We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing break”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Villa Stefania
Ranked #9 of 20 Hotels in San Candido
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 January 2014

Nice and very spacious hotel (rooms are very confortable and renewed mixing modern and vintage/old mountain style, reading/rea rooms, playing room with baby-sitter,complete spa, swimmingpool) staff friendly and professional, restaurant with plenty of choice but sometime quality not as good as you may expect by a 4 star. Children are really welcome but this mean not very quiet atmosphere sometime. If you are skiing facilities are not so close but pedestrian area with shops only few minute walk.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank laulab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
villastefania, Inhaber at Hotel Villa Stefania, responded to this reviewResponded 27 April 2014

Dear “laulab”,
Thank you so much for your review. We are pleased that you enjoyed your holidays with us and to read that you like our style and our facilities.
It was a true pleasure having you with us and we are looking forward to welcome you back!

Kind regards from the Dolomites
Hotel Villa Stefania
Your Ortner Family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (311)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3 - 9 of 311 reviews

Reviewed 7 March 2013

We stayed at Villa Stefania during the week of Carnival 2013. The hotel is in a quiet and pleasant location -- a five-minute walk from the pedestrian area of San Candido. San Candido does not feel like a ski resort -- which to us is a plus. The village is quaint, with lots of restaurants and shops. We were looking for a resort with lots of cross-country skiiing opportunities, and San Candido is perfect for this.

Hotel Villa Stefania is comfortable and charming. We were particularly taken with the old wing, with a comfortable area for afternoon tea. The service was excellent. All the staff was friendly and efficient. The owner of the hotel organizes hikes in the area (free of charge) and we took advantage of this opportunity to discover the beautiful Lago di Braies with her (and her dog).

We stayed in a family suite with two separate rooms. The suite was large and comfortable.

The restaurant's cuisine was very good, with three choices for each course. One of us has food intolerances, but there was always enough choice to accommodate her.

The spa area is large and pleasant to relax in.

A wonderful stay!

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank DiFranco11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
villastefania, Proprietario at Hotel Villa Stefania, responded to this reviewResponded 25 March 2013

Dear Mr. D.,

Thank you so much for your review.
We are pleased that you enjoyed your holidays with us and are looking forward to welcoming you soon again!

Kind regards from the Dolomites
Yours Ortner Family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2013

Yet again a superb winter break at the Hotel Villa Stefania. Beautiful views, very comfortable rooms, great food and very friendly/helpful staff. The spa complex is most welcome at the end of a day's walking or skiing. The guided walks taken by Mary Ortner (the owner) are an added bonus and show you areas not normally seen by holidaymakers. We will be back!

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KayandGeoff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
villastefania, Proprietario at Hotel Villa Stefania, responded to this reviewResponded 18 February 2013

Dear Mrs. and Mrs. R.,

many thanks for your excellent review! We are so happy that you had another great holiday at the Hotel Villa Stefania and we look forward to welcoming you soon!

Your Ortner family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2013

This was our second stay at the Hotel Villa Stefania, and it was just as wonderful as the first. The hotel itself is beautiful, with wonderful views of the mountains if your room looks out the back of the hotel. There is a spa facility, that is an added bonus. But the the best part is the breakfast and dinner that comes with your stay. The dinner is a multi-course event that is truely superb. We traveled with 2 other couples, and what a great conclusion to the end of a long day of shopping and sightseeing! For americans like us, the hotel and the dinning was a very upscale experience. The staff was friendly and helpful, and I would stay there again in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank flyguy591
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
villastefania, Proprietario at Hotel Villa Stefania, responded to this reviewResponded 2 February 2013

Dear guest,

thank you so much for your review. We are very happy that you enjoyed your holiday at the Hotel Villa Stefania. It’s a pleasure to welcome guests who travel such a long way for visiting us :-) .

We hope to welcome you soon again! Kind regards from the Dolomites,
Your Ortner Family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2012

Excellent hotel with delcious food and a great staff. The wellness center was fabulous!

Room Tip: If you are a family of fous, ask for the family suite. Room 214 is really spacious!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Arne Baard D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
villastefania, Inhaber at Hotel Villa Stefania, responded to this reviewResponded 31 March 2012

Dear Mr. D.

thank you very very much for your review . We are very happy that you enjoyed your holiday.
It was a great pleasure to have you as our guests and we would be happy to welcome you again at our hotel!

THANK YOU

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2012

Over the past 10 years we have stayed here in both summer and winter and have never been disappointed. There is a relaxed friendly atmosphere in the hotel which is very comfortable. The staff are extremely helpful and the food is excellent. The Spa complex is a welcome bonus at the end of a day's skiing or walking.

Room Tip: South facing rooms all have a view of the mountains and a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KayandGeoff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
villastefania, Inhaber at Hotel Villa Stefania, responded to this reviewResponded 1 April 2012

Dear guests,
thank you so much for your review. It's a honour for us that you choose Hotel Villa Stefania everys year for your holidays. We hope to see you soon again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2009

The Hotel is located on the outskirts of the town, but you're still at a 7-minute walk from the ski facilities on the Haunold mountain, as San Candido isn't that big. The staff can help you in getting the most of your ski time. For langlauf lovers, there is a bus directly in front of the hotel that takes you in less than 10 minutes straight to Dobbiaco, the langlauf paradise for the Sudtirol region.

We had a room in the new and the original part of the building. Both were climatized. There was a mini-bar available to fill up yourself, a safe, sattelite television (Sky), and a small balcony to enjoy the sun all day long.

Dinner is exceptional, with a daily changing proposed menu, and a weekly alternative. You can combine from both, and when stating your preference in the morning, the cook is willing to accept special requests. The quality of the food was excellent, and the quantities are tyrolean : more than enough while not exaggerated.

The staff is what makes the dinner experience what it is: when staying for a few days, they know your preferences and act accordingly. I had to ask my cappucino once the first breakfast. After that, it was waiting for me every morning by the time I returned from the extensive breakfast buffet.

Part of the hotel is a 'teestube' (tea house) dating from 1911. Every afternoon between 4 and 6, a daily changing selection of teas is freely proposed to the guests. A smaller selection is available in the spa section.

The spa section combines a swimming pool with water jets and integrated jaccuzi, a small fitness center, and a wellness corner with sauna, hammam, infrared cabin and rain showers. They are littered with benches and seats to allow calm relaxation between two sips of your tea.

Children are welcome guests here, as there is a specific children playroom. Every day Alex the animator is available between ski and supper, and after supper until 10 o'clock.

Everybody had a marvellous time, and we are already planning our next trip to Villa Stefania next year.

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fiammybe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Candido hotels
0.2 mi away
Sporthotel Tyrol Dolomites
Sporthotel Tyrol Dolomites
#4 of 20 in San Candido
539 reviews
0.2 mi away
Post Hotel – Tradition & Lifestyle
0.2 mi away
Hotel Leitlhof - Dolomiten
Hotel Leitlhof - Dolomiten
#2 of 20 in San Candido
501 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Parkhotel Sole Paradiso
Parkhotel Sole Paradiso
#14 of 20 in San Candido
191 reviews
2.6 mi away
Hotel & Residence Rainer Eggele
0.2 mi away
Boutique-Hotel Orso Grigio
Boutique-Hotel Orso Grigio
#5 of 20 in San Candido
400 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Villa Stefania? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villa Stefania

Address: Via Al Ponte Dei Corrieri 1 | San Candido/Innichen, 39038, San Candido, Italy
Region: Italy > Trentino-Alto Adige > Province of South Tyrol > San Candido
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in San Candido
#7 Romantic Hotel in San Candido
#8 Spa Hotel in San Candido
Price Range: £162 - £259 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Villa Stefania 4*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in one of the greenest and quietest corners of San Candido, the charming Hotel Villa Stefania welcomes guests into an atmosphere of understated elegance set amid sweeping gardens. San Candido (1,170 m) is located in a very favourable position amidst the family-friendly Sesto Dolomites Nature Park. The old town is surrounded by imposing Alpine peaks, dark moor lakes, and bizarre Dolomite Mountains. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Stayforlong S.L., Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Villa Stefania reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stefania Hotel San Candido

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing