We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Savoy Palace - TonelliHotels
Ranked #6 of 62 Hotels in Riva Del Garda
Certificate of Excellence
Newport Pagnell, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Superb hotel”
Reviewed 24 June 2011

All areas of the hotel were spotlessly clean, the staff very friendly and helpful, the evening meal with 5 courses was excellent and beautifully presented. Large bedrooms, good shower, views lovely, quiet location. The owner was in constant attendance, working on the new flower beds, and then joining guests in the evening in the dining room. Very good value for money and in my opinion one of the best 4 star hotels in the resort.

Room Tip: Ask for a lake view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rustyramblers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,333 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    888
    346
    72
    17
    10
See reviews for
451
592
35
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (299)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Stockport, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2011

We stayed at the Savoy Palace on the recommendation of a family member. From the moment we arrived in Verona to the minute we left, we had one the best holidays yet.

The Tonelli family and the staff at the hotel made us feel so welcome and nothing was too much trouble. From the receptionists, the waiting on and bar staff, housekeeping and maintenance, everyone has the same ethos - go the extra mile, and they did just that. The food was great - loads of choice and all of it first rate.

Arrived home yesterday (leaving Verona Airport is a bit of a mare - be warned!) and wish I was back there already. Looking to book with the same hotel next year - not done that before!!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Wildacre5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2011

Our thoughts on the Hotel Savoy Riva. EXCELLENT.
Staff friendly and helpful, even when they were very busy.
Hotel is clean and the gardens are very pretty.
Our room overlooked the mountains and lake (beautiful).
Food was great, breakfast was especially good, if you couldnt find anything that you liked then you would indeed be a sorry person as just about everything was available. The main meal involved 4 courses.
Very pleasant walk by the lake to the centre of Riva, there are plenty of seats on route if you want to stop and admire the beautiful surroundings.
We went on a trip to Venice, did a tour of the lakes by boat and the highlight for us was a trip to the Dolomites (sheer natural beauty).
Only down side was the lack of privacy from the balcony, ours was overlooked by the Hotel opposite, and there was no partition between ourselves and next door.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank dolofan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dundee
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2011

The hotel is rated a 4 star and certainly lives up to this rating. All the staff were very friendly and efficient: bar staff, waiters and reception staff. Our favourite waiter was Daniel who had a smile and friendly comment for everyone. Signor Tonelli, the hotel owner, frequently appeared to make an announcement or offer a friendly word. He also was often seen driving a fork-lift truck, cycling on a bike or driving in his red Ferrari!
The room we had was large and well furnished. The bath and shower were state of the art. The view from our balcony was stunning - looking directly at the nearby sheer mountains, which were amazing wherever viewed from.
The gardens were beautiful and well kept. Indoor and outdoor pools looked lovely and were never too busy. We had no problem getting sun loungers and didn't have to "book" with towels. The hotel provide towels for using at the pools.
The food was plentiful, good quality, well presented and varied in choice.
Having been round the entire lake, in our opinion the north end is the most stunning for views. However, there are many lovely areas to visit, each with there own character. The Savoy Palace is 2 minutes walk to the lake side and walking in either direction is a must see/do experience. It takes about 25 minutes to walk to Riva which is the main town in the area. You can either follow the lake side footpath or take the main road. Torbole, in the opposite direction is also a lovely walk which takes about 30 minutes, ambling. One thing which struck me was how clean the roads, harbour areas were, with sweepers/cleaners out from early morning.
Our package deal included day trips round the lake, Dolomite Mountains, Venice and Verona. We chose not to take the mountain trip as we wanted to take an extra day doing "our own thing". We thoroughly enjoyed the other 3. The trip to Venice is a long day, but well worth the early start.
Our transfer was from Milan Malpensa and due to traffic congestion in Milan took 4 hours! This meant we did not arrive at the hotel until 11pm. However, we were given a cold buffet. Our return transfer still took 3 hours. If possible, fly to Verona airport which is a lot nearer.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank lizzumba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2011

We stayed for one week at the beginning of May 2011. Unfortunately when booking with Thomsons we were not advised that our week was classed as pre-season in this hotel and the hotel was not operating fully. We had no air-con and temperatures of 24, reception advised it was not turned on until 15th June. The poolside snack bar was not open until later in May. The service in the restaurant was very slow, especially if you were not with one of the guided tours. I agree with other reviews that the public areas are beautiful but the bedrooms, although very clean, are a little tired and showing signs of wear and tear. We had cracked tiles in the bathroom and a damaged shade on the bedside lamp, amongst other things. The saving grace for this hotel is the calibre of their reception staff and the bar staff, especially Alessandro.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cazzer28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yorkshire UK
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2011

We stayed in the Savoy Palace end of April early May as part of our tour to Venice, Verona, Lake Garda and the Dolomites. We had a good room looking out on the mountains with a spa bath, shower, bidet etc. (the spa bath did not strike up at all during our stay but we hadn't asked for the spa bath so it may well have been an extra). The room was a good size and style and clean at all times. We did ask for somone to look at the spa but nothing happened.
The meals were on the whole excellent with the traditional Italian 5 courses, Soup Antipasti, pasta (or other) main and dessert each evening. Small carafes of house wine were available quite cheaply but not very palatable but the bottles were held out a much better range and you could keep half a bottle for the next night (good if only one person drinks wine). The brakfsts were very varied with bacon and tomatoes daily plus various eggs and odd vegetables warm. The cold selection was extensive with many cheeses, meats, breads, cereals, yoghourt and fruit available. All in all very good fare. The only drawbacks were that the Tonnelli family owners are obviously much more ussed to German visitors and the hotel is very much geared to them the brochures of places of interest etc were all in Italian and German. The Television consisted to Italian and German programmes in equal proportions, althouhg to give them credit on the last couple of days we finally got BBC world news and CNN - far too late for the Royal wedding! Hopefully the family owners will have got to grips with these small irritations during the season.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank yorkiehols
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 February 2011

This was our first experience of holidaying abroad with our baby, we found this hotel very relaxing with lovely staff, we had paid extra to be upgraded and our room was nice but the air conditioning was poor, the outdoor pool was asbsolutely freezing. We stayed on a half baord basis which suited us very well and took the stress out of finding places to eat with our baby, we got assigned our table on night one and it was a very suitable table so that if our baby cried we would not disturb people. The food was fine and the wine was very reasonable priced,there was nightly entertainment also. The hotel owner seem to be around alot and the staff were all very helpful.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mar078
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Riva Del Garda
0.2 mi away
Hotel Kristal Palace - Tonelli Hotels
0.6 mi away
Lido Palace
Lido Palace
#3 of 62 in Riva Del Garda
604 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Garda - TonelliHotels
Hotel Garda - TonelliHotels
#7 of 62 in Riva Del Garda
699 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Luise
Hotel Luise
#2 of 62 in Riva Del Garda
630 reviews
1.0 mi away
Astoria Park Hotel SPA Resort
Astoria Park Hotel SPA Resort
#10 of 62 in Riva Del Garda
832 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Lago di Garda
Hotel Lago di Garda
#3 of 33 in Torbole
987 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Savoy Palace - TonelliHotels? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Savoy Palace - TonelliHotels

Property: Hotel Savoy Palace - TonelliHotels
Address: Via Longa 10, 38066, Riva Del Garda, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Trentino-Alto Adige > Province of Trento > Riva Del Garda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Riva Del Garda
#5 Business Hotel in Riva Del Garda
#6 Luxury Hotel in Riva Del Garda
#7 Romantic Hotel in Riva Del Garda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Savoy Palace - TonelliHotels 4*
Number of rooms: 190
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Savoy Palace - TonelliHotels reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Savoy Palace - TonelliHotels Riva Del Garda/Nago, Italy
Savoy Palace Riva Del Garda

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing