We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Very Pleasant Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Savoy Palace - TonelliHotels
Ranked #6 of 62 Hotels in Riva Del Garda
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 October 2011

Stayed at the hotel for 7 nights end September/early October 2011 with Riviera Tour group.
Large but very clean and friendly hotel. Had a pleasant room with balcony overlooking lake (although distant lake view somewhat obscured by hotel in front).
Be aware there seems to be a state/local ordinance rule that without exception hotel air conditioning units are to be turned off about Sept 20th to save energy - the 'official' start of winter! In the Savoy rooms facing toward lake get full afternoon sun and it was very sunny during our visit (but not complaining!). Hotel supplied a fan which we ran at night with balcony door open although we closed this if we went to bed early evening due some noise from patio area below (otherwise all quiet at night during our visit). Those in rear or side rooms were cooler and views still reported as good and were quieter.
Decent bathroom with shower cubicle, bidet, loo etc.
Free help yourself afternoon tea served for an hour late afternoon. Large inside and outside seating areas - lovely pool at the side but did not use.
Good breakfast choices with fruits, breads, cold meats and hot choices even with fried eggs cooked to order if requested. Being part of a tour we chose from a dinner menu each morning for that evening's meal (served as you liked 7 to 9pm with most folk seems to go there 7-7.30). Soup and salad starters are serve yourself and you then select from a choice of 3 to 4 starters, mains and deserts - good choices all cooked well and served to your table by very pleasant staff. Reckon to spend say an additional average of 10 Euros each evening for two people for wine and bottled water. Live piano music played during evening meal and Hotel owner dropped by tables most evenings.
Hotel was split roughly 50/50 Brits and Germans during our stay with most on average of the older generation.
The hotel is just outside the town but a very pleasant 15 - 20 minute lakeside walk takes you into the town (note the mountain to the west causes the town hotels to go into shade late afternoon whilst Savoy Palace stays in sun for longer). The ferry station at Rive will get you to any of the other big towns around the lake.
All in all a lovely visit - well recommended and thank you Riviera and the Savoy Palace.

Room Tip: Check air con will be running if booking late September/October otherwise if weather expected to be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
19  Thank royt974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,377)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

634 - 640 of 1,378 reviews

Reviewed 26 September 2011

Fron the moment we walked through the doors we knew it would be good, From the efficiency of the receptionist and no hassle booking in to the cleanliness of the rooms.
Then the added touches of tea and cake in the afternoon and wine and water with your meal. The entertainment was good and the personal touch of Mr Tonelli overseeing and mingling with the residents. Very nice, definately a lets go again hotel.

Room Tip: If you prefer morning sun ask for a south or east facing room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
13  Thank Joyce1956
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2011

We stayed at the Savoy Palace booked through Riviera Travel. Thanks to both companies we had a great holiday. The hotel is in a good location away from hustle and bustle but not too far from Riva centre and lovely strolls along the lakeside. The Hotel itself is spacious and clean great facilities and friendly helpful staff. The food is well varied both on the buffet and evening meal table service, our waiter Daniel was supurb. The hotel owner was always on hand and took part in making sure everyone was enjoying themselves. We will look forward to staying there again sometime!

Room Tip: front rooms level 4 or 5 have some lake view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank grace w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2011

Lovely hotel - spacious rooms with balconies with good views all round of the mountains.
Food was very good with plenty of choices and friendly and attentive waiters.
Entertainment outside on the beautiful terrace with dancing.
Very short stroll to the beautiful lakeside.
Highly recommend this very spacious and friendly hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Susan E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2011

Had a great stay at this very clean and efficient hotel. Attentive, friendly staff, great pools, good food. The hotel owner was in the dining room every night and visited every table to make sure everything was ok for us. The setting is lovely with views of the mountains around us, and the short walk into the town was great. The free bike hire for 3 hours was a bonus. One tip, if you want to swim in Lake Garda take some beach shoes with you or buy some in the shops there, as the shoreline is very shingly and the rocks can be a bit slippy. Would love to stay again and explore more of the area.

Room Tip: The higher 5th floor rooms have the best view of the lake
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank lakelovers5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2011

Hotel is in good location with attractive lakeside walk into the lovely lakeside square of Riva, leading to the many quaint streets of the old town. Our visit was with Riviera Tours (also first class) and the service from all of the hotel staff was excellent. The choice of food was varied and the quality good. A good choice of wine, cocktails and bar drinks were available at reasonable prices. Live music for dancing or just enjoying under the stars was provided each evening. A good sized swimming pool with ample sun loungers allowed us to relax during the days we were free. Snr. Tonelli was always around to ensure everything ran smoothly.
We had a very enjoyable holiday and hope to return soon.

Room Tip: First floor rear offers good facilities, pleasant views and is very peaceful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank worldtraveller635920
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2011

I stayed here with my boyfriend for the first week of September- We got a halfboard package holiday.

It deserves its 4 stars- the room we got was very spacious, wooden floor (or some very convincing lino) balcony, jacuzzi and strong shower, flat screen tv (although most of the channels are german!) impressive vanity dressing table. The staff are great fun- some real characters. There is wireless internet in the rooms, and its a good speed too!

The indoor pool is medium sized and impressive with sauna, solarium and small gym. Good sized outdoor pool with jacuzzi.

The food was good quality- nice variation for dinner each evening, and nice staff.

The owner parks his fancy ferrari on carpet in its own room that you can see into on the ground floor!!

I'll be reccommeding it to my friends and parents!

Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
4  Thank kerrydee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Riva Del Garda hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Kristal Palace - Tonelli Hotels
0.6 mi away
Lido Palace
Lido Palace
#3 of 62 in Riva Del Garda
631 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Garda - TonelliHotels
Hotel Garda - TonelliHotels
#7 of 62 in Riva Del Garda
719 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Luise
Hotel Luise
#2 of 62 in Riva Del Garda
661 reviews
1.0 mi away
Astoria Park Hotel SPA Resort
Astoria Park Hotel SPA Resort
#11 of 62 in Riva Del Garda
878 reviews
0.2 mi away
Parc Hotel Flora
Parc Hotel Flora
#5 of 62 in Riva Del Garda
533 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Savoy Palace - TonelliHotels? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Savoy Palace - TonelliHotels

Address: Via Longa 10, 38066, Riva Del Garda, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Trentino-Alto Adige > Province of Trento > Riva Del Garda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Riva Del Garda
#5 Business Hotel in Riva Del Garda
#6 Luxury Hotel in Riva Del Garda
#7 Romantic Hotel in Riva Del Garda
Price Range: £114 - £145 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Savoy Palace - TonelliHotels 4*
Number of rooms: 190
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, LateRooms, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Savoy Palace - TonelliHotels reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Savoy Palace
Savoy Palace Riva Del Garda

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing