We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“room for improvement”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Portici Romantik & Wellness
Ranked #11 of 62 Hotels in Riva Del Garda
Certificate of Excellence
belfast
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“room for improvement”
Reviewed 4 July 2009

just back from riva ,stayed in portici hotel, guide who left us to hotel very helpful, on arriving rooms very plain but clean. breakfast filling more than enough to set you up for the day. evening meals now thats another story, overcooked salmon no taste , loads of salad, but after two nights gets boring, no vegetables all week , but on last nite dinner good, pity they didnt serve this type of meal during week. had to go out one of nites to a resturant along promenade, meal top notch, now the food at front of hotel was lovely to look at it ,but we were in back of resturant eating school dinners, Maria pia, our guide was wonderful we left italy with so much knowledge of their country, big big hoorey for maria.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sunglasseslost
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

377 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    137
    173
    53
    12
    2
See reviews for
60
208
11
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Belfast
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2009

I spent a week in Riva Del Garda.on Lake Garda, organised by the Travel Department. There were three coach tours in the price, around the lake, Verona, and Venice. All in all the holiday was good value for money. The trips were well organised. The location of the hotel was excellent. The hotel cleanliness was also v. goood. The one major criticism of this package was the food. There was very limited choice i.e choice fo two starters/main meal. The food order had to be placed the day before. The was also no flexibility with meals times, food was served at 19:30 sharp and the group had to be seated at this time. The was also compulsory allocation of seating at the tables, each couple was placed with another couple (unknown to them) and they eat together every night. Not the most romantic setting! The food itself was edible but limited.

Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Belfasttraveller6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derry, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2008

I spent a week in Riva Del Garda.on Lake Garda, organised by the Travel Department. There were three coach tours in the price, around the lake, Verona, and Venice. Our tour guide was a man called Martin, who did everything he could for all our travelling companions. He was very pleasant, cooperative, knowledgeable, and helpful in every way, altogether a real nice guy. We stayed at the Hotel Portici,a very good place to stay. The staff were extremely pleasant and courteous, the hotel itself was very clean and comfortable. My only criticism of it would be that the food, whilst being fairly good the menu was somewhat limited and for a few extra pounds on the holiday price it would have come up to the same standard as everything else in the hotel. An example would be, one night we got pork accompanied with beautiful curried carrots, but no potatoes. Another night we got beautiful potatoes but no vegetables. At a total price of Under £500.00, It was good value.

One point before I go, beware the Hotel Du Lac in Gardone,because our bus was on the homeward leg of a trip when we called at this area for a stretch of the legs and maybe a visit to the toilets as well as a drink of something. On entering the restaurant area and after consuming some food and drink some of our party decided to visit the restrooms only to be redirected in a not so nice way to another restroom, but the person in charge of these did not want us in there either and this developed into a bit of a shouting, match before our party could use the original ones,and this after buying food and drink.

Helpful?
4 Thank Columba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tyrone
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2008

Just Back From 'Riva Lake Garda, and have to say it was a great holiday. I booked my holiday through The Belfast Telegraph, (Travel Department) and it was very well organised, everything ran perfectly.
A special word of 'Thanks' for giving us a wonderful guide called 'Maria Pia' she could'nt do enough for us.
I found the hotel basic but very clean. We had fresh towels everyday and bedding changed once a week.
Rooms comfortable and cosy.
The food was quite good, especially if you are not into italian food, i found that i never left feeling hungry, there was always something you could eat.( for me it was the salad, it was delicious, loads of it)
Most of the staff was very good and helpful,
The hotel is a perfect location for restaurants, shops,etc, and the lake is right in front of you. (Beautiful)
In September it isnt that warm, plenty of sun but your in the north of Garda, and it can be very windy, so always have a warm jacket with you for in the evenings it's quite cold.
If you are looking for a quiet relaxing holiday, this is the place, at night everything seems to close early so the only thing to do, is go walking or just relax with a drink and watch the world go by.
It is a beautiful place to see and loads to explore, the Ferrys do daily trips to other parts of the lake which is worth taking, as i say a very relaxing holiday, but i wouldnt recommend it for anyone under the age of 40.

  • Liked — Cleaniness
  • Disliked — One member of staff was very unpleasant, lack of manners
  • Stayed September 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank MagsTyrone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
belfast
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2008

Just back from a super week staying in Riva. We booked our holiday thru" The Travel Department" and I must congratulate them on the way they handled everything ,from the smooth arrival to our departure. An extra special mention to our guide for the week "ANNALISA." She was incredibly informative, polite and put herself out to please eveyone, a million thanks to her for the energy and effort she put in. Now as far as The Portici goes, its location sells it. The reception staff are very accomodating and helpful. The waiting staff however are less so, abrupt on occasions, even going as far as clicking their fingers to get you to hand over your dishes when finished instead of going round the table to collect them. Meals can become repetative, but do improve slightly as the week prgresses,one warning ,don`t order the pizza, its just dough (yuk). One night we ate in the glass covered restaurant and the meal was super, if only we had a bit more choice as a half board guests it would be great. Overall its a good wee place to stay as its clean and ticks most of the boxes.

  • Liked — the location
  • Disliked — repetitive meals and attitude to to diners by senior waiting staff
  • Stayed September 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank moseyM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ballymena
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 September 2008

Lake garda - Hotel portici - Riva

Riva is a beautiful place surrounded by mountains and the hotel was a stone's throw from the lake.

We stayed here half board for 1 week as part of an organised tour
The room was quite spacious, had all the necessities and was kept very clean.

The dining room staff in particular were very friendly and we had great craic once they got to know us. I am not a lover of Italian food but I never came away hungry.

I would have no hesitation reccommending this hotel .

Stayed July 2008
Helpful?
2 Thank BallymenaBabs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
N.Ireland
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2008

Spent a fantastic 4 days in Riva at the Hotel Portici as part of a group travelling with The Travel Department.

Pros : perfect location, right in the middle of Riva on the main square beside lots of bars and restaurants; helpful staff; clean bedrooms and dining room

Cons : the food offered as part of the half-board option wasn't great - adequate but basic breakfast, fresh but limited salad items at dinner and the main course (there was usually a choice of 2) wasn't traditionally Italian or particularly memorable.

All in all though, we had a fabulous time, Riva is a lovely little town with lots to do during the day (beach, museum/castle, clock tower, pedaloes, shopping, lakeside walks) and Hotel Portici is the perfect base.

  • Liked — Location :o)
  • Disliked — Food :o(
  • Stayed July 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CB_N_Ireland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Riva Del Garda hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Sole Relax & Panorama
Hotel Sole Relax & Panorama
#13 of 62 in Riva Del Garda
508 reviews
0.4 mi away
Lido Palace
Lido Palace
#1 of 62 in Riva Del Garda
591 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Europa Skypool & Panorama
Hotel Europa Skypool & Panorama
#17 of 62 in Riva Del Garda
278 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Astoria Park Hotel SPA Resort
Astoria Park Hotel SPA Resort
#10 of 62 in Riva Del Garda
815 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Luise
Hotel Luise
#3 of 62 in Riva Del Garda
619 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Antico Borgo
Hotel Antico Borgo
#19 of 62 in Riva Del Garda
369 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Portici Romantik & Wellness? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Portici Romantik & Wellness

Property: Hotel Portici Romantik & Wellness
Address: Piazza Tre Novembre 19, 38066, Riva Del Garda, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Trentino-Alto Adige > Province of Trento > Riva Del Garda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Riva Del Garda
#10 Luxury Hotel in Riva Del Garda
#22 Romantic Hotel in Riva Del Garda
#29 Family Hotel in Riva Del Garda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Portici Romantik & Wellness 4*
Number of rooms: 55
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your Hotel Portici Romantik & Wellness reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Portici Hotel Riva Del Garda
Hotel Portici Romantik & Wellness Riva Del Garda/Nago, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing