We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyed the Hotel”
Review of Hotel Edelweiss

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Sauze d'Oulx
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hotel Edelweiss
Ranked #9 of 31 Hotels in Sauze d'Oulx
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Enjoyed the Hotel”
Reviewed 18 February 2014

Hotel clean, tidy and warm. Walls thin but still quiet. Staff very friendly and welcoming. Good location down to ski lift. We enjoyed the walk up to Sauze but we had to stop 4 times to get our breath back. Still thats us.

The breakfasts are good. The evening meal not so. It would be easy to serve reasonably tasty meals on a budget, but the hotel needs some imagination in this department.

The skiing is excellent for intermediates. I would go again but think of eating out in the evenings.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DownhillBoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

108 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    40
    44
    17
    4
    3
See reviews for
32
26
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Waterford, Ireland
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 February 2014 via mobile

This is my fourth time to stay at this hotel with my family. We have stayed and skied at many other resorts in Europe but always return to this one. The hotel is one of the most conveniently located places in relation to the ski lift and slopes and the short transfer from Turin is very handy. In fact the ski lift is literally located at the bottom of the garden slope about 150M. Coming home you can ski straight to the door. Ski hire shop Gros Sport is located about 2 mins walk away. Really easy and convenient. The skiing here is superb there is something for everyone from kids to experts. The slopes and scenery are magnificent and the pistes are perfectly groomed and maintained. Everything is very convenient and you do not have to travel far. Ideal for kids and beginners as the baby slope learning area is conveniently located to all other amenities. Almost always good snow due to location and altitude. As for hotel edelwiess it is super. The family owners and staff are all friendly and welcoming. The hotel and rooms are immaculately clean and tidy. Great views from the rooms / balcony. Bedrooms well appointed and warm. Lovely atmosphere with roaring open fire every evening in the bar. Snacks and drinks available at the bar. Breakfast and dinner are served in the newly refurbished dining room. It's very nice and spacious. Breakfast is adequate and designed to suit a variety of tastes. Dinner is a three course meal. Again designed to suit different tastes so some meals you will love some you won't, but overall it is very good. Staff are extremely nice and very accommodating. I think this is a very price balanced accommodation and very good value. If you need to tick all of the boxes for a great well priced hotel then you can't go to wrong. If you're looking for the ritz then you need to book the
ritz. Hotel is located 10 mins walk from town centre- nice balance as you can go for night life if you want but relax and enjoy the peace of the country in the hotel. I love it and think overall it has a lot going for it. I will always return and go back. It is great for family's, couples, older ones, and young people.

Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
5 Thank Struan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
79 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 February 2014

Stayed here a few times and have always been pleased with this hotel. A short walk through 'the back garden' takes you to the ski lift and most of the time (baring late season ) you can ski back to the hotel. Its not a 5 star hotel but I have always been made very welcome by the staff. Value for money - Excellent.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bgee123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nuneaton
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2014 via mobile

Having just read the previous very negative review I felt compelled to write my very first review as I disagree with just about everything written.
A group of 6 adults stayed here over New Year this year being our second visit. From the outset we were made to feel very welcome and all staff from cleaners to kitchen staff were extremely friendly and above all helpful.
We all had basic rooms which were not huge but enough room for two and plenty hanging space. All our rooms over looked the slope and the view was wonderful.
The hotel is not in the centre of Sauze d'Oulx but the location was perfect as almost ski in and out. To get to the centre of town does involve a walk up a very steep hill but is manageable if your fit and I would if thought most people that went skiing had some level of fitness so really not a huge problem. If it is then Bruno the owner is more than happy to offer a lift into town and it is a very easy walk back. There is also the ski bus which stops close by and we used this a few times to take us up into town for happy hour.
The only disappointment for us was the evening meal. Starters were always tasty consisting of either soup or pasta but the main course was generally not good and only Luke warm as served on cold plates. We never encountered a frozen dessert and on the whole they were very good. There was always fresh ham and cheese along with croissant and cake for breakfast. Yes only cornflakes and coco pops on offer in the way of cereal but we never went hungry as there were plenty other items to choose.
I have to say that none of us found the bed uncomfortable and because hotel is not in centre we always had a good nights sleep as did not get disturbed by drunken revellers. We stayed in Sauze town some years ago and found it to be very noisy so we much preferred being just out of centre.
The bar area is great. Roaring fire every night, two large comfy sofas if you wish to relax and plenty of tables to sit round whilst enjoying a drink which were no more expensive than any of the bars in town, unless it was happy hour at some if the bars. Oh and just one other thing don't ever recall the hotel smelling in fact just the opposite it always smelt very nice as there were air fresheners dotted around.
We enjoyed our stay so much we will return. What would make this hotel even better would be an improvement in the evening meal but this won't stop us returning.

Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank Gillian K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2014

Where do I start? I cannot recommend this Hotel at all!
On arrival, we were given a cold welcome, given our room keys and lwft to find everything to ourselves. the rooms were clean and warm, very warm, too warm to be comfortable, but also very small. the beds were rock hard and singles were extremely narrow. the bathroom was also small and the shower was a joke, with the curtain closed i couldnt even lift my arms!
Further along, after being told we would have use of the sauna and hot tub included in our price. we were told by the staff it was not included (this was one of the biggest reasons we decided to stay here) and it would be 15euro per person, per hour and had to give 24 hours notice to use it!!!
The lounge area was accomodating, but always had a very bad odour coming from the toilet, as if the drains were blocked.
Breakfast was incredibly basic. stale bread rolls everyday and some dry ham and cheese. cereal was an option of cheap cornflakes or cocopops, never a hot option!
no afternoon tea and cakes, although crisps and other nibbles were available by the bar. drinks were expensive for patrons, you would expect a reasonable price to encourage people to stay in to drink, but we ended up staying out or drinking water.
Dinner was completely unnaceptable, other reviews have said it was basic, but this was student territory! for the price we paid it was horrendous, poor quality food not well cooked, bland small portions, and desserts not fully defrosted.
the only real benefit of this hotel is its proximity to the lift, but at the cost of being miles away from town, its a good 10-15 minute walk up a 1 in 3 hill, very impractical. the staff i felt were rude and unhelpful, and everything you asked them was a real inconvenience to them.
ive been on skiing/boarding trips for 6-7 years now, stayed self catered, fully catered and half board and experienced the best and worst some places have to offer, but this really was THE worst place ive stayed. The resort is excellent though and i highly recommend going, just dont stay here!!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Stuart M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crawley, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 January 2014

Hotel Edelweiss and its staff surpassed my expectations. From the moment I arrived to the morning of departure the staff were warm and welcoming and always happy to help.
I was there (with a friend) on a half board basis and was very happy with the food provided. While not ground breaking, the continental breakfast was delightful (especially the warm pain au chocolat's) and dinner's were very nice. with a choice of two starters and two main courses each day. The waitresses were lovely and always had a smile for us.
the rooms were a good size and from what I saw most if not all had a balcony (ours over looked the peiste and ski lift below). It was clean and was attended to daily by the hotel staff. The mattresses were made of foam (not memory foam) and were a little on the hard side for my liking, but I still managed a good night’s sleep each night.
The bar area was very welcoming with an open log fire surrounded by sofa's and plenty of tables and chairs. There was also a decking area outside the bar.
The only negative I found was that the walls were not the best at blocking noise from a particularly loud group when they came back from a night out. I suspect this was due to the noise they were making as normal conversation could not be heard and there was no sound of any TV’s coming through the walls at any other time.
The ski in-ski out location does mean that the hotel in on a hill and therefore the walk into town is a pretty steep one. However, it's not like climbing Everest and if you take your time you will be fine. Alternatively, the staff in the hotel are always happy to give you a lift up there. The town itself is a lovely old town with plenty of period buildings (worth the walk if you are into that sort of thing). On the bright side, it's all downhill on the walk back. A small word of caution, most of the shops, including supermarkets and pharmacy, close while the slopes are open so don't expect to get anything from them until 4-4.30pm. All the bars and restaurants are open all day though.
Overall, this was a fantastic hotel with friendly staff. It is in a perfect location for skiers and next time I ski in Sauze D'oulx I will defiantly be staying there.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank English1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Epsom, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2014 via mobile

Nice clean hotel with fantastic friendly staff who go out there way to help you. Good location, although is a good ten min walk up to Sauze but Bruno always gives you lift in the evening. Ski in ski out.
Rooms were small, some have tvs not many, some have balconies over looking slope.
Lighting in stairwell and halls on time switches and can be pitched black and really dangerous.
Prices at bar very reasonable.
The food wasn't great but they would go out there way to cook you something else and were especially good to the kids ie cooked pizza, burgers and pasta.
The town is lovely.
The ski hire shop gros sport is fantastic really helpful and knowledgable.
I would recommend this hotel and would come back.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kazmiththecowboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sauze d'Oulx hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel Relais Des Alpes
Hotel Relais Des Alpes
#5 of 31 in Sauze d'Oulx
253 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Sauze
Hotel Sauze
#12 of 31 in Sauze d'Oulx
150 reviews
0.9 mi away
Chalet Il Capricorno Hotel
Chalet Il Capricorno Hotel
#16 of 31 in Sauze d'Oulx
88 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Gran Baita
Hotel Gran Baita
#1 of 31 in Sauze d'Oulx
240 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Miravalle
Hotel Miravalle
#3 of 31 in Sauze d'Oulx
198 reviews
0.3 mi away
Grand Hotel Besson
Grand Hotel Besson
#13 of 31 in Sauze d'Oulx
268 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Edelweiss? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Edelweiss

Property: Hotel Edelweiss
Address: Via Fraiteve 19, 10050 Sauze d'Oulx, Italy
Region: Italy > Piedmont > Province of Turin > Sauze d'Oulx
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 31 Hotels in Sauze d'Oulx
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Edelweiss 2*
Number of rooms: 274
Also Known As:
Hotel Edelweiss Italy/Province Of Turin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing