We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wow!! Very impressive!”
Review of Grand Hotel Regina

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Grand Hotel Regina
memphis
Level Contributor
29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Wow!! Very impressive!”
Reviewed 16 October 2013

We traveled as a family and were not expecting the grandeur for the unbelievable price! Rooms were beautiful, clean and very comfortable. One review said its hard to find, and we wondered how you could hide such a big hotel. Once we got there we saw that its behind buildings in a piazza for pedestrians. Once you get to the Thermal bath building, it's right around the corner.
We LOVED Salsomaggiore! Such a picturesque little town.

Breakfast was very good, and the staff couldn't have been nicer. Highly recommend this hotel!

Room Tip: Ask for a balcony room over the piazza.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nikkiMemphis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

347 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    201
    94
    25
    17
    10
See reviews for
59
137
18
37
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Gulfport
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2013

The Grand Hotel Regina is perhaps one of the best values I have had in Italy. At 59-66 Euros a night with AC and one of the largest breakfast buffets of sweets, cakes and fruits I have seen, it’s a wonderful place to stay. The hotel can be hard to find as it’s front façade is in the middle of the town in a ZTL (not a camera ZTL so no ticket unless the police write you a ticket). GPS software will typically take you either in the ZTL (which is ok for dropping off but realize if you enter on one side you will be driving by tables and chairs (which can be very uncomfortable) or take you to a dead end street with three poles at the end of it for taxis and other official cars. The hotel does have parking and it is convenient right on the back side of the hotel but it does cost and is limited (you are not guaranteed a spot). There is free parking down the road in a public lot.

The people in the hotel are wonderful and you can get around all over Parma from this town.

One special mention is that out of the front door of the hotel you are put in the middle of the town. A gem of a restaurant is less than 100 meters away. Take a left and walk toward the curve (you’ll know it when you see it). At the end of the curve is a restaurant with outdoor tables and some inside. The prices, food and service is just wonderful and one of the better values we had. They open for drinks @ 6:30pm and dinner starts at 7:30.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Phil M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2013

We stayed at Grand Hotel Regina just one night, and it was a very enjoyable experience.
The room was quite large, even though we had an extra person (with his baby cot) in the room.
The bathroom had a full-size bath and all other necessary amenities, which is not an often occurrence in Italy. Also I'd like to mention very helpful and accommodating staff both at the reception desk and in the breakfast room.

Room Tip: If you prefer a really early and quiet night, ask for rooms facing side-streets.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yyalllo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Petersburg, Florida
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2013 via mobile

The rooms are very small and average quality. The breakfast buffet was nice but it is not the best for hot foods as the do not keep them warm throughout service so if you come down later something that should be hot is now cold. The value is good, but I personally would look for a better quality hotel if I were to come back.

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank ckmrfl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cremolino, Italy
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2013

Booked this hotel for 1 night for 3 persons. Found it using booking(dot)com and it had very good rating so we went for it. When we arrived we didn't expect it to be that magnificent!
The receptionist was very nice and clear about everything.
It's right in the middle of the city center (i think that's what it is!) with a lot of restaurants and bars around it.
The breakfast buffet was absolutely amazing with a lot of cakes, yay!
The city itself was also very beautiful and calm.
Last but not least: The price for 3 persons for 1 night was very cheap and intriguing.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank geo t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Island of Malta, Malta
Level Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed 14 September 2013

We stayed for 8 nights in this hotel. The location is good in the piazza and safe too.
The staff was very helpfull and friendly. Breakfast was also very good. If you want to go sleep early ask for a room on the back. But if you are on holiday it's worth it if you stay in the piazza and be able to enjoy the music in the evening.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ian A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chester, UK
Level Contributor
55 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2013

We stayed for 3 nights for £33 per night which was amazing value especially as it included breakfast

The breakfast was great with lots of variety.

The room was clean but dated and fortunately we had a room on the back and didnt suffer the loud music from the piazza.

The free parking was about 200 meters away but fine as you could load and unload luggage in front of the hotel.

Overall great value but dated.

Room Tip: Ask for one at the back..not sure if there were better rooms as some had larger flat screen tvs than...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alanfp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Salsomaggiore Terme hotels
0.3 mi away
Centro Termale Il Baistrocchi
Centro Termale Il Baistrocchi
#41 of 50 in Salsomaggiore Terme
713 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Villa Fiorita
Hotel Villa Fiorita
#5 of 50 in Salsomaggiore Terme
160 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Elite
Hotel Elite
#2 of 50 in Salsomaggiore Terme
461 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Antico Borgo di Tabiano Castello
Antico Borgo di Tabiano Castello
#1 of 1 in Tabiano Castello
757 reviews
0.1 mi away
Albergo Casa Romagnosi
Albergo Casa Romagnosi
#8 of 50 in Salsomaggiore Terme
227 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hotel Astoria
Hotel Astoria
#6 of 16 in Tabiano
79 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Regina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Regina

Property: Grand Hotel Regina
Address: Largo Roma 3, 43039, Salsomaggiore Terme, Italy
Region: Italy > Emilia-Romagna > Province of Parma > Salsomaggiore Terme
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 50 Hotels in Salsomaggiore Terme
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel Regina 4*
Number of rooms: 84
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Evoline ltd and Hotel.de so you can book your Grand Hotel Regina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing