We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An unexpected treat”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Savoy Palace - TonelliHotels
Ranked #6 of 62 Hotels in Riva Del Garda
Certificate of Excellence
Maidstone, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“An unexpected treat”
Reviewed 9 October 2013

We had a surprisingly good stay at this hotel which was part of an up-graded package with Riviera Travel,. We had seen some reviews on TripAdvisor from a minority who seemed to have had a poor experience especially with a package holiday. However we had very good service especially with the food, half-board included. This is a largish hotel where most of the guests are with packages, mainly German during our stay, and therefore arrive in large buses which means there are brief busy periods on arrival and departure. Coaches could be encouraged to switch off engines as they park next to the hotel and can be heard in the rooms.
However the room we had on the 5th floor was clean, and then well kept. It had a balcony overlooking the rear of the town of Riva Del Garda and the surrounding mountains, often covered in mist (this was beginning of Oct).
The food was for a hotel of this size and the number of guest very good indeed. The dinners always had 5 courses, soup, salad bar, a first plate and a main plate and dessert. I am a vegi and they took care to provide me with a selection of alternatives and would cook food for me.
After food we were invited 3/4 evenings for a cocktail on the house, usually in part served by the owner 'Peter' who was around a lot of the time, as he has other premises I wondered if he was staying in the hotel which also includes his Ferrari. We in the mean time were offered hotel bikes for free. The music was live, not to my taste, often played on an electric piano with a 'beat'. We did have two choirs, one German and one Italian.
This was a good holiday extremely well organised by Riveria and topped off by the staff at the Savoy. Well worth upgrading for. Thanks

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Alex T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,305 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    865
    343
    71
    16
    10
See reviews for
437
580
33
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (292)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2013

Stayed 30th September - 7th October 2013 on the Riviera – Lake Garda, Venice and Verona tour.

I would guess most people in the UK looking for a review of this hotel on Tripadvisor, are looking to book through either Riviera or Newmarket. With this in mind, I intend to split this review in to two sections.

Savoy Palace

In my opinion, definitely a 4 star hotel. Even though we went towards the end of the season, the room that we had was still very clean and fresh, and really well serviced every day. You will hear talk of de-lux rooms on the first floor, yes there are, but the other 4 floors are where the tour groups stay. Unless you pay extra, it is a lottery to whether you get a lake view room. We didn't, but had an excellent view of the mountains instead. There are no tea making facilities in the room, but there is a mini-bar and fridge.

The hotel is situated back from the lake, a 5 minute stroll to the lake edge, and 15-20 minutes into the centre of Riva Del Garda.

The Savoy has an excellent and large restaurant. Tour groups are sat in designated areas, but tables for two are not a problem for those that prefer them.

Food is a bit Nouveau Cuisine and cooked really well. Quality is paramount and the choosing of your evening meal at breakfast from an ever changing menu, is the way they achieve this.

The evening meal consists of 4 courses -

Course 1 – A help yourself to all you can eat salad bar, or a soup (you could have both)

Course 2 – Choice of at least 3 Italian Pasta or Specialities

Course 3 – Choice of at least 3 mains (Meat, fish or vegetarian)

Course 4 – Choice of at least 3 puds.

Courses 2 – 4 are not large platefuls, but by the end of the meal you are well fed.

The waiters and kitchen are very obliging, I don't like cheese (not a good thing to dislike in Italy), but they always made sure cheese didn't appear on my plate.

Breakfast is excellent, what you would expect from an international hotel, salami and cheese through to eggs and bacon and plenty of cereals and fruit. Plenty of choice for everyone.

Drinks are cheaper than surrounding cafe/bars. Half litre of wine €6, beer €3.5 and soft drinks €2.5. Cocktails not bad either at around €7.

The grounds of this hotel are kept immaculate as are the outdoor and indoor pools.

Only downside was the evening entertainment, a very hit and miss singer/keyboard player. Although one night we did have a couple of fantastic choirs.

You won't miss "Mr Tonelli" the owner/manager, he seems to be there 24 hours a day making sure all is perfect. A really friendly and likeable character. Look out for his special themed nights with free pre-dinner drink, and also have a sit in his pride and joy, his Ferrari.

Riviera Travel

Just remember the name “Werner”, if you are lucky enough to have him as your guide for the week, you are in for a treat. He has a wicked sense of humour, likes his food (go with his recommendations on lunchtime venues), and has eyes in the back of his head, always making sure that his clients are never left behind and are enjoying themselves

You cannot fault what Riviera offers, the trips are well planned, organised and very educational. I cannot comment on the other hotels they offer for this trip, but would guess the more you pay, the better the service. But everyone is treated exactly the same on the trips.

Only one warning, the dates we went on, we saw virtually no sun, even on the trips (except the Dolomites) and it was quite chilly with lots of rain.

Luckily the professionalism of Riviera, still meant that we had a good holiday.

Oh, and I nearly forgot, being with a party meant that we met some really nice people and had some great laughs …...........

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank JohnRNash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yorkshire
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 October 2013

We had a wonderful 7 night stay in September. The food was excellent, four choices of each course of lovely Italian food. I cannot believe some of the reviews I have read, the service was very good; the staff were very friendly. There is a nice patio area for drinks in the evening.
This is a busy hotel used by tour companies so it will always be busy but it never felt crowded.
Yes it is a 20 minute walk into central Riva.......along the lake shore path fringed by trees and flower beds! with seats every 100 yards and with breathtaking views!
My niggles were hairline cracks in the bathroom sink, there was also an occasional smell from the drain; a large crack in the bathroom floor tiles. Our room was not serviced on one occasion.
Despite this and on my experience of my stay I would recommend this hotel

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank barfin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2013

Very clean and comfortable hotel excellent service especially dining room staff food very good would go again riva del Garda is lovely so relaxing by the lake would recommend savoy palace to anyone was on 4th floor great views over mountains just see lake through trees and hotels .

Room Tip: 4th floor and above give better views
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mavis N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2013

Myself + my fiance stayed at Hotel Savoy Palace for 1 week in September, we requested a mountain view room prior to arrival and we got a lovely room on first floor with a big balcony with a view of mountains. The hotel is a 3 minute walk to the pretty promenade + a 15 minute walk into the centre of riva. We were very happy with the hotel because of its ideal location + all it included. we were on a half board basis + so we got our breakfast + dinner each day + the choice + variety of food was excellent, especially considering i am a vegetarian. we got .5l wine + .5l water every night with our dinner + between 4-5pm there is free coffee, cake, fruit + juice, there is music every evening and free bicycle rental which we really availed of, they say you can only take the bikes for 3hrs but we had them up to 8 hrs a day + nothing was said!
We couldn't fault the hotel and staff were accomodating + helpful but if we had to be picky, we would have to say the age group in the hotel is really geared at the 45+ age group + so the bar was very quiet in the evening + generally riva is also quiet in the evening and there isn't much to do, that would be the only thing we could nit pick at. The owner of the hotel is there everyday + is very much involved he came a few nights to greet guests at dinner + on two occasions we were invited to the bar after dinner for a free drink which is a nice gesture. A lovely hotel with good location + alot included, just maybe reconsider if your under 45

Room Tip: request a mountain view room and say it is for a special occasion, this is what we did and we realis...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank EveDoyle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chichester, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 September 2013

A very pleasant hotel in quiet location a short walk from the lakeside. We were in a basic room probably in the worst location on first floor above reception which is a car park and mountain view. Despite that it was very comfortable and had no disturbance at all. Being on a package deal we were just probably unlucky to be last in the queue for the room keys. Upgrade to a lake view if you want a balcony overlooking the swimming pool in full sun.
Thr staff were helpful and the breakfast and evening meals were varied and good quality. Lovely terrace for coffees and drnks in evening with live music. Clients predominantly over 40's. A very relaxing place to be.

Room Tip: Lake view at highest level obviously the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Louise S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2013

This is the 2nd time I have been to riva del garda and I just adore it, it is beyond beautiful.

The savoy palace was a comfortable hotel and no more really. We changed rooms on the 2nd day as our 1st one was small and on the end corner over looking the road.
Our 2nd room was nice in the centre at the back and they put a nice cot with lovely baby bedding in for our little girl.

The pool area is nice with great sunbeds that shade your head if you want to.

Our view was to the back but was stunning, we stayed in the middle of the hotel and we had a room next to the lift which was actually great as it was a bit bigger. Nice balcony.

To improve this hotel it needs a bit of work in the room decor (get rid of the massive flower lamps!) and a small baby splash pool would be fantastic as it is a family hotel.

It is quite far from the ferry point in the centre of riva, a good 20-25 mins walk but is close to the lake at other parts.

We hired bikes and I just loved it.

The food was hit and miss, I had the best lasagne I've ever had but then also had the most disgusting meal I've ever had in my life, a chicken and pineapple dish. But overall good.

I'd go to lake garda every year if I could but I'm not sure I'd return to the savoy palace without some improvements.

Weather was fab and we visited other towns which are also stunning.

Everyone should go to lake garda!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sallygouge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Riva Del Garda
0.6 mi away
Lido Palace
Lido Palace
#1 of 62 in Riva Del Garda
590 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Kristal Palace - Tonelli Hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Garda - TonelliHotels
Hotel Garda - TonelliHotels
#7 of 62 in Riva Del Garda
683 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Luise
Hotel Luise
#2 of 62 in Riva Del Garda
616 reviews
1.0 mi away
Astoria Park Hotel SPA Resort
Astoria Park Hotel SPA Resort
#10 of 62 in Riva Del Garda
806 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Lago di Garda
Hotel Lago di Garda
#2 of 33 in Torbole
957 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Savoy Palace - TonelliHotels? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Savoy Palace - TonelliHotels

Property: Hotel Savoy Palace - TonelliHotels
Address: Via Longa 10, 38066, Riva Del Garda, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Trentino-Alto Adige > Province of Trento > Riva Del Garda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Riva Del Garda
#5 Business Hotel in Riva Del Garda
#6 Luxury Hotel in Riva Del Garda
#7 Romantic Hotel in Riva Del Garda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Savoy Palace - TonelliHotels 4*
Number of rooms: 190
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Hotel.de, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Savoy Palace - TonelliHotels reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Savoy Palace - TonelliHotels Riva Del Garda/Nago, Italy
Savoy Palace Riva Del Garda

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing