We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Basic hotel with little going for it”
Review of Hotel Garni Prince

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Garni Prince
Ranked #45 of 62 Hotels in Riva Del Garda
Reviewed 27 August 2014

I have just come back from Riva and stayed in this hotel and found the accommodation basic even though it says its a 3 star hotel and on 1 website review it said it had room service and a gym in the basement. It didn't have room service or a gym.

The room was quite nice and was serviced everyday and some of the reception staff were nice although there was one receptionist who wasn't the most friendly.

The hotel is itself right next door to a petrol station so does enjoy petrol vapours when you sit out on the veranda enjoying a drink.

Breakfast is simple continent but i did get extremely bored with it but hey, that's life.

The beds were extremely hard and cured my back problems so that's something positive.

Room Tip: None to advise
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Miles T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (58)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Garni Prince
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

17 - 23 of 58 reviews

Reviewed 21 September 2012

My husband and I stayed in the Prince Hotel for 2 weeks end of August beginning of September. We were met by a very polite and helpful receptionist who gave us info on the hotel. Our room was very dated but very clean and not that bad in size either, beds were a little uncomfortable but not the worst I have slept on. We were overlooking the garage but to be honest the scenery around about is so beautiful you soon forget about the garage. Breakfast was nice plenty of variety and enough to go around. It's far from the best hotel in Riva but for a 3 * you know what to expect you want 5* you pay for 5*. Ideal location for the lake and only a 15 min walk to the main centre of Riva, some lovely restaurants around the Hotel as well as in town. We will be back.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank MimGateshead_England
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2012

Firstly, the hotel is very close to the lake and about about a 15 minute walk from the centre of Riva. The staff are very pleasant.

We stayed in the 'suite' which sounds very nice but the title is deceptive! The room looked out directly on to the very rusty roof of a petrol station. Lovely! The room itself was incredibly basic and poorly decorated. The bed was awful; very much like a camp bed.The furniture looked ready to skip. The carpet was heavily worn and stained, although it was clean.
This accommodation is a maximum of 2 star standard. I certainly won't be returning.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Guitarman1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2012

We have just stayed for a week from the 21/6/2012. Don't be put off from your first impressions you hardly notice the garage outside or the busy road. Once in the hotel the rooms are clean and tidy with 2 twin beds and a fold away, bathroom clean but only shower. The breakfast is continental with plenty of coffee. The hotel is only about 400m from the beach. We stayed on 2nd floor with road balcony but some rooms on the 3rd floor have a lake view so ask for them if available. Bar is quiet if you want a drink. Plus the restaurants are just outside. All in all can't wait to go back.

Room Tip: ask for 2nd bathmat for shower
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RichardH823
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2012

By Dolores We stayed in the prince hotel frpm the 9th of June for a week. Great locatation and the staff were lovely and very helpful would deffinatley recommend the prince hotel to anyone. Would deffinatley go back.Two great ice-cream parlours beside the hotel you must try.Plenty of restaurants and a nice walk into the centre.

Room Tip: Try to get a room with a balancy
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GasworksBelfast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2012

Let me begin with the positives of this hotel. Friendly helpful staff, very clean and two minutes walk to the lake. On that it was a great stay, however the beds were like camp beds and by the end of the week could hardly move in the morning with backache. The road to the front is very busy but living in London this noise didn't bother us and could sleep with the doors open. Paid 5 euros for 24 hour wifi but this didn't reach the second floor but wasn't a problem. This hotel is a good 20 mins walk to the centre of riva and the ferry but such a lovely walk it didn't seem to matter and you can always hire a bike.
The owners of this hotel could do with refurbishing it the staff do there very best in what is an old hotel. We would stay again but only if the beds were changed, if you want a reasonable holiday to the lakes this is the place.

Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
1  Thank denizxxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2012

We stayed 2 nights (June 2012). Excellent location, friendly staff, very good bfast (compared with many other italian 3star hotels). Ask for 3rd floor lake view (room no. 324 or any other with large terrace – ca. 15 m2). They accepted small dogs. Room ok, shower, bathroom ok, clean = ok. We paid 80 eur/night (incl. bfast, dog, inet, parking.). Great gellateria next door!!! (wifi connection doesn´t reach 3rd floor – must go down, check out time 9.30 – prolonged till 10am; bfast = missing fresh vegetable…; but have wholecorn bread!!!).

Room Tip: Lake view, 3rd floor = 3 rooms have a laaaarge terrace :-) (no. 324 and 2 others)
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pamatu049
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Riva Del Garda hotels
0.3 mi away
Panoramic Hotel Benacus
Panoramic Hotel Benacus
#20 of 62 in Riva Del Garda
232 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Primo
Hotel Primo
#55 of 62 in Riva Del Garda
104 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Gabry
Hotel Gabry
#23 of 62 in Riva Del Garda
155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Brione
Hotel Brione
#36 of 62 in Riva Del Garda
209 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Vittoria
Hotel Vittoria
#16 of 62 in Riva Del Garda
321 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel Campagnola
Hotel Campagnola
#25 of 62 in Riva Del Garda
345 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Garni Prince? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Garni Prince

Address: Via Franz Kafka 1, 38066, Riva Del Garda, Italy
Region: Italy > Trentino-Alto Adige > Province of Trento > Riva Del Garda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #45 of 62 Hotels in Riva Del Garda
Price Range: £59 - £115 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Garni Prince 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel setting is one of the best in Riva del Garda; near the Saint Nicolò harbor, the Hotel is only 100mt. away from the beach, the windsurfing area and only a short walk from the city centre, near the shopping ways, the Restaurants and the beautiful walk along the lake. Elevator, parking, garage, bar, TV room . Rooms with bathroom, balcony, satellite TV, radio, telephone, safe, air conditioning, ceiling fan, mini-bar, WI-FI area. Parking-place guarantee at 300 mt. from the Hotel. In Hotel ONLY on request and reservation ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Garni Prince reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Garni Prince Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing