We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pros and Cons”
Review of Hotel Valentini

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Valentini
Sydney
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Pros and Cons”
Reviewed 11 October 2013

A very nice hotel, but badly in need of maintenance. Some light fixtures did not work in our room and were not fixed. We had two TV sets, but not a single English channel - not really the fault of the hotel, but a couple of English in-house movies would have been nice. If you are out of condition beware - there are a lot of steps to negotiate from and to the hotel to the main street, and again they are in poor condition.

We stayed as part of a Cosmos group, and while the counter staff were nice and helpful, it was in the dining room that we were made to feel like second-rate guests. The dining room staff fawned all over the non-Cosmos guests and gave them fast ordering and meal service. One night we waited almost an hour to have our orders taken. No butter on the tables for the bread roles for any meal, and we had to ask at other tables for salt and pepper shakers and the bowls of parmesan cheese. That may have been bad enough, but the meals were incredibly stingy and in most instances quite awful, and usually the main part of the dish was cold or at best lukewarm. One night my wife ordered the calamari dish; what she got was a couple of soggy baby octopi floating in what resembled mushy peas. One lady on our table pushed it aside and said she could even look at it, let alone eat it. The veal looked more like beef and was shaved so thin that it was almost like prosciutto on the plate. Another night we ordered lemon chicken and we got two bits of chicken covered in some slimy sauce, which everyone who had it said was horrible. So a box is mostly ticked for the hotel side of things, but no marks at all for a truly awful dining experience. Maybe if you are a regular guest things would be different, but as a Cosmos customer you are treated as inferior when it comes to the dining part of this experience.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Astr0Sydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

187 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    33
    52
    43
    35
    24
See reviews for
23
71
11
31
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Dunedin, New Zealand
Level Contributor
31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2013

We spent 5 nights at the Valentini on a COSMOS tour. After a week in a tiny hotel in Paris, this was quite a change. It certainly had a charm of its own, but is very dated. Our bedroom was large with an 18 foot ceiling and a good bathroom; it was clean and well serviced and we found it comfortable. The food was only average. The wait staff were helpful though with a very limited knowledge of English. Breakfasts were very rudimentary until a member of our party complained (with some success) and cheese, ham and hard boiled eggs were provided. Internet cost 15 euros for 7 days (though the hotel website indicated it was 45 euros). The woman who appeared to be in charge of Reception was anything but friendly.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aiken, South Carolina
Level Contributor
70 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2013

I spent 5 days at the Valentini, and I really enjoyed the Old World charm of days gone by. Beware that there is a 120 step climb from the street, which is great to climb if you intend to eat pasta and gelato all week long like we did. The inside of the hotel is immaculately clean and inviting. Our room was quite spacious, and the staff were very busy, but made every effort to attend to our needs. The Valentini appeared to be one of the prettiest Hotels in the quaint town of Salsomaggiore. The quiet location is quite conducive to great sleeping, and we felt very "at home" there.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eurogirl1454
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Covina, California
Level Contributor
58 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2013

I went with Cosmos Tours. The hotel is in a lovely setting and has an old world feel. Dinner was more than enough. Just the antipasto and appetizer--usually a hearty soup or huge portion of pasta would be enough. Continental breakfast. Staff speaks limited English--couldn't answer questions about wi-fi or internet or phone usage and our guide was staying at another hotel. I had a room problem and a surly receptionist told me that 10 pm was very late and she couldn't do anything. Nice as the setting was--it is up a hill and up many stairs--so walking-challenged beware. The restaurant staff lovely--although limited English. Park setting very nice--a great summer place. Quiet and yet the town was at the bottom of the hill and if guest has no ambulatory problems a great choice. I would stay again. Town is charming and so far, off the beaten path. It, like the hotel is a spa treatment center. However, some of us felt that the hotel spa had a hospital feel and appearance. Splurge and go to the gorgeous, old spa.
'

Room Tip: try to get a side room with a balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mary m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
manchester
Level Contributor
43 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2010

Salsomaggiore Terme is charming,elegant and has probably seen better days. Similarly with the Hotel Valentini but we had a really pleasant 4 day stay and would thoroughly recommend this resort and this hotel. Every aspect of the hotel is good or very good.
Nudger Manchester

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank nudgermanchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
39 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 February 2010

At first, you may think the location is a little off, since the hotel is perched atop a little hill. But do not despair - it's only a two-minute walk down stone steps, and five minutes to the middle of town! In any case, the charming yellow facade and impeccably mannered reception should already tell you that this place is a winner.

It's a grande dame kind of hotel - I'm not sure what the history is, but it has the sweeping staircase (and a very modern elevator, unusual in Europe, to complement!). My single room was luxuriously huge for a European hotel - there is even a little foyer separating the (once again, lavishly big) bathroom and the bed section. The TV is a little outdated, but then again, you're in a small town. But don't be deceived by appearances - there is CNN, which is rare since most hotels in Italy only run local channels. There is plenty of storage space with a huge wardrobe and sliding full-length mirror doors - my only complaint here is that the safe is way too small, so you couldn't stow a laptop in there. However, the bed is a comfortable double with smooth linens - that more than makes up for the puny safe.

I just came from the Best Western Hotel San Donato in Bologna, so it was disconcerting to find the bathroom amenities lacking compared to a chain, this being a much more luxurious albergo (Italian for hotel), but then again, I attribute that to the fact that it's in a small town. You get packets of shampoo/body gel and bar hand soap, so if you need more than that to look beautiful, bring your own.

There are movies on demand for a fee and wi-fi is chargeable (seven euros for 30 minutes, 14 euros for two hours, 18 euros for 24 hours and 45 euros for a week). I was also a little disappointed with breakfast - again, the spread at the Best Western was much better. There is a nice selection of pastries, breads and desserts here, with packaged jam; also a fresh fruit salad and yogurts, but nothing is hot. This is the reason why I gave the hotel four stars overall, although each part of it earned five stars from me. But that's not to say you couldn't have a full, hearty meal that leaves you smiling as you stand up from the breakfast table.

I came to this little town to the Verdi Half Marathon, and after the race, spent the rest of the afternoon and evening in my room, and felt more than comfortable. I also had lunch in the hotel restaurant, which was excellent and at a reasonable rate for the five-course offering, with perfect service. There is also a thermal bath spa (the town is famous for its thermal baths), which I didn't get a chance to enjoy. But, based on my experience in all other aspects, I would imagine it's extremely satisfying, too.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank desireekoh13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Salsomaggiore Terme hotels
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Bolognese
Grand Hotel Bolognese
#38 of 50 in Salsomaggiore Terme
3.0 of 5 bubbles 84 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Elite
Hotel Elite
#2 of 50 in Salsomaggiore Terme
4.5 of 5 bubbles 450 reviews
2.4 mi away
Hotel Garden
Hotel Garden
#4 of 16 in Tabiano
4.0 of 5 bubbles 169 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Centro Termale Il Baistrocchi
Centro Termale Il Baistrocchi
#40 of 50 in Salsomaggiore Terme
3.0 of 5 bubbles 708 reviews
2.3 mi away
Hotel Astoria
Hotel Astoria
#6 of 16 in Tabiano
4.0 of 5 bubbles 78 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Kursaal
Hotel Kursaal
#22 of 50 in Salsomaggiore Terme
4.0 of 5 bubbles 66 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Valentini? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Valentini

Property: Hotel Valentini
Address: Viale Edoardo Porro 10, 43039, Salsomaggiore Terme, Italy
Region: Italy > Emilia-Romagna > Province of Parma > Salsomaggiore Terme
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #39 of 50 Hotels in Salsomaggiore Terme
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Valentini 4*
Number of rooms: 1
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Expedia, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Valentini reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing