We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fantastic hotel, great staff and magnificent views!”
Review of Hotel Riviera

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Riviera
Ranked #30 of 62 Hotels in Riva Del Garda
Certificate of Excellence
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“fantastic hotel, great staff and magnificent views!”
Reviewed 9 September 2013

Have just returned home from a fabulous week staying at Hotel Riviera. The hotel was faultless and the staff could not be more helpful or friendly. Evening meal was great and the owner even got up at 5.30 am to see us off on our last day with a breakfast packed up for us! The location is just right - lovely stroll along the waterfront into Riva or the other way to Torbole and the views from our room overlooking the lake were amazing. I cannot wait to return. Even our teenage son enjoyed the whole holiday with loads to do on and around the lake.

Room Tip: Rooms on either side have great views - lake one way or mountains the other way!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lynn G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

133 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    64
    47
    19
    3
    0
See reviews for
34
74
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Gourock, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2013

Couldn't be faulted.
Had a front room with balcony and view over Lake Garda. The accommodation was modern and clean. The staff were very welcoming but not in any way intrusive. Breakfast had a good choice of hot and cold fare. Evening meal was four course and excellent every night. If I'd stayed longer I'd have had to drop a course or two, I must have put on pound or two. Wine and drinks were reasonable priced. Pool area well appointed and very clean.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank bazzer123us
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2013

just back from a week at the Riviera and had a great stay with the room overlooking the marina and great sights from the balcony ,a tip for visitors is take a pair of binoculars as you get fantastic views of all the boating on the lake the food was first class waiting staff were VERY Pleasant and helpful the hotel was spotless, clean towels put in your room every day even if you have an early trip or departure the owners always have a breakfast for you nothing in a problem and on the day of departure the owners came out to wish you a safe trip and thank you for staying WE WILL DEFINITELY BE GOING BACK

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank fiona_taylor192
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2013

We have just returned from our first holiday in Italy staying at the Riviera. Having read the mixed reviews before we went we were not too sure what to expect but we need not have worried. The hotel was spotlessly clean, in a great location and the owners and staff were brilliant. We suspect that some of the negative reviewers would complain about staying in the Hilton. We noticed that some of the reviews complained about the staff talking more to the German visitors - did they realise that in this part of Italy German is taught in the schools as a second language not English? Did they try to speak Italian? A few simple phrases go a long way. This is a three star hotel (could possibly be a four star?) and you get what you pay for. The room we stayed in was immaculate and the view from the large terrace we had was truly amazing. Our son is a very fussy eater and the staff went out of their way to make sure that there was something available for him to eat for dinner. The waitresses, Anna and Niki, were always friendly and attentive and we appreciated the Italian lessons during the meal! The buffet breakfast contained enough permutations to satisfy anyone. The nightcap in the bar was an experience as no measures were used and the gin and tonic arrived in a half pint glass! When we left the owners helped us with our luggage,shook our hands,said goodbye and waved us off. ( a nice personal touch). We will be back to Riva in the future and when we do we will stay at the Riviera again.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Colin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DirezioneRiviera, Proprietario at Hotel Riviera, responded to this review, 29 May 2013
Hello,

thank you very much for your review; it was a pleasure to met you, I hope to see you again soon!

Cristina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Okehampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2012

We just spent a week at the Riviera. The room we stayed in was small and basic but clean and if you like a firm mattress the bed is comfortable enough. The bathroom is a little on the small side but again clean and was sufficient for our needs. The staff are friendly but didn't seem to make a special effort to talk to you other than saying 'buon journo' and 'buena serra'. The food was a bit of a disappointment, not very 'Italian' and got a bit samy after a while. Pasta and soup for first course, meat or fish dish for main and a pudding. The home made cakes are very nice though (and you get a cake at the breakfast buffet every morning - nice). Breakfast generally was good with an ample choice. The biggest let down for us was the noise though, as the hotel is next to a busy main road into town. You either had to be hot (patio door closed) or could not sleep due to the nouise of passing cars and motor bikes when opening the patio door. This was not mentioned in any brochure or review about this hotel and had we known about it we would not have stayed here. You have the option of a room at the back, but if you want a Lake side view, just have to put up with it. Nevertheless many other guests we spoke to have been coming to the Riviera for years and are very happy! So maybe we are just a bit 'fussy'?

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room, but be perepared not to have a lake side view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chrissie143
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 September 2012 via mobile

We enjoyed a week at this hotel in September. The rooms are beautifully clean and well decorated. The service staff and manager are friendly and attentive. Meals were a buffet breakfast and a sit-down selection for the dinner. Food was different every night.

Manager was helpful and flexible about late arrivals and early starts and even gave us a refund on an evening meal as we had arrived too late to enjoy it.

There's free bikes to hire and a small gym downstairs. Across the road there's a nice private pool area.

Overall a lovely hotel which we would recommend.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Elaine R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunfermline
2 reviews
Reviewed 6 September 2012

The staff made this a very enjoyable holiday in an excellent hotel. We will definitely stay here again should we return to the area. The location is excellent for walks or cycling by the lake into Riva or Torbole. We arived very late on the first night (about midnight), too late for dinner. Although we had booked for dinner that evening we were not charged which we thought was very decent of them.

Room Tip: Rooms with a lake view are best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Riva Del Garda hotels
0.2 mi away
Panoramic Hotel Benacus
Panoramic Hotel Benacus
#22 of 62 in Riva Del Garda
211 reviews
0.0 mi away
LakeFront Hotel Mirage
LakeFront Hotel Mirage
#16 of 62 in Riva Del Garda
282 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Villa Enrica
Hotel Villa Enrica
#19 of 62 in Riva Del Garda
151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Ambassador Suite Aparthotel
Ambassador Suite Aparthotel
#21 of 62 in Riva Del Garda
197 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Brione
Hotel Brione
#38 of 62 in Riva Del Garda
199 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Gabry
Hotel Gabry
#27 of 62 in Riva Del Garda
144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Riviera? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Riviera

Property: Hotel Riviera
Address: Viale Rovereto 95, 38066, Riva Del Garda, Italy
Region: Italy > Trentino-Alto Adige > Province of Trento > Riva Del Garda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Spa Hotel in Riva Del Garda
#20 Romantic Hotel in Riva Del Garda
#22 Family Hotel in Riva Del Garda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Riviera 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Riviera reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riviera Hotel Riva Del Garda
Hotel Riviera Riva Del Garda/Nago, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing