We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great hotel.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Savoy Palace - TonelliHotels

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Savoy Palace - TonelliHotels
Ranked #6 of 62 Hotels in Riva Del Garda
Certificate of Excellence
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great hotel.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2014

Just back from a week at the Savoy Palace Hotel in Riva Del Garda and have to say the hotel lived up to my expectations. The room was lovely with an amazing amount of storage space and plenty of clothes hangers too. Lovely bathroom with a bidet, and towels changed very often. Very comfy beds.
Everywhere in and outside of the hotel was spotlessly clean and excellently maintained. The staff are all extremely helpful and pleasant and have been there for a long time, which I think is always a good sign. They couldn't do enough for their guests and they made a real fuss of two of my travelling companions who have been there many times before. They treated them like celebrities and made them feel very special.
The food was plentiful and very nice indeed. I could have spent hours in the dining room at breakfast time; there was just so much choice! Coffee and cake on an afternoon was a fabulous extra too. Dinner was lovely with waiter service and everywhere you turned you saw happy smiling faces.
Not having to take our own towels for by the pool certainly was a bonus as the hotel provided them for us.
The owner was very much a hands-on boss. He spoke to all the guests and was seen helping around the dining hall if he saw something that needed doing. On an evening there was often a free drink provided along with the entertainment. There was a casino night and a Ferrari night as well as live music to name but a few things.
All in all, a truly lovely hotel. I definitely would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Angela H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,221 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    799
    328
    68
    16
    10
See reviews for
414
542
28
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (274)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Perth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2014 via mobile

Just came back from1 weeks holiday travelling with Riviera Travel. Hotel was lovely , we had a great room (311) overlooking the front of the hotel. Room was big and very clean with towels changed every day and they even supplied different pool towels.
Food was great if not always very hot and waiter service lovely. Most of the staff were very friendly.
Lovely Wendy made all the trips really interesting and enjoyed them all and met some lovely people.
Weather was a bit changeable with thunderstorms but when the sun came out it was hot.
Last night was a bit of a blip, waited 25 minutes for drinks and meal but think they were really busy.
Only bad thing about this holiday was Venice Airport bit of a nightmare, slow, no signs indicating where to go for stairs or departure gates but we got on plane eventually.
Brilliant holiday

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank anonymous186565
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taunton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2014

We've just returned from 8 days holiday (Half-Board) and thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Hotel Savoy Palace. We stayed in a Lake View Room and enjoyed the little touches of the bowl of fruit, refreshment facilities and bottle of bubbly on arrival. The friendly service of the staff, lovely food and wide variety of menu choices each day added to the enjoyment of the holiday. The hotel facilities of the indoor and outdoor swimming pools were lovely. This hotel has staff who go that extra mile to ensure your stay is made as enjoyable as possible. Well Done Hotel Savoy Palace! Cleanliness of the rooms was excellent. The bathroom was a little dated, the hair dryer was not adequate and positioned in the bathroom and only had one setting. The scenery on Lake Garda is just beautiful. A holiday full of fantastic memories!

Room Tip: Make sure you request a room with a good view of the lake, ours was limited. Also our room had a sh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Northy2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2014

We have just returned after a week at the Savoy Palace Hotel, Riva. It was a super experience. The staff could not do enough to make our stay brilliant. This included, even the owner, (Pietro) who welcomed all new visitors and thanked guests for using the hotel and saying bye on departure. The food was good with a nice selection and if there was nothing on the menu which appealed they would ensure that we were accommodated willingly and happily. Nightly entertainment enhanced our stay with good company. The room was good, although perhaps this is the reason I can't give 5. Perhaps a little modernisation would benefit but linen and towels changed every day and cleaned to high standard as well. I would definitely recommend the hotel and would return at some stage in the future.

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor overlooking the lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Amor613
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2014

Just returned from a week's stay (B&B) at the Savoy Palace, having booked family room directly with hotel and would happily return in a heartbeat without a moment's hesitation. Relative to other Lake Garda area accommodation, it's at the mid point price range and in terms of quality and value for money, punches well above its weight in that category. Located on the outer fringes of Riva but with plenty of restaurants etc in the vicinity and the town is a pleasant walk (10 - 15 mins) along the lakeside, even quicker if you avail of the free bikes. The hotel with plenty of parking, is just off main road which is good for avoiding noise although that means its also a few hundred yards back from the lake itself. Shows all the signs (regular cleaning, well presented, friendly service etc) of being a well run ship, that's visited regularly by Mr. Tonelli, a justifiably proud captain/owner. Water in the outdoor pool(s) a little on the cool side but you get used to it, no problem with sun beds and there's an indoor pool too. Breakfast very good and the afternoon tea with pastries is a nice touch that in a way is indicative of how good the place is!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank macseknj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
County Donegal, Ireland
Level Contributor
36 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2014

Just back from a lovely stay in the Savoy Palace and really enjoyed it.

Pros:
* Stunning jaw dropping views of the mountains from our room (203) and from the pool!
* Beautiful pool, very clean.
* Completely spotless everywhere.
* Great balcony with our room.
* Lovely location off the noisy main road near lake shore with beautiful walkways and activities nearby.
* Friendly staff, very accommodating, I can't remember the name of our waiter but he moved us into the conservatory on day two which made our stay!
* Breakfast was superb
* Half board included dinner,something different every night with an all you eat salad buffet before dinner
* Free bikes
* Cocktails in bar were lovely

Cons ( but just nit picking as we really enjoyed our stay!)
* It's a pity there isn't a separate children's pool (only a minor issue as it was very beautiful) but for couples it could get a bit annoying with children jumping in on top of you constantly. (Tip lunch time is a lovely quiet time to use it.)

* It's located a little out of the characterful old center of Riva in the newer part of the town. This wasn't a problem for us and we used their free bikes whenever we went into town. Anyways the lakeshore walkway is stunning when you do go into the center and was always a highlight going along it.

*The hotel did try to organise night time entertainment and in fairness it was one of only a few hotels offering entertainment at night but we felt it was more suited to the older guests but it was very relaxing to sit in the bar at night a listen to the music.
* twin beds instead of doubles (just a pet hate of mine)

All in all I'd recommend the hotel and we really enjoyed our stay we would definitely come back.

Room Tip: Our room (203) and the rooms directly above us were at the corner of the hotel so our balcony was sl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bluelillydee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2014

We stayed at the Savoy for a week following a very last-minute booking, and were not disappointed! The hotel itself is clean and spacious; the rooms (although we weren't in them very much due to lots of activity around Lake Garda!) were cleaned promptly every day by lovely staff who were always friendly and helpful and they were bright with balconies overlooking the mountains in Riva. The pools were both good (albeit a little cold at times!) and we very much enjoyed the games room on a wet day. The hotel also allows you to hire out bikes which we absolutely loved, and it was a wonderful bonus that this came within the price of our stay as normally this would not be the case with most.

The food is just fantastic - full of variety and different dishes that we had never tried before. There was never any scrimping on quality or quantity, and we always looked forward to our 4pm coffee break and evening meals. Breakfasts have something for everyone and the waiting staff are absolutely fantastic; so friendly and willing to help. Mr Tonelli was also in attendance on most days and made so much effort to come around and chat to everyone which is something I've certainly never seen before in a hotel. The staff are definitely one of the Savoy's best qualities!

After an extremely stressful few months we absolutely made the right decision in spontaneously booking the Savoy, and enjoyed a wonderful rest. Would recommend it to anyone of any age and if we return to Riva we will definitely stay there again!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jen2392
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Riva Del Garda hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Kristal Palace - Tonelli Hotels
0.6 mi away
Lido Palace
Lido Palace
#1 of 62 in Riva Del Garda
5.0 of 5 bubbles 534 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Garda - TonelliHotels
Hotel Garda - TonelliHotels
#7 of 62 in Riva Del Garda
4.5 of 5 bubbles 659 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Parc Hotel Flora
Parc Hotel Flora
#4 of 62 in Riva Del Garda
4.5 of 5 bubbles 471 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Luise
Hotel Luise
#3 of 62 in Riva Del Garda
4.5 of 5 bubbles 566 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Europa Skypool & Panorama
Hotel Europa Skypool & Panorama
#20 of 62 in Riva Del Garda
4.0 of 5 bubbles 259 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Savoy Palace - TonelliHotels? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Savoy Palace - TonelliHotels

Property: Hotel Savoy Palace - TonelliHotels
Address: Via Longa 10, 38066, Riva Del Garda, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Trentino-Alto Adige > Province of Trento > Riva Del Garda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Riva Del Garda
#4 Best Value Hotel in Riva Del Garda
#5 Business Hotel in Riva Del Garda
#6 Luxury Hotel in Riva Del Garda
#7 Romantic Hotel in Riva Del Garda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Savoy Palace - TonelliHotels 4*
Number of rooms: 190
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Savoy Palace - TonelliHotels reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Savoy Palace - TonelliHotels Riva Del Garda/Nago, Italy
Savoy Palace Riva Del Garda

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing