We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“just booked again”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Savoy Palace - TonelliHotels
Ranked #6 of 62 Hotels in Riva Del Garda
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 November 2013

we stayed at this hotel 2 years ago and we have just booked it again
there is only one word to say for this hotel
FANTASTIC
all the staff were very pleasant and helpful,thats why we are going back again

Room Tip: we stayed in a front view room but what ever room you its got great views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank motorsportmarshal61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,398)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

475 - 481 of 1,398 reviews

Reviewed 25 October 2013

We arrived on the 14th October with Riviera Travel.The room was adequate - I know other reviewers have said the rooms are dated but everything was imaculate, the shower worked, the TV worked, we had a balcony. The food was fantastic, something for everyone. The staff were so obliging - I'm sure this comes from the top - Mr Tonneli - he was so hands on and every evening we had a themed evening in the bar.Would certainly go back again.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank suefischer2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2013

We stayed at the hotel (we were on a package with Riviera) and we really enjoyed our stay. Although the hotel is large, it never felt like that and the staff was lovely, friendly and cheerful. Breakfast and evening meals were excellent with a really good choice and afternoon tea on the terrace - a free extra - was an unexpected treat as were the owner's invitations to a cocktail in the bar most evenings.

Bicycles can be rented for free and the walk into the old town of Riva along the lake shore is wonderful. Although we were there mid-October we had excellent weather and sunshine every day.

The owner seemed to be around most of the time, often actually working with his staff, and this underlined the feel of a family hotel.

Our room was huge and we had a lovely mountain view from our balcony.
I would stay there again.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank krakow29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2013

Hotel Savoy Palace is in an excellent spot at Riva del Garda. The staff members are great, especially Ana. Peter Tonnelli, the owner makes an appearance every day and includes his staff in his introductions. He is also generous with 'extras' following the evening meal. The food is good, fresh and plentiful. As in most of Italy, vegetarians sometimes find it difficult to have a main course but there is always an alternative offered and the staff care enough to make sure they are well fed! Free hire bikes. Good value for money through Riviera holidays.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Elizabeth W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2013

We had a surprisingly good stay at this hotel which was part of an up-graded package with Riviera Travel,. We had seen some reviews on TripAdvisor from a minority who seemed to have had a poor experience especially with a package holiday. However we had very good service especially with the food, half-board included. This is a largish hotel where most of the guests are with packages, mainly German during our stay, and therefore arrive in large buses which means there are brief busy periods on arrival and departure. Coaches could be encouraged to switch off engines as they park next to the hotel and can be heard in the rooms.
However the room we had on the 5th floor was clean, and then well kept. It had a balcony overlooking the rear of the town of Riva Del Garda and the surrounding mountains, often covered in mist (this was beginning of Oct).
The food was for a hotel of this size and the number of guest very good indeed. The dinners always had 5 courses, soup, salad bar, a first plate and a main plate and dessert. I am a vegi and they took care to provide me with a selection of alternatives and would cook food for me.
After food we were invited 3/4 evenings for a cocktail on the house, usually in part served by the owner 'Peter' who was around a lot of the time, as he has other premises I wondered if he was staying in the hotel which also includes his Ferrari. We in the mean time were offered hotel bikes for free. The music was live, not to my taste, often played on an electric piano with a 'beat'. We did have two choirs, one German and one Italian.
This was a good holiday extremely well organised by Riveria and topped off by the staff at the Savoy. Well worth upgrading for. Thanks

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Alex T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2013

Stayed 30th September - 7th October 2013 on the Riviera – Lake Garda, Venice and Verona tour.

I would guess most people in the UK looking for a review of this hotel on Tripadvisor, are looking to book through either Riviera or Newmarket. With this in mind, I intend to split this review in to two sections.

Savoy Palace

In my opinion, definitely a 4 star hotel. Even though we went towards the end of the season, the room that we had was still very clean and fresh, and really well serviced every day. You will hear talk of de-lux rooms on the first floor, yes there are, but the other 4 floors are where the tour groups stay. Unless you pay extra, it is a lottery to whether you get a lake view room. We didn't, but had an excellent view of the mountains instead. There are no tea making facilities in the room, but there is a mini-bar and fridge.

The hotel is situated back from the lake, a 5 minute stroll to the lake edge, and 15-20 minutes into the centre of Riva Del Garda.

The Savoy has an excellent and large restaurant. Tour groups are sat in designated areas, but tables for two are not a problem for those that prefer them.

Food is a bit Nouveau Cuisine and cooked really well. Quality is paramount and the choosing of your evening meal at breakfast from an ever changing menu, is the way they achieve this.

The evening meal consists of 4 courses -

Course 1 – A help yourself to all you can eat salad bar, or a soup (you could have both)

Course 2 – Choice of at least 3 Italian Pasta or Specialities

Course 3 – Choice of at least 3 mains (Meat, fish or vegetarian)

Course 4 – Choice of at least 3 puds.

Courses 2 – 4 are not large platefuls, but by the end of the meal you are well fed.

The waiters and kitchen are very obliging, I don't like cheese (not a good thing to dislike in Italy), but they always made sure cheese didn't appear on my plate.

Breakfast is excellent, what you would expect from an international hotel, salami and cheese through to eggs and bacon and plenty of cereals and fruit. Plenty of choice for everyone.

Drinks are cheaper than surrounding cafe/bars. Half litre of wine €6, beer €3.5 and soft drinks €2.5. Cocktails not bad either at around €7.

The grounds of this hotel are kept immaculate as are the outdoor and indoor pools.

Only downside was the evening entertainment, a very hit and miss singer/keyboard player. Although one night we did have a couple of fantastic choirs.

You won't miss "Mr Tonelli" the owner/manager, he seems to be there 24 hours a day making sure all is perfect. A really friendly and likeable character. Look out for his special themed nights with free pre-dinner drink, and also have a sit in his pride and joy, his Ferrari.

Riviera Travel

Just remember the name “Werner”, if you are lucky enough to have him as your guide for the week, you are in for a treat. He has a wicked sense of humour, likes his food (go with his recommendations on lunchtime venues), and has eyes in the back of his head, always making sure that his clients are never left behind and are enjoying themselves

You cannot fault what Riviera offers, the trips are well planned, organised and very educational. I cannot comment on the other hotels they offer for this trip, but would guess the more you pay, the better the service. But everyone is treated exactly the same on the trips.

Only one warning, the dates we went on, we saw virtually no sun, even on the trips (except the Dolomites) and it was quite chilly with lots of rain.

Luckily the professionalism of Riviera, still meant that we had a good holiday.

Oh, and I nearly forgot, being with a party meant that we met some really nice people and had some great laughs …...........

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank JohnRNash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2013

We had a wonderful 7 night stay in September. The food was excellent, four choices of each course of lovely Italian food. I cannot believe some of the reviews I have read, the service was very good; the staff were very friendly. There is a nice patio area for drinks in the evening.
This is a busy hotel used by tour companies so it will always be busy but it never felt crowded.
Yes it is a 20 minute walk into central Riva.......along the lake shore path fringed by trees and flower beds! with seats every 100 yards and with breathtaking views!
My niggles were hairline cracks in the bathroom sink, there was also an occasional smell from the drain; a large crack in the bathroom floor tiles. Our room was not serviced on one occasion.
Despite this and on my experience of my stay I would recommend this hotel

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank barfin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Riva Del Garda hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Kristal Palace - Tonelli Hotels
0.6 mi away
Lido Palace
Lido Palace
#2 of 62 in Riva Del Garda
660 reviews
0.7 mi away
Grand Hotel Liberty
Grand Hotel Liberty
#13 of 62 in Riva Del Garda
1,267 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Parc Hotel Flora
Parc Hotel Flora
#5 of 62 in Riva Del Garda
563 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Garda - TonelliHotels
Hotel Garda - TonelliHotels
#7 of 62 in Riva Del Garda
720 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Luise
Hotel Luise
#3 of 62 in Riva Del Garda
676 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Savoy Palace - TonelliHotels? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Savoy Palace - TonelliHotels

Address: Via Longa 10, 38066, Riva Del Garda, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Trentino-Alto Adige > Province of Trento > Riva Del Garda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Riva Del Garda
#5 Business Hotel in Riva Del Garda
#6 Luxury Hotel in Riva Del Garda
#7 Romantic Hotel in Riva Del Garda
Price Range: £129 - £259 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Savoy Palace - TonelliHotels 4*
Number of rooms: 190
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Savoy Palace - TonelliHotels reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Savoy Palace
Savoy Palace Riva Del Garda

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing