We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice family run hotel”
Review of Hotel Virgilio

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Virgilio
Ranked #9 of 62 Hotels in Riva Del Garda
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 September 2013

Stayed here for 6 nights as part of a National Holidays trip.
Our previous experience of Italian hotels was not that good, so this one turned out to be a pleasant surprise.
In a quiet location about a 15 to 20min slight downhill walk into the centre of town.
Very nice public areas - Dining room, lounge, bar, large conservatory for breakfast and lounging around during the day.
Large outside patio area and very nice (but cold, so I'm told) swimming pool.
Staff couldn't have been more helpful or friendlier.
Home cooked food was very tasty and well presented.
Helpings were not large but adequate for most people and there was always plenty of bread and salad available.
Breakfast is served in the conservatory and consists of a wide selection of cereals, fruit, cold meats, breads and of course - cake !
Also an unlimited supply of tea, coffee or juices,
My only gripe would be that the en-suite was a bit small, but that did not deter from what was a very pleasant stay - Recommended.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the pool area get the sun most of the day. Rooms at the front are in the shade vi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank pershoreandbeyond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (415)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

212 - 218 of 415 reviews

Reviewed 16 September 2013

Just came back from a nine day National holiday,very very long trip,but worth the view when you get there.Lots of interesting places to visit.The drivers richard and Eddy,which was their first trip together,they got on like a house on fire as they had mutual moterbike interests.They kept us entertained the whole holiday,they nicknamed me and friend hinge and bracket,which the whole bus seemed to enjoy.We met some wonderful people,jude,derek,jean,mike,jane,tim,and lots more too many to mention.One lady Marlene took poorly and was taken to hospital,and couldnt travel home as she is still in hospital.Micheal whom she met on holiday,escorted her to hospital and visited her the next day,he was a pure gentleman,get well soon Marlene.The staff in hotel virgilio couldnt be faulted,friendly and helpful.Rooms very clean and the food is lovely all freshly cooked.Kevin the barman was funny always doing silly things and making people laugh.The trips were interesting but it meant you were up early for breakfast and back on the bus,by the end of the week we were not looking forward to the 2 day journey back home,but to be honest it wasnt that bad.Iwould like to thank National holidays,richard and eddy,staff at virgilio and the wonderful people we met for making out holiday absolutely fantastic.From denise and alison,aka hinge and bracket.

Room Tip: floors 2 or 3 for the views.we had room 203 no complaints.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
13  Thank trevanali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2013

We (me, my wife, children 17 and 21), spent a very pleasant 5 days here and all like the place very much.We booked it because we wanted a pool and none of the hotels in the centre of Riva seemed to have one. It's a family owned hotel and the staff are extremely friendly and helpful without being intrusive. The pool isn't huge but it is very well maintained and never very busy when we were there. The inclusive breakfast served in the outside dining area is not to be missed - an all a you can eat selection of cereal, fruit, pastries, cheese, cooked meats, scrambled egg...so wonderful in fact that it got our 17 year old out of bed everyday in time for the 10 o'clock deadline - a remarkable achievement. The hotel is very clean and well kept, but the building itself is not beautiful and very slightly faded. Looking at the family album showing the history of the hotel you could see it was once a family house surrounded by field; now it surrounded by a pleasant enough modern suburb. That said, there were spectacular views of the the mountains from the balconies of both the rooms we had. It is a 15/20 minute walk or a 8 Euro taxi to Lake Garda, but the owners will lend you well maintained bikes at no charge and cycling down takes about 10 minutes. If you are interested such things,( as I am to an unhelathy degree), there is the most amazing collection of historic bicycles from all around the world in the basement - which the owner and his brother are more than happy to show you. It's not chi-chi, but it's not expensive by local standards and the fact that it wasn't the most glamorous place you've ever stayed was more than made up for by the friendly atmosphere. It's also 5 minutes walk from the bus station if you want to take trip to any of the nearby towns.

Room Tip: Get a room on 2nd or 3rd floor for the views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
13  Thank Stevessssmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2013

spent 6 nights here as part of a national holiday. Nice family run hotel. Food good any plenty of it. Comfy bed, clean room and bathroom but decor a little tired. Staff very helpful and friendly. Walk into Riva took about 15 minutes. There is a coop right next to the hotel for any supplies you might need and other shop quite near.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank crossnook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2013 via mobile

Me and my wife stayed hear again having been last year and really enjoyed it, the hotel and all the staff are great specially Kevin in the bar, the food is also very good for the price you pay.
We had two fantastic drivers on our coach the best we have ever had, Richard and Barry they only had met for the first time themselves at the start of the trip but got on really well together, they both kept us all really well entertained all the way and looked after us all even spending time with us all bike riding and relaxing chatting at night at the hotel, if National Holidays read this I would say keep these two drivers together as much as you can if you want happy holiday makers.

If you can put up with travelling by coach I would totally recomend this holiday at Riva Del Garda and Virgilio hotel.

Garry Kerr

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank POLKSALAD11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2013

exellent holiday,exellent accomadation,and exellent vallue for money.dont know how national holidays do it for the money.the hotel virgilio is a family run hotel,and cant do enough for you.saw six countries on this trip not including venice,and spent seven nights in the hotel.great value.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank bignig_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2013

Just got home from a 9 day National tours holiday to Lake Garda staying at the Hotel Virgilio, everything here was 'superb' the food, friendly and helpful staff, clean and comfortable rooms. Will recommend to everyone.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Eddie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Riva Del Garda hotels
0.9 mi away
Hotel Luise
Hotel Luise
#3 of 62 in Riva Del Garda
676 reviews
0.8 mi away
Grand Hotel Liberty
Grand Hotel Liberty
#15 of 62 in Riva Del Garda
1,216 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Rudy
Hotel Rudy
#22 of 62 in Riva Del Garda
459 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hotel Vittoria
Hotel Vittoria
#17 of 62 in Riva Del Garda
322 reviews
0.3 mi away
Astoria Park Hotel SPA Resort
Astoria Park Hotel SPA Resort
#11 of 62 in Riva Del Garda
892 reviews
1.1 mi away
Parc Hotel Flora
Parc Hotel Flora
#5 of 62 in Riva Del Garda
539 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Virgilio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Virgilio

Address: Via Virgilio 21, 38066, Riva Del Garda, Italy
Region: Italy > Trentino-Alto Adige > Province of Trento > Riva Del Garda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Riva Del Garda
#2 Business Hotel in Riva Del Garda
#10 Family Hotel in Riva Del Garda
#10 Romantic Hotel in Riva Del Garda
Price Range: £57 - £191 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Virgilio 3*
Number of rooms: 41
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA and HotelsClick so you can book your Hotel Virgilio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Virgilio Hotel Riva Del Garda

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing