We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, terrible hotel!”
Review of Oasi di Kufra

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Oasi di Kufra
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Sabaudia
Rome, Italy
1 review
“Great location, terrible hotel!”
Reviewed 25 June 2013

We booked this hotel for our family (2 adults, 2 children) and chose one of the basement level apartments. The apartment was hugely over priced, not at all of a 4 star standard and indeed not as clean as it could have been. There were 10 dangerous concrete steps, with no handrail down to the apartment. Indeed the rest of hotel was full of steps, with a lift that we were not permitted to use! The beach is lovely, but a few metres away, you could sit on the same beach for free! The breakfast was lacking in choice and imagination and the much of the food was either over or under cooked. Everything had an extra charge and there was a distinct lack of flexibility on the part of the staff. If you have a 'typical' English family that eat earlier, require a clean highchair, need to use a buggy etc. this is not the place for you. A real pity as Sabaudia is lovely but the lack of care in this hotel really lets the owner and staff down. It is totally un child friendly. I suspect the problem is that there are few hotels and therefore they are full whether they are good or not. This is not acceptable.

Room Tip: Don't choose a basement apartment.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elizabeth W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

437 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    142
    189
    59
    31
    16
See reviews for
114
130
9
85
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2013 via mobile

We booked for 5 nights in deluxe double room at a cost of £188 per night including breakfast so were expecting a luxurious room. What we got was far from that! The spa bath was dirty and cracked with nothing to support underneath so it felt like you could fall through the bottom! There were two different types and colour of tiles in the bathroom that did not match.
The bed was rock hard and old fashioned with blankets and sheets instead of duvets.
Very poor service in restaurant on first night, not even offered wine list or drinks until asked for. Young surly waiter slammed steak knife down in front of me. Food ok but nothing special. Better service on second night when head waiter/manager on duty, he was very friendly and willing to get us drinks with our meal! Breakfast was good but coffee terrible. Be sure to ask for cappuccino rather than coffee!
Receptionist very helpful and cheerful. Helped us plan our trip to Rome which was much appreciated.
The hotel is quite far from main town but Sabaudia doesn't have much to offer anyway! We cut our holiday short by one night here and spent an extra night at our final destination instead where we paid less money for a much more superior room!

Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank KarenG1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2012

This is a wonderful hotel, right on the beach. I stayed for a week in one of the basement level apartments, which opened up to a little patio. It was a terrific hotel experience! Everyone is really friendly, there are plenty of English speaking staff, the food and service at the restaurant is fantastic and its on a beautiful beach with white sand!

It is a bit remote, so if you don't have a car, you shouldn't plan on going too far. You can walk into Sabaudia in about 20-30 mins.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the beach or the basement apartments opening to the beach are the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CrystalWard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 February 2012

On my recent journey through southern Italy via Rome, my search for the first scenic spot along the coast to the south led me to Sabaudia and the national park areas (Parco Nazionale del Circeo) that leave the beaches preserved in their natural beauty. You can travel for several miles to the north and south with very few of the commercial “lido” concessions typical of the hedge-row beach facilities that typify most of Italy's coastal areas.

Nestled in the dunes at Sabaudia is this "oasis" beachfront hotel. The hotel and its staff are peerless in affording guests the luxury of beautiful views along the coast, a great beach, wonderful dining, and a quiet and relaxing stay in beautiful balcony rooms. Being a beach lover spoiled by the best beaches in the world, I can add this oasis to my must-stay list when in or near Rome.

Room Tip: I chose a beachside room on south end of the top floor for breath-taking views at sunset and sunrise...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank docteled
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taunton, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 October 2011

We stayed at this hotel for 3 nights and it was wonderful All the staff were incredibly helpfull
The reception was very helpful and always with a smile nothing was too much.
The waiters were also very helpful and nothing was too much.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alfrida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2011

The hotel is situated right on the beach and our room was lovely. There was fruit in our room on arrival and after I said that the bed was a little too hard for me every effort was made to make me feel comfortable. Nothing was too much trouble for the staff. My friend had a relaxing massage and I used the hydro pool it was bliss. Sabaudia town is small but has everything you need and even though it was not hot like summer I had long walks on the beach and hot tubs on my balcony overlooking the sea. I would return tomorrow.

Room Tip: sea views are best
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aadorni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palm Coast, Fl
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 November 2010

Wonderful beachfront hotel with magnificient views. Extremely clean throughout. The restaurant where breakfast is served has lovely oceanviews and the food is very plentiful and delicious. Staff is very courteous & friendly and did appreciate my attempt at Italian. The town of Sabaudia is small, easy to drive about, with fine grocery stores and restaurants.
The only drawback to the hotel is the parking, which is at the top of the hill and there is a very long and steep cobblestone driveway to get to the hotel itself. You can drive down, drop things off, and then proceed to the parking, but still have the long walk down. It is so steep you could either ski or sleigh down.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank FLjoan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sabaudia
0.5 mi away
Le Dune Hotel
Le Dune Hotel
#6 of 9 in Sabaudia
301 reviews
0.4 mi away
Il San Francesco Charming Hotel
6.7 mi away
Hotel Maga Circe
Hotel Maga Circe
#2 of 7 in San Felice Circeo
199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hotel Le Palme
Hotel Le Palme
#3 of 9 in Sabaudia
120 reviews
6.6 mi away
Circeo Park Hotel
Circeo Park Hotel
#3 of 7 in San Felice Circeo
260 reviews
5.7 mi away
Hotel Punta Rossa
Hotel Punta Rossa
#1 of 7 in San Felice Circeo
197 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oasi di Kufra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oasi di Kufra

Property: Oasi di Kufra
Address: Lungomare di Sabaudia, Km 29.800, 04016, Sabaudia, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Province of Latina > Sabaudia
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Sabaudia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Oasi di Kufra 4*
Number of rooms: 125
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Priceline so you can book your Oasi di Kufra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oasi Di Kufra Sabaudia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing