We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delightful holiday”
Review of Hotel Antico Borgo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Antico Borgo
Ranked #12 of 62 Hotels in Riva Del Garda
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 June 2011

We had a lovely holiday in May staying here. The hotel is in the old part of Riva and very central for exploring the town, strolling to the lakeside and 15 minutes from the bus station. We explored on bus, boat , bicycle and cable car, visiting interesting villages with narrow streets around the lake, eating too many ice-creams and sipping wine! We also went inland along bicycle tracks, there is just so much to do, we will go back.
The hotel itself was great value for money, we enjoyed the food and didn't eat out at all in the evening as we had planned. The tables are close, but we really enjoyed the company of both couples either side. The service was excellent and all the staff helpful. Our room at the front of the hotel was immaculately clean and air conditioning was available so could close the windows if any noise. A great find.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank pip97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (401)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

255 - 261 of 401 reviews

Reviewed 13 June 2011

This is a fantastic hotel with a superb location in the centre of Riva. The food was excellent - we were on a half-board basis and menus were presented each morning to select your evening meal from. A very adequate selection of food for each of the 4 courses. After a late night arrival we were welcomed by friendly staff who laid on a cold buffet supper for us - very unexpected but very much appreciated. Rooms seemed to vary but ours was spacious and extremely comfortable. Tables are situated very close together in the dining room but all the people we met in the hotel were really friendly and in particular our dining mates (ciao Jack and Louise) were fantastic company!
The whole of the Lake Garda area is really superb and wonderful to explore in many ways. The local bus service is superb as are the ferries which run between the various resorts dotted round the lake. The bus service is very inexpensive.
We booked this holiday through hotelsbooked.com and the only drawback were the transfers which were arranged for us. I would definitely not recommend booking your holiday with this company. However, several other tour operators use this hotel and I would most definitely recommend this hotel to anyone! Thank you Antico Borgo for a wonderful stay.

Room Tip: Few rooms available with balcony - ask!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank neil.macleod5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2011

My husband and I stayed here over Easter for a week. The hotel is very modest from the street and is tucked away from the main hustle and bustle of Riva del Garda. The staff were very friendly and helpful. We arrived late and although dinner had finished serving for the night they still managed to rustle up a plate of hot food and a dessert for us!
Our room was very comfortable and modern. We had a standard double room with en-suite bathroom. The room was big and airy. Our window looked on to the street below and wasn't noisy despite there being a few shops. The bathroom was very spacious with a large shower and was very clean. No faults with the room!
The hotel was very well kept; tidy and modern. We had booked half board and were allocated a table to have our meals each day. We picked the evening meal in advance each day at breakfast. There was a god choice of vegetarian and meat dishes. Breakfast was continental, with a good choice of cheeses, meat, breads and fruit. The evening meal was a three course meal of wonderful Italian dishes. It was nice to eat local specialities that had a home cooked feel to them.
Easter Sunday was a big occasion with the hotel providing an Easter gala dinner. This was a set menu of eight courses! A feast of culinary delights and a monster task to get through tem all but we made it! The dining room was dressed up and the staff e such a big effort to celebrate Easter.
The location was just right; only a few minutes’ walk from the main square and the lake front, yet away from the noise of the bars and restaurants.
The staff were always on hand to help answer any questions about where to go and where to find things. They even helped us o rearrange our return transfers home. They offered hospitality even when we decided to break our trip with a last minute overnight trip to Venice by offering to be on hand should we need to call them.
A fantastic hotel which we would come to stay at again and have passed on recommendations to friends and family already.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jc_epsom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2011

The Hotel in the centre of town does not have Lake Garda views but is very convenient for shopping and the ferries. The Hotel was immaculately clean and the staff very efficient.
As we are not very adventuresome with food it was not exactly to our taste but overall it was good especially if Italian food is your liking.
We wished just to catch up occasionally with UK news but thought the BBC World News
TV was an waste of time and would suggest Sky News or BBC News 24.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank westsussexmike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2011

Arrived at Antico Borgo during the night and was greeted by friendly staff and a late evening meal which was very much unexpected but welcomed.

The rooms at this hotel were immaculate, very modern and although a little on the small side, there was enough storage space.

My partner and I were allocated a dining table for the duration of our stay and if you are lucky enough to get seated next to good company then this is great... we were one of the lucky couples who were sat next to a fabulous couple who it was a pleasure to dine with of the evening (ciao to Jen and Neil!). Food was excellent and a great variety to select from... the highlight for me was rabbit stew and chocolate truffle for dessert.

The hotel was situated in the centre of Riva - don't be fooled into thinking this made for a noisy room though. Although situated above a beatuiful walkway which was busy during daylight, there was not a sound to be heard of the night time which made for very peaceful sleeps.

No shortage of places to see, things to do in Riva. My partner and I hired out mountain bikes for a couple of days - great for exploring on the multitude of flat cycle paths that weave through the mountains and by the lakeside.

We cannot reccommend this hotel enough and look forward to revisiting in the future.

We will end by saying it was the most beautiful place we have ever visited, topped off by the best hotel in the area.

Jack and Louise

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank JackandLouise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2011

We travelled with Newmarket Holidays from Blackpool to Verona, the coach trip from Verona to Riva taking about an hour. A van took our luggage to the hotel from the coach drop-off point and we were directed on foot where there was a very pleasant welcome from the receptionists. We were given a first floor room which was a good size with the 2 windows set back from the street which meant we were often unsure of the weather until we went out into the street. There was an excellent shower room with an excellent shower (which never fluctuated) and the water was lovely and soft. The room was cleaned well by a pleasant young woman from eastern europe and towels and sheets were changed regularly. There was a trio of girls in the next room who obviously found the nightlife in Riva as it was 4:00am when they got in one day which was very disturbing but apart from that we had no problems with noise. The breakfast selection was very good with a token gesture of some cooked but mostly fruit, cheese, yoghurt, cooked meats, different breads and pastries and a good selection of tea, coffee, etc. The evening meal was good but not gourmet and we were asked to choose at breakfast what we would want in the evening.
We found the hotel was in a good location in the centre of the old town within walking distance of the ferry terminal and bus station. There was a lovely walk alongside the lake to Tarbole but beware of the bikes who share much of the path. We used the ferry to get to most of the rest of the lake but then found the buses were cheaper and easy to use once we learnt where and when they were going. A bus journey to Verona takes 2 hours 10 minutes along the eastern side of the lake but they are very comfortable and only cost 5 euros each single. Just check what time the last bus returns.
A street map from reception will show you the way to the Bastion which overlooks Riva. It is a good walk up the hill with benches along the way to rest and take in the view and a nice cafe at the top. It is possible to walk further up to the wayside shrine which is lit up at night and looks like it is suspended in mid air.
We had most of our last day to spend in Riva but there is a luggage store in the hotel for use after checking out. Again, the receptionist was very helpful when there was confusion about what time we should meet the coach and a van was on hand to transport luggage.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank granma47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2011

I really enjoyed staying at this hotel after the initial hick-up of arguing over the fact a cot wasn't in our room and they wanted to charge us 58 Euro's, I wouldn't of minded but we paid £30 to Thomson for just that, anyway moving on the bed was comfy. Our room on the third floor was very quiet when it came to Outside noise but unfortuantely the walls couldn't muffle the man snoring (who was unbeleivable loud!!) but after he left we couldn't hear a peep from our neighbours.
Our room was always kept immaculate by the maid and although as we didn't have a balcony there was plenty of light let in by the two huge windows. The furnishings are nice enough although quite simplistic but then it is "small & friendly".
I found the lift to be quite small (think 1 pram and 1 adult and its full or 2 adults and 2 suitcases - TIGHT SQUEEZE), the lift is slow so use the stairs where possible beacuse I got up the three flights of stairs before my husband arrived with the pram.
I loved Lake Garda and found our rep; Jenny to be very pleasent. Although be aware that they are advising the trip to Venice takes 2 hours - it doesn't it takes 3 hours 20 minutes by the time you dock in St. Marks Square, this is mainly beacuse they like to have a 15 minute rest stop on the way.
I can only give HIGH recommendations for the Centrale Restaurant which faces the like, I never got the name of the Manager but he MADE our holiday, after giving my 15 month old ice cream on the first night every other night we visited we where presented with sparkling wine. Also the highchair there is a good one suitable for a toddler unlike some restaurants which only offered one's that fasten to the table (not a good idea with a wiggly 15 month old). I really enjoyed the Seawolf and would recommend trying it.
I also have to recommend the ice cream at the Sole Hotel Ice cream parlour and the Restaurant around the corner who again served up fabulous food - HIGHLY recommend the swordfish or any fish here as its all good.
How the Italians eat 4/5 courses I don't know as we had one main and a couple of complimentary breadsticks and it was more then enough.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank helenps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Riva Del Garda hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Portici Romantik & Wellness
Hotel Portici Romantik & Wellnes...
#14 of 62 in Riva Del Garda
398 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Sole Relax & Panorama
Hotel Sole Relax & Panorama
#17 of 62 in Riva Del Garda
547 reviews
0.3 mi away
Grand Hotel Liberty
Grand Hotel Liberty
#15 of 62 in Riva Del Garda
1,192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Lido Palace
Lido Palace
#3 of 62 in Riva Del Garda
631 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Europa Skypool & Panorama
Hotel Europa Skypool & Panorama
#13 of 62 in Riva Del Garda
302 reviews
0.6 mi away
Astoria Park Hotel SPA Resort
Astoria Park Hotel SPA Resort
#11 of 62 in Riva Del Garda
878 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Antico Borgo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Antico Borgo

Address: Via Armando Diaz 15, 38066, Riva Del Garda, Italy
Region: Italy > Trentino-Alto Adige > Province of Trento > Riva Del Garda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Riva Del Garda
#11 Luxury Hotel in Riva Del Garda
#16 Romantic Hotel in Riva Del Garda
#24 Family Hotel in Riva Del Garda
Price Range: £73 - £102 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Antico Borgo 4*
Number of rooms: 61
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Jet2Holidays , Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Travel Republic (UK), LoveHolidays, Expedia, Ebookers, HotelsClick and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Antico Borgo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Antico Borgo Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing