We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“nice hotel in quiet location”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Virgilio

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Virgilio
Ranked #8 of 62 Hotels in Riva Del Garda
Certificate of Excellence
Tyne & Wear
Level Contributor
37 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“nice hotel in quiet location”
Reviewed 9 September 2013

spent 6 nights here as part of a national holiday. Nice family run hotel. Food good any plenty of it. Comfy bed, clean room and bathroom but decor a little tired. Staff very helpful and friendly. Walk into Riva took about 15 minutes. There is a coop right next to the hotel for any supplies you might need and other shop quite near.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank crossnook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

350 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    210
    108
    26
    5
    1
See reviews for
68
176
11
23
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2013 via mobile

Me and my wife stayed hear again having been last year and really enjoyed it, the hotel and all the staff are great specially Kevin in the bar, the food is also very good for the price you pay.
We had two fantastic drivers on our coach the best we have ever had, Richard and Barry they only had met for the first time themselves at the start of the trip but got on really well together, they both kept us all really well entertained all the way and looked after us all even spending time with us all bike riding and relaxing chatting at night at the hotel, if National Holidays read this I would say keep these two drivers together as much as you can if you want happy holiday makers.

If you can put up with travelling by coach I would totally recomend this holiday at Riva Del Garda and Virgilio hotel.

Garry Kerr

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank POLKSALAD11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2013

exellent holiday,exellent accomadation,and exellent vallue for money.dont know how national holidays do it for the money.the hotel virgilio is a family run hotel,and cant do enough for you.saw six countries on this trip not including venice,and spent seven nights in the hotel.great value.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank bignig_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockton-on-Tees, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2013

Just got home from a 9 day National tours holiday to Lake Garda staying at the Hotel Virgilio, everything here was 'superb' the food, friendly and helpful staff, clean and comfortable rooms. Will recommend to everyone.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Eddie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tredegar
Level Contributor
158 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2013

We stayed here to get away from our hotel in Garda which was below par and we were really glad we did. Had to pay 110 euros but it was worth every penny. The pool (which we didn't have in Garda) was a godsend and the hotel and staff were polite and friendly. Lovely clean room with a balcony (which we also didn't have in Garda) and the resort centre and lake front were a nice place to relax, eat & drink the night away......Great hotel and a great resort.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank picture1Tredegar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2013

In a word fantastic , the place the people the food the rooms everything that you could want for a great holiday.it was the first time we had travelled with national holidays and I can honestly say we will be using them again next year two fab drivers Richard and Terry kept us entertained.The hotel is a family run business and they go the extra mile for you,we were celebrating our silver wedding anniversary and they made it very memorable with flowers champagne and a candle lit dinner. It was very hot whilst we were there but the air conditioning in the room was brilliant so you got a good nights sleep.The trips that are part of the holiday package are well worth going on,the gondolas were great value for money.

Room Tip: Need to remember your mosquito repellant as they come out in force at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Lesley67502
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stockport england
Level Contributor
117 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2013

stayed like others as part of a national express holiday. went as a single person and had a lovely time. the two days coach journey pass well enough if you take something to entertain yourself with and the Alpine scenery is breathtaking!
the family run hotel is very clean and in a quiet location with a lovely pool area. all rooms have balconies with views of the mountains in the distance which is nice. room perfectly serviceable and comfortable for a simple hotel. The staff were very pleasant - really helpful when I wanted to do a bit of exploring by myself and explained the buses and boats to catch and where from. wifi worked well.
breakfast had big range of choices and could be eaten outside.
dinner- again a good choice every night and very tasty pasta. Good salad choice and would disagree with other writer's comments that the food is poor. For the money it was tasty and you could always ask for an omelette if you wanted something light.
I thought the prices for drinks very reasonable. 2 euros for a pot of tea which is about £1.80!
free eve drinks included prosecco which was a lovely slightly sparkly white wine on draught.
It is quite a long walk to the lakeside from the hotel but if you are reasonably fit it is perfectly do- able as quite a few of us did it. You can get the bus if you prefer.
would definately recommend it.
A tip- the midges were out in force when we sat outside after dinner so get yourself some insect repellant!

Room Tip: all are nice. Maybe not above the patio area if you want to go to sleep really early.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank cozg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Riva Del Garda
1.0 mi away
Lido Palace
Lido Palace
#1 of 62 in Riva Del Garda
548 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Luise
Hotel Luise
#3 of 62 in Riva Del Garda
574 reviews
1.1 mi away
Parc Hotel Flora
Parc Hotel Flora
#4 of 62 in Riva Del Garda
479 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Astoria Park Hotel SPA Resort
Astoria Park Hotel SPA Resort
#10 of 62 in Riva Del Garda
757 reviews
2.4 mi away
Aktivhotel Santalucia
Aktivhotel Santalucia
#1 of 32 in Torbole
606 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Rudy
Hotel Rudy
#15 of 62 in Riva Del Garda
419 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Virgilio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Virgilio

Property: Hotel Virgilio
Address: Via Virgilio 21, 38066, Riva Del Garda, Italy
Region: Italy > Trentino-Alto Adige > Province of Trento > Riva Del Garda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Riva Del Garda
#2 Business Hotel in Riva Del Garda
#10 Family Hotel in Riva Del Garda
#10 Romantic Hotel in Riva Del Garda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Virgilio 3*
Number of rooms: 41
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel Virgilio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Virgilio Hotel Riva Del Garda
Hotel Virgilio Riva Del Garda/Nago, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing