We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“DISAPPOINTING HOTEL”
Review of Hotel Brione

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Brione
Ranked #35 of 62 Hotels in Riva Del Garda
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 June 2009

Returned to UK 2 days ago from Travelsphere coach tour based at the Hotel Brione. Very basic hotel room, no balcony, no air conditioning or fan in bedroom in 33 degree heat so very difficult to sleep especially as it was extremely noisy with traffic from the very busy main road outside. Asked to be moved to another room away from the traffic but hotel apparently full. One or two other folks from our party managed to get moved but had to pay a supplement. Another lady with asthma couldn't breathe in the bedroom due to the stifling heat, and was eventually given a fan on a stand.

The public rooms weren't air-conditioned either, and the lounge area consisted of only 3 or four settees in the bar (which reminded me of a working man's club in the UK). The only other seats were outside at the front of the hotel, adjacent to the bar, and next to the very busy main road.

Swimming pool OK but with plastic sun-loungers without cushions so not very uncomfortable.

Food average, breakfasts not very exciting with either cheese slices or ham (sometimes salami), various breads and jams, cakes, one fruit per day (either peaches or prunes), and one yogurt. Main course at dinner only choice of of one meat or one fish for main course (omlettes available by request). Service very slow, usually taking 75 to 90 minutes per meal.

As well as being on busy main road, this hotel was at least 20/25 minutes walk from centre of Riva (not 10 minutes as stated in the brochure).

We didn't enjoy the holiday due to the poor hotel, and would recommend staying elsewhere, but definitely not on the main road which was busy from about 1.0 in the morning to about 6.0 a.m.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JeanWolverhampton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (212)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

132 - 138 of 212 reviews

Reviewed 28 May 2009

We were staying at the Hotel Brione as part of a tour organised by Riviera Travel, and chose it out of a choice of three hotels. My husband and I had a room that was perfectly adequate for our stay - we could have done with more shelving/cupboard space for our clothes and our balcony overlooked the road which was pretty busy, but apart from that it was clean and comfortable with towels changed as often as we needed. My mother and her partner had the room next door, which had a lot more space and a balcony view over the side. So not all rooms are exactly the same.

The food was fine, and that's considering I'm both a vegetarian and a fussy eater! I do however eat fish, which I had most evenings, whereas my mother is a strict vegetarian and she found her options more limited. However, the staff went out of their way to try to keep us happy, so we had no complaints.

The location, other than being next to the road, was very convenient, and a very short walk away from the lakeside. Riva was a nice little town with loads of shops and even more on market day (Wednesday). It certainly seemed a better place to stay than Torbole which is the next resort around the lake.

The pool out back is really refreshing and big enough considering we were often the only guests making use of it! It is also much more secluded than many other hotel's pools which we saw when driving by on our coach.

All in all we had a very nice stay in this hotel and it represented good value for money.

  • Stayed: May 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JennaExe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2008

Nice clean quiet hotel which matched our needs. Friendly staff - particularly our Bulgarian Waitress (Ganka). Food was generally good except for the apple tart (which was supplied by Readimix Concrete) however the breakfasts were less than inspiring. Every day was the same other than the tinned fruit which changed daily but offered no choice - prunes or prunes most days!

  • Stayed: September 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Brione
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2008

We holidayed in Riva with Travelsphere. Whilst the Brione communal areas were fine our bedroom was not. We had a top(3rd) floor room front facing to the road and it was so noisy (we had to open the doors to the balcony as we could not stand the heat ) . No air conditioning was available in the rooms Travelsphere booked and the Hotel had no fans either ! There were no other rooms available and there would have been an additional charge of 7 euro a day per person if we had been able to change rooms. Our bedroom furniture and beds were extremely poor ,old and distressed. Be warned - lighting in the rooms is awfully poor - one central light and an overbed light . there was only one electric socket and that is in the bathroom !
My advice would be to get a room at the rear of the hotel to avoid road noise should you wish to open windows/doors !
Food was of poor standard . Beware - you have to use your napkin over many days - you are required to place it into an envelope after each use and place your name on it so it can be deposited back for your next meal ! ! --- food hygiene ! !
The Hotel swimming pool looks good but if you are not comfortable in 5 ft of water beware because it is one depth all over (not suitable for kids or non-swimmers !).
In summary I will be returning to Riva but will not go with Travelsphere or stay at the Hotel Brione.

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wongy45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2007

On arriving at BRIONE, we were greeted by a very pleasant lady who checked us in and wished us a very nice stay. After that, we never met her again. As we walked to our room, we noted its very 'seasonal-may not have been occupied since last summer' aura. When we got to our room, we were knocked back out to the hallway with a whiff which is certainly indescribable. One might say it was something similar to (a) a dead animal, (b) a very sick animal, (c) animal with very bad breath. Realistically, it was likely to be as a result of either damp walls or lack of occupation. Being die-hards, we decided to stick it out for the first night and blame it on the tremendous amount of wood that surrounded the hotel! (Don't ask..silly justification.) So, having endured the radioactive croissants and thick, charcoaled coffee, we braved the elements and confronted the receptionist-not the lovely lady anymore-but a grump of a man who appeared to be the owner. Hospitality is not his forte so don't expect much. He grunted at us when we complained of the smell and hesitantly offered us a new room two doors down from Room 225, 'massacre of the animals'. As he unlocked the door of Room 222, we became aware that the original smell had an even worse competitor down the hallway. This time, we grunted and trudged our way back to Noah's ark knowing we had the best of a bad situation. Hopefully, due to the JUNE occupation, the smell should have lifted for the lucky tourists of July and August. Otherwise, it was reasonable, clean, safe and a good location. Just don't expect an attitude of 'THE CUSTOMER IS ALWAYS RIGHT'!! More like, to hell with the customer...grunt grunt!

  • Stayed: June 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank FrancescaCork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2007

Brione is about 10 mins walk from the marina/main square in Riva Del Garda. The hotel is clean and quiet at night with air conditioning which is a plus though we had hassle getting our aircon turned on when we arrived late at night. The rooms and bathrooms are fine and the pool is nice and bigger than some other hotels' pools in the area. The main letdown for us was the attitude of the owners/some staff working there. They were narky at times and made any enquiries made seem like a hassle - hello! That is their job! They refused to provide us all with towels on our last day (we had to check out early and weren't getting collected until 5pm that day) - were given 2 handtowels between 4 of us and when we tried to get more the reply was as usual narky and " There is nothing we can do - you have left now!" Yep €600 revenue from us and not a thing they could do about the towels...hmmmm... Ok Towel rant over. Other area we were not impressed with at this place was the breakfast - buffet I think was the intention but cereals were awful, fruit bruised and not fresh, plastic ham laid out and other unappetising fare. We got croissants which were ok though contained potentially radioactive preserves in the middle !! Overall, I thought it was grand for a base in Riva Del Garda - not too pricey, clean and quiet, just be prepared to get out for breakfast and don't bother with the buffet.

  • Stayed: May 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank travelmog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2007

  • Stayed: April 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
5  Thank numptyScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Riva Del Garda hotels
0.6 mi away
Grand Hotel Liberty
Grand Hotel Liberty
#15 of 62 in Riva Del Garda
1,191 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Villa Miravalle
Hotel Villa Miravalle
#29 of 62 in Riva Del Garda
232 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Antico Borgo
Hotel Antico Borgo
#12 of 62 in Riva Del Garda
401 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Panoramic Hotel Benacus
Panoramic Hotel Benacus
#20 of 62 in Riva Del Garda
236 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Garni Prince
Hotel Garni Prince
#44 of 62 in Riva Del Garda
60 reviews
0.1 mi away
Parc Hotel Flora
Parc Hotel Flora
#5 of 62 in Riva Del Garda
532 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Brione? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Brione

Address: Viale Rovereto 75/77, 38066, Riva Del Garda, Italy
Region: Italy > Trentino-Alto Adige > Province of Trento > Riva Del Garda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 62 Hotels in Riva Del Garda
Price Range: £66 - £88 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Brione 3*
Number of rooms: 70
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Expedia, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Ebookers, Hotels.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Brione reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brione Hotel Riva Del Garda

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing