We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful old farmhouse” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Antico Podere Propano

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Antico Podere Propano
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Saluzzo
Certificate of Excellence
The Netherlands
Level Contributor
49 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Beautiful old farmhouse”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 October 2013

Beautiful old farmhouse, just outside the center of Saluzzo.
Part of the farm has been restored as a hotel . It is run by a friendly couple. The rooms are unfortunately not as authentic as the building is, but they are definitely neat, clean. Minibar, air conditioning, good beds and a nice bathroom. The beautiful town of Saluzzo is a 15 minute walk, unfortunately its not such a beautiful route. By car you there in a few minutes, no problem parking in Saluzzo. Delicious breakfast in the 'court' of the farm with the company of two geese and a sweet dog.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bartho0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
giuly1, Direttore at Antico Podere Propano, responded to this review, 20 October 2013
Google Translation
La ringraziamo per la recensione. Siamo lieti che il soggiorno presso il nostro hotel sia stato di Suo gradimento. In particolare riportiamo i saluti delle 2 ochette "Adelina e Guendalina" e del nostro cane "Cucciolo" che la attendono per un'altra colazione in Sua compagnia! ;)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

143 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    81
    56
    5
    1
    0
See reviews for
19
62
6
25
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 September 2013

Having stayed one night in the adjoining Agriturismo, we decided to stay at the hotel the next day. In part because we could then enjoy the buffet breakfast. The hotel room was somewhat more polished than the rustique agriturismo. And it had air-conditioning, welcome during the hot season. Some 750m from the city center, the property is located along the route to Turin, without this being a problem in terms of noise. My wife was reluctant however to take our bikes to ride to the center because of heavy traffic in early evening and morning. Finally, we decided to stay for the whole of our vacation, overwhelmed by the hospitality and helpfulness of the hotel management. Saluzzo is a gem, plenty of good restaurants, beautiful architecture and lots of history to enjoy.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Patrick C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
giuly1, Proprietario at Antico Podere Propano, responded to this review, 10 November 2013
Dear Patrick
First of all I'm glad that you had a nice stay and that you decided to spend all of your holiday with us. I agree that Saluzzo and the area in general is a little gem and offers history, culture, lovely scenery and a very good selection of restaurants all awaiting to be discovered and thank you in helping to do this by making time to write such a concise review.
Best wishes to both your wife and yourself from all at Hotel Antico Podere Propano.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle
Level Contributor
32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2013

Our bike tour company used this location for a two night stay. The rooms are well appointed and very comfortable. Love the courtyard where you can enjoy a drink as the geese wandering on the grass. Staff was very attentive and friendly. Will stay here again!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pparker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
giuly1, Proprietario at Antico Podere Propano, responded to this review, 10 November 2013
Thank you for taking time to write a review on our hotel and such a nice one at that. I must say our geese "the divas" are one of the first things that spring to mind to guests that have boarded with us. I hope you have another chance to stay with us so we can perhaps suggest other bike rides for you to try. Kind regards from all the staff at Propano.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
130 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 October 2012

Stayed here for 4 nights as a base for exploring Saluzzo and surrounds. A very good hotel for its rating. Nothing fancy, but a good bathroom with a decent sized shower (not always the case, even in larger hotels). Comfortable beds, though I found the pillows a little hard and flat. As others have noted, it's a very quiet location. And when the smog cleared after some rain, the view of the alps all around was delightful.The staff are terrific. Very friendly and ready to help, and for non-Italian visitors, they speak English fluently. For breakfast they offer a good selection, and they make top quality coffee. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Warren B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
giuly1, Direttore at Antico Podere Propano, responded to this review, 2 November 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review for our hotel and we are glad you enjoyed your stay with us. We passed on your comments regarding the coffee to our suppliers (who are friends of ours) and they to appreciated your comments very much.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 October 2012

This is an artfully restored, cozy, relaxing farming estate that, supposedly, dates back to the beginning of the 16th century. The hotel is located in a partially converted farming complex at the edge of Saluzzo. The gees in the central courtyard and horses in the stable serve as a refreshing backdrop. The quadrangular structure contains also an Agriturismo business that seems to be run separately from the hotel. I stayed in the hotel for two days. With the town of Saluzzo within a walking distance, the absence of a restaurant on the premisses does not pose any problem. Wifi did not reach the upper floor I occupied.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ahasverdruhy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
giuly1, Proprietario at Antico Podere Propano, responded to this review, 23 October 2012
Thank you for taking time to write about our hotel and also for the positive judgement. The Hotel in the 16th century was the country estate of the Prior to a Cistercian Abbey located on Monbracco and was also a refuge for any travellers who were locked out of Saluzzo (in those days the town's gates were closed at night). It also baked and provided bread to the poor and the name PROPANO derives from Latin "to give bread".
During the restoration we tried to maintain the harmony of the architecture and where possible also the original features.
I am glad you enjoyed your stay with us and I apologise for the WIFI but unfortunately due to the original 60cm walls and the distance there are some technical problems in some rooms.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
85 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 October 2012

We absolutely loved our one night stay at this lovely, quiet hotel in the countryside just outside Saluzzo. We loved the peace and being surrounded by fields. We loved that the building is a working farm with geese grazing on the lawn. The hotel is warm and welcoming yet laid back. It is elegant, tasteful and understated with very friendly helpful staff. We would love to come back. It was so restful. We enjoyed the old town of Saluzzo with its ancient buildings and lack of touristy attractions. These characteristics are so rare these days. We do hope we can return to it all one day.

Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Lesley18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
giuly1, Proprietario at Antico Podere Propano, responded to this review, 20 October 2012
Thank you for such a positive valuation it is much appreciated by all of us at Hotel Antico Podere Propano as are aim is that all our guests have a nice stay and even better want to return. Also I must say the consideration made about the town of Saluzzo also hit the mark. Hoping you will have another opportunity to stay with us in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
Level Contributor
37 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 October 2012

We loved staying at this beautifully renovated hotel located just outside Saluzzo on the grounds of a former farm inherited by the Italian half of the owners. Everything is thoroughly modern and updated yet retains the flavor of a farm with a grassy courtyard surrounded by some of the original buildings, two geese who stroll around and farm equipment. It is very peaceful and quiet and rooms are spacious with modern amenities including air conditioning. The lobby is lovely with brick arches, other pleasing architectural details and comfortable sitting areas. Free wi-fi is available in the lobby. Due to the thickness of the walls, it didn't work in all of the rooms although some members of our group were able to get it in their rooms. Breakfast was delicious with a nice selection of items. This was the first night of a bike trip in the Piemonte area of Italy. It was a great start and we enjoyed it very much.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lindamyers2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
giuly1, Proprietario at Antico Podere Propano, responded to this review, 6 October 2012
Thank you for such lovely comments which are greatly appreciated by all the staff and both my husband and myself (the English half). I'm also pleased it was a good start to your Piedmont tour and I hope you enjoyed the rest of your trip and you have discovered the beauty of my adopted corner of Italy.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saluzzo
0.8 mi away
San Giovanni Hotel Resort
6.3 mi away
Castello Rosso
Castello Rosso
#3 of 5 in Saluzzo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 320 reviews
13.5 mi away
Palazzo Righini
Palazzo Righini
#1 of 4 in Fossano
5.0 of 5 bubbles 590 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Griselda
Hotel Griselda
#4 of 5 in Saluzzo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 86 reviews
9.6 mi away
Alter Hotel
Alter Hotel
#1 of 1 in Barge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 358 reviews
18.5 mi away
Hotel Royal Superga
Hotel Royal Superga
#1 of 8 in Cuneo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 558 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Antico Podere Propano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Antico Podere Propano

Property: Antico Podere Propano
Address: Via Torino 75, 12037 Saluzzo, Italy
Region: Italy > Piedmont > Province of Cuneo > Saluzzo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Saluzzo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Antico Podere Propano 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The farm Propano, that was owned by the Marquis of Saluzzo, has been transformed into a country hotel “Antico Podere Propano”. It is a charming hotel situated on the edge of Saluzzo surrounded by meadows, the mountain chain of Monviso and the fertile Po plain.The Hotel, placed in a peaceful country setting with all modern comforts, offers an ideal combination to make your stay both relaxing and enjoyable. All the 30 bedrooms are no smoking with air conditioning, satellite TV and mini bar. WI-FI is available in public areas and in almost all rooms. The elegantly furnished junior suites have been designed to maintain the characteristics, dimensions and features of the original building and a ground floor one has been adapted for the disabled. The suite, which has a beamed ceiling, offers a delightful bedroom, a sitting room with a balcony and spectacular views towards Monviso and Saluzzo. The large bathroom has both a walk in shower and bathtub.All the rooms are large and well appointed, most overlook the courtyard and are situated either in the sunny south wing, where the old hay lofts were or in the west wing which was home to the farm’s granary. The south wing rooms are decorated in a refined country manner and have terra cotta flooring; the west wing rooms have a more contemporary style and pure wool carpeting. All the rooms have large and well equipped bathrooms the majority with bathtub and overhead shower. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Antico Podere Propano reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Antico Podere Propano Saluzzo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing