We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our second visit”
Review of Hotel Edelweiss

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Sauze d'Oulx
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hotel Edelweiss
Ranked #11 of 31 Hotels in Sauze d'Oulx
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 January 2014

Having just read the previous very negative review I felt compelled to write my very first review as I disagree with just about everything written.
A group of 6 adults stayed here over New Year this year being our second visit. From the outset we were made to feel very welcome and all staff from cleaners to kitchen staff were extremely friendly and above all helpful.
We all had basic rooms which were not huge but enough room for two and plenty hanging space. All our rooms over looked the slope and the view was wonderful.
The hotel is not in the centre of Sauze d'Oulx but the location was perfect as almost ski in and out. To get to the centre of town does involve a walk up a very steep hill but is manageable if your fit and I would if thought most people that went skiing had some level of fitness so really not a huge problem. If it is then Bruno the owner is more than happy to offer a lift into town and it is a very easy walk back. There is also the ski bus which stops close by and we used this a few times to take us up into town for happy hour.
The only disappointment for us was the evening meal. Starters were always tasty consisting of either soup or pasta but the main course was generally not good and only Luke warm as served on cold plates. We never encountered a frozen dessert and on the whole they were very good. There was always fresh ham and cheese along with croissant and cake for breakfast. Yes only cornflakes and coco pops on offer in the way of cereal but we never went hungry as there were plenty other items to choose.
I have to say that none of us found the bed uncomfortable and because hotel is not in centre we always had a good nights sleep as did not get disturbed by drunken revellers. We stayed in Sauze town some years ago and found it to be very noisy so we much preferred being just out of centre.
The bar area is great. Roaring fire every night, two large comfy sofas if you wish to relax and plenty of tables to sit round whilst enjoying a drink which were no more expensive than any of the bars in town, unless it was happy hour at some if the bars. Oh and just one other thing don't ever recall the hotel smelling in fact just the opposite it always smelt very nice as there were air fresheners dotted around.
We enjoyed our stay so much we will return. What would make this hotel even better would be an improvement in the evening meal but this won't stop us returning.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
3  Thank Gillian K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (108)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

65 - 71 of 108 reviews

Reviewed 23 January 2014

Where do I start? I cannot recommend this Hotel at all!
On arrival, we were given a cold welcome, given our room keys and lwft to find everything to ourselves. the rooms were clean and warm, very warm, too warm to be comfortable, but also very small. the beds were rock hard and singles were extremely narrow. the bathroom was also small and the shower was a joke, with the curtain closed i couldnt even lift my arms!
Further along, after being told we would have use of the sauna and hot tub included in our price. we were told by the staff it was not included (this was one of the biggest reasons we decided to stay here) and it would be 15euro per person, per hour and had to give 24 hours notice to use it!!!
The lounge area was accomodating, but always had a very bad odour coming from the toilet, as if the drains were blocked.
Breakfast was incredibly basic. stale bread rolls everyday and some dry ham and cheese. cereal was an option of cheap cornflakes or cocopops, never a hot option!
no afternoon tea and cakes, although crisps and other nibbles were available by the bar. drinks were expensive for patrons, you would expect a reasonable price to encourage people to stay in to drink, but we ended up staying out or drinking water.
Dinner was completely unnaceptable, other reviews have said it was basic, but this was student territory! for the price we paid it was horrendous, poor quality food not well cooked, bland small portions, and desserts not fully defrosted.
the only real benefit of this hotel is its proximity to the lift, but at the cost of being miles away from town, its a good 10-15 minute walk up a 1 in 3 hill, very impractical. the staff i felt were rude and unhelpful, and everything you asked them was a real inconvenience to them.
ive been on skiing/boarding trips for 6-7 years now, stayed self catered, fully catered and half board and experienced the best and worst some places have to offer, but this really was THE worst place ive stayed. The resort is excellent though and i highly recommend going, just dont stay here!!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Stuart M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2014

Hotel Edelweiss and its staff surpassed my expectations. From the moment I arrived to the morning of departure the staff were warm and welcoming and always happy to help.
I was there (with a friend) on a half board basis and was very happy with the food provided. While not ground breaking, the continental breakfast was delightful (especially the warm pain au chocolat's) and dinner's were very nice. with a choice of two starters and two main courses each day. The waitresses were lovely and always had a smile for us.
the rooms were a good size and from what I saw most if not all had a balcony (ours over looked the peiste and ski lift below). It was clean and was attended to daily by the hotel staff. The mattresses were made of foam (not memory foam) and were a little on the hard side for my liking, but I still managed a good night’s sleep each night.
The bar area was very welcoming with an open log fire surrounded by sofa's and plenty of tables and chairs. There was also a decking area outside the bar.
The only negative I found was that the walls were not the best at blocking noise from a particularly loud group when they came back from a night out. I suspect this was due to the noise they were making as normal conversation could not be heard and there was no sound of any TV’s coming through the walls at any other time.
The ski in-ski out location does mean that the hotel in on a hill and therefore the walk into town is a pretty steep one. However, it's not like climbing Everest and if you take your time you will be fine. Alternatively, the staff in the hotel are always happy to give you a lift up there. The town itself is a lovely old town with plenty of period buildings (worth the walk if you are into that sort of thing). On the bright side, it's all downhill on the walk back. A small word of caution, most of the shops, including supermarkets and pharmacy, close while the slopes are open so don't expect to get anything from them until 4-4.30pm. All the bars and restaurants are open all day though.
Overall, this was a fantastic hotel with friendly staff. It is in a perfect location for skiers and next time I ski in Sauze D'oulx I will defiantly be staying there.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank English1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2014 via mobile

Nice clean hotel with fantastic friendly staff who go out there way to help you. Good location, although is a good ten min walk up to Sauze but Bruno always gives you lift in the evening. Ski in ski out.
Rooms were small, some have tvs not many, some have balconies over looking slope.
Lighting in stairwell and halls on time switches and can be pitched black and really dangerous.
Prices at bar very reasonable.
The food wasn't great but they would go out there way to cook you something else and were especially good to the kids ie cooked pizza, burgers and pasta.
The town is lovely.
The ski hire shop gros sport is fantastic really helpful and knowledgable.
I would recommend this hotel and would come back.

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kazmiththecowboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2013

The owners made us feel welcome as soon as we arrived and were always around if we needed anything. the double room was big enough for all our ski gear, not huge but there was enough space and storage. We had a lovely view and balcony. The heating is very effecient, and we could not see that we could turn heating down so slept with the window open, which worked out fine. The room and bathroom were very clean and housekeeping came everyday and did a superb job.

The chef was excellent and the waitresses were fantastic, only problem we had was not over indulging. Bruno always provided great wine which he was happy to keep for you the next day if you hadn't finished the bottle.

Lovely bar area with great open fire and sofas too.

We would thoroughly recommend this hotel, easy to ski to the lift which was important to us. We walked back up from the lift but there are two pistes that run to the hotel which we never quite made it onto, (they were not officially open as not quite enough snow), however other guests had ski'd down them.

Room Tip: Ask for 1st floor balcony. We stayed in 212.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tamhodson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2013

First of all this hotel is not in the town of Sauze D'oulx, it's in Jovenceaux. Jovenceaux is a one horse town with two bars/restaurants. So if you want nightlife on your doorstep this is not the place to be. Sauze D'oulx town is a 15 minute walk, and it's a tough 1 in 4 hill all the way. Don't try it without oxygen or a paramedic on stand by! The hotel is clean and homely, typical budget ski accommodation, but some of the rooms are tiny with very little space for storage and hanging damp kit. If you're lucky you'll have a balcony with views down to the Jovenceaux lift just 150 metres away. Best part about this hotel is its ski in-ski out location. The lift was never busy and nor was the red run (12 I think) bringing you back alongside the hotel. Compare this to the queues at the Clotes lift and the 'busy motorway' return into Sauze at the end of the day.
Evening meals were better than I expected plenty of of food with some decent pasta dishes. House wine was only good for putting on chips so don't bother, wine from the pukka wine list was bettter but expensive. Breakfast was rather spartan and as others have commented, the bread rolls were dire. Only major disappointment at this was the sauna and hot tub facilities mentioned in the Nielson brochure. 17 euros per person, per session to use them, how ridiculous. So overall, a clean, friendly budget hotel, but nothing to recommend a return visit apart from the ski in-ski out location

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AirCooledHeaven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2013

Stayed at the Hotel Edelweiss in March 2013, having chosen this hotel based on the good Tripadvisor reviews. I have to say that the previous positive comments I had read were all spot-on. The hotel has a cosy, comfortable feel and the location is great, unless you want to be out on the town every night! The staff are friendly and accommodating; evening meal food is good, although the continental style breakfast is a little limited in choice.

We stayed in a three-bed room (myself, wife and 18yr old son), not huge, but adequate; lovely view from the balcony; clean and with plenty of hot water from the good shower. The third bed was a camp bed, not ideal for an 18 yr old but again, adequate. Only negative regarding the room was the plastic under-sheets on the beds.

One other slight negative comment is the speed at which the staff serve the evening meal. No sooner have they cleaned away the plates from one course and the next course arrives! It would've been nice to enjoy the good food in a more leisurely manner.

Overall, I would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 576ChrisP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sauze d'Oulx hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Stella Alpina
Hotel Stella Alpina
#4 of 31 in Sauze d'Oulx
236 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Hermitage
Hotel Hermitage
#22 of 31 in Sauze d'Oulx
103 reviews
0.9 mi away
Chalet Il Capricorno Hotel
Chalet Il Capricorno Hotel
#10 of 31 in Sauze d'Oulx
93 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel K2
Hotel K2
#7 of 31 in Sauze d'Oulx
45 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Sauze
Hotel Sauze
#14 of 31 in Sauze d'Oulx
150 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Gran Baita
Hotel Gran Baita
#1 of 31 in Sauze d'Oulx
246 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Edelweiss? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Edelweiss

Address: Via Fraiteve 19, 10050 Sauze d'Oulx, Italy
Region: Italy > Piedmont > Province of Turin > Sauze d'Oulx
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 31 Hotels in Sauze d'Oulx
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Edelweiss 2*
Number of rooms: 274
Also Known As:
Hotel Edelweiss Italy/Province Of Turin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing