We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Holiday”
Review of Hotel Virgilio

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Virgilio
Ranked #9 of 62 Hotels in Riva Del Garda
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 August 2012

Have just returned from a holiday with National Holidays to this hotel. It was perfect from start to finish. We ould like to say a big thank you to two excellent drivers Louisa and Gary for all their welcome information. We visited this hotel two years ago and nothing as changed. Excellent food, no one need go hungry and the friendliness was really welcoming. Would recommend this holiday to anyone but must just say you must enjoy coach travel as that is part of the holiday.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank archie1517
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (419)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

245 - 251 of 419 reviews

Reviewed 8 August 2012

The National Holiday trip to Lake Garda in July 2012 with Andy and Andy was brilliant, great fun. 9 days never went by so fast with a good crowd on the bus. The Hotel Virgilio was well run by the family, bedroom 105 was a decent size and kept clean. There was plenty of good food and friendly staff especially Kevin. I enjoyed my swims in the mornings and evenings and the cycle museum in the basement. Well done to all. Sue

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Suetr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2012

Visited the hotel at the end of June 2012 on a 9 day national coach tours holiday.This was our first bus tour abroad and we found the 4 days travelling to be quite arduous compared to the alternative of say a 2/3hour x2 plane ride.to Verona airport.Having said that the holiday was enjoyable with inclusive trips to Venice,Verona, and the Dolomites included plus a free bar from 8.30 to 11.30 every night For about £500 p.p it'sagood value trip,the hotel is ok,not the ritz, but comfortable,the staff are very nice, the food more than adequate,the pool has all day sun and is heated,the walk into town is about 20 minutes, so maybe a bit tricky if you struggle on the pins,so all in all a good trip with reservations about the length of the journey

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank pedrobleacks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2012

We have just returned from this hotel and have to say what a great place this is to stay we went with National Hoildays the hotel is just a 20 min stroll into the centre of the town. The hotel is very close to a supermarket if you wanted anything that you had forgot to bring, the rooms are clean and comfortable, we had requested a room with a view and we were not disappointed our room was on the 1st floor and overlooked the pool area we also had views of the mountains.The staff were absolute pleasure to meet nothing was to much trouble,the meals we had were very good 4 courses every night the last night being a gala night . My wife and I have both said we would return to this hotel again but stay longer next time.

Room Tip: ask for room 108 its on a corner it as the son on the morning
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank yorkshireken
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2012

Great family runned hotel, nice spacious rooms with comfortable bathroom and private balcony.
Breakfast was superb and included next to the usual things also lots of delicious pastries.
The hotel offers private car-park and a swimming pool.
The hotel is a 10 min. walk from the centre of Riva.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Paul B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2012

Despite the other reviews the holiday with National Holidays to Lake Garda was lovely. The Journey was long but the schedule outlines this in the brochure! We had two coach drivers who were really down to earth, friendly, informative who knew their job and did it well. We arrived at Hotel Virgilio at 10pm and the hotel still provided a good friendly service of an evening meal including three good and tasty courses accompanied with bread and salad that you could help yourself. The food each night was beautiful and were very accommodating with other options if the food was not to your taste. The breakfast in the morning was equally as nice.
There were excursions most days and definitely value for money, we especially liked the visit to Venice and the one across the lake going to Garda town.
The only criticisms for this holiday would be the hotel Campinile in Metz where they did not have our name down on the list and the room we thought was dirty. The Hotel at Riva would have been better for my grandma if it had been closer to the lake but there is a bus stop close by and taxi's. There is a Lidl and other convenience shops close by. The Hotel was clean and very friendly and we had a great view from our balcony. We even took up the offer of free bike rental and i would recommend doing this as we were able to see so much more of Lake Garda.
I am in my early 20's and went with my Grandma and younger sister and thought this holiday was a good holiday especially for my Grandmas with walking difficulties. We went in July 2012 and would recommend people going here on their holidays!

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank Abbie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2012

We had a fantastic holiday in Lake Garda in July 2012 - travelling with National Holidays and a fun group of people - special thanks to Andy and Andy our drivers who went out of their way to make our holiday fantastic. We stayed 5 nights at the Hotel Virgilio in Riva Del Garda and I have nothing but praise and thank you for everyone who works there. The Hotel is lovely and friendly and extremely clean - breakfast and evening meals were very nice and portions more than you could actually eat. The Gala evening was extremely good and thoroughly enjoyed every minute - thank you for having us and hope to return in the future - keep up the good work.

Maxine & Wendie

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Maxine N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Riva Del Garda hotels
0.8 mi away
Grand Hotel Liberty
Grand Hotel Liberty
#13 of 62 in Riva Del Garda
1,255 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Rudy
Hotel Rudy
#21 of 62 in Riva Del Garda
468 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Vittoria
Hotel Vittoria
#18 of 62 in Riva Del Garda
322 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Parc Hotel Flora
Parc Hotel Flora
#5 of 62 in Riva Del Garda
548 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Luise
Hotel Luise
#3 of 62 in Riva Del Garda
677 reviews
0.3 mi away
Astoria Park Hotel SPA Resort
Astoria Park Hotel SPA Resort
#10 of 62 in Riva Del Garda
938 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Virgilio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Virgilio

Address: Via Virgilio 21, 38066, Riva Del Garda, Italy
Region: Italy > Trentino-Alto Adige > Province of Trento > Riva Del Garda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Riva Del Garda
#2 Business Hotel in Riva Del Garda
#8 Family Hotel in Riva Del Garda
#10 Romantic Hotel in Riva Del Garda
Price Range: £51 - £157 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Virgilio 3*
Number of rooms: 41
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK) and HotelsClick so you can book your Hotel Virgilio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Virgilio Hotel Riva Del Garda

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing