We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would stay here again in a heartbeat”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Ciasa Salares
Ranked #8 of 19 Hotels in San Cassiano
Certificate of Excellence
nashville, tn
Level Contributor
104 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
“Would stay here again in a heartbeat”
Reviewed 9 August 2014

Wonderful stay. We had two rooms on the third floor with views that overlooked a meadow and the mountains. The hotel is set back far enough from the road so that it is very quiet. Rooms were spacious, clean, and nicely furnished with contemporary pine furniture, antiques, and oriental rugs.
The hotel is run by the family - many of whom are there working in the hotel (I think the owners grandson was the bartender who gave us an impromptu gin tasting). It is a family run hotel where the family really cares about the guests.
I found the public rooms in the hotel to be nicely decorated too: a combination of lots of oriental rugs, leather, comfy chairs, and mountain chic (antlers etc).
The service was fantastic, especially in the restaurant.

The breakfast was one of the best of our entire trip - with fresh baked breads out of the oven, an unbelievable array of sliced meats and cheese, and an a la carte menu for pancakes, scrambled eggs etc.

Room Tip: Rooms on the backside of the hotel on the upper floors have nice views of the mountains - I think wi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LookOut1313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

207 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    144
    42
    12
    8
    1
See reviews for
63
93
6
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Breckenridge, Colorado
Level Contributor
269 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2014

Access to the Sella Ronda, in my opinion the most beautiful ski tour in the alps, guests that are anxiously waiting for the dinner room to open, 4 course dinners in Guide Michelin quality, family owned with family present....it doesn't get better than this! You can even take a taxi to the #1 voted (for views): Piz Lagazuoi and ski all the way back to the hotel (ok: this will require quite a bit use of your ski poles, a.k.a. pushing yourself in the flatter passages), but an amazing trip. Every room in this hotel (most of them wood-paneled and it smells great) is warm, inviting and you regularly see guests sitting on a cosy bench for 3+hours, just chatting away, enjoying cappuccino's, home made cakes and cookies or a glass of wine. If you want to discover the dolomites in style, THIS is the place to go!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tvonruex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
6 reviews
Reviewed 18 April 2014 via mobile

We have stayed here as a family of four with our two girls now aged 6 and 9 on four different occasions in the last two years, having previously stayed at the Lagacio. The staff are particularly friendly and warm. Our children loved the swimming pool. The suite rooms that we stayed in were well-designed and practical with good storage and lighting and excellent modern bathrooms, while being full of rustic charm.

The hotel benefits from three different dining options ranging from an informal wine bar to a more slightly more formal 3-4 course dinner service to Michelin star excellence. Foodies will definitely enjoy staying at the Ciasa Salares. Breakfast is an extensive and delicious buffet with specially prepared cooked options. The hotel also boasts a very extensive and fairly priced wine cellar.

Whilst the hotel does operate a minivan service, I would recommend hiring a car (make sure it has winter tyres if visiting during the winter) and its an easy journey to the main lift station in San Cassiano which has plenty of parking at Euro 4 per day. The skiing is fabulous - the skiing area is extensive and the infrastructure is modern and well maintained. Eating options on the mountain are also very good.

The hotel is well supervised by the indomitable Nonna Hilda whose fabulous sense of style and commitment to her guests' well-being make Ciasa a wonderful home from home. The rest of the staff are warm and welcoming and have gone out of their way to accommodate our girls with trays of delicious ham and cheese for jetlagged early morning feasts.

All in all, our favourite family holiday destination in the world!

Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank luscious_plum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
309 reviews
194 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 182 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 March 2014

This hotel has all the service and style you'd expect of a luxury hotel without the sincerity trained out of it. The hotel is still very much a family business, but never, because of that, parochial. It's a short walk from the nearest ski lift (200 metres?), so, for that reason, more convenient than the hotels in the village of San Cassiano.

Food is excellent, some of it served by the devoted matriarch of the hotel, Signora Hilda, and the spa is a wonderful retreat after the pistes or instead of them. All staff were excellent and friendly, but Valeria in the restaurant, and Marco, at the bar, were exceptional.

We will return.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank abager
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
58 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 January 2014

We just spent a week in this hotel. We are a couple in our 30's travelling without children. The location is ideal as it's just opposite the Armentarola ski lift, part of dolomiti superski area. It is just outside San Cassiano so you need a car to explore the many excellent restos in the area. You can walk to the slopes in 5 mins (walking in ski boots). The hotel is family run and very family friendly. They have a play room for children and the staff are very patient with them. The owner, Hilda, is always around welcoming the guests and checking that everyone is having a good time.

They have a wine bar and restaurant, another wine bar in the cellar surrounded by 16,000 bottles of wine, a Michelin starred restaurant and the breakfast room which serves half board dinner in the evening. Our favourite was the wine cellar which was very cosy and atmospheric. They serve you a big plate of delicious (free) nibbles with your wine. The Michelin starred one has a modern interpretation of the local cuisine, has only about 10 tables and a warm ambience.
The breakfast in the morning offers plenty of choice from fruit salads, cakes, eggs, varieties of local bread and home made jams and freshly squeezed juices and good coffee.

We stayed in a standard room which was slightly small, not much space around the bed, but it did have a sitting area with 2 armchairs by the window with a nice view onto the mountain. The bathroom was a good size with underfloor heating. There was a flat screen tv with sky box.
The hotel was pretty full with lots of children but we were not disturbed at night with any noise from the other rooms. The crowd was international from Germans to Russians as well as Italians etc.

The spa is nice with a pool, sauna, steam room and Jacuzzi. Not the most amazing spa but clean, pleasant and not too busy. we used it everyday. They offer treatments and massages but we didn't have any.

Overall we thought the hotel was excellent, perfect for families but also for couples (who don't mind children). It has a beautiful feeling of relaxation and quietness. Their prices are a bit below the other 4 star hotels in the area. We would definitely return.


P.S. we understood by chatting with other guests that they have a lot of longstanding repeat business from customers who have been going for many many years hence there are not that many reviews on this website.

PPS. the wifi was free up to 300mb per day.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tommySan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oakton, Virginia, United States
Level Contributor
273 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 164 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2013

We stayed in 6 hotels over a two week stay in Italy and this was my family's favorite. If you are in the Dolomites try to stay here and or dine here! This lovely hotel is snuggled into the side of a hill with amazing views of the mountains. The rooms and baths are spacious and comfortable. Nicely done without being over done. Set up a tasting in their wine cellar. This is what most Americans are trying to replicate. Naturally cooled by the rock it is cut into. It houses over 20,000 bottles of local wine none of which are exported. The Michelin starred restaurant is fantastic but so is the every day restaurant. Vegetables come from the garden out back. While top notch with comfort it also has a fun side for families. Out front is a trampoline, zip line and swing set. Kids had a blast hanging here. Downstairs is a lovely indoor pool and there is a huge spa area. We were here with a group of cyclists and appreciated being able to soak. It looks out at ski runs so it would be wonderful to come here after a day on the slopes too. As we were with a group that set up the hotel stays I will not be able to comment on the pricing/ value of this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kathy I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tongeren, Belgium
Level Contributor
23 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2013

Wonderfull hotel, setting ,food and rooms.

Only 1 thing that i found a little negative, they charge for Wifi (quit a lot) .... anno 2013 I think this is realy something they should offer for free (especcially in this class of hotel)

Room Tip: We stayed in the Salares suit ... one of the most beautifull rooms we ever stayed in ! Double bathr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank m s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Cassiano hotels
1.4 mi away
Hotel & Spa Rosa Alpina
Hotel & Spa Rosa Alpina
#3 of 19 in San Cassiano
241 reviews
1.4 mi away
Wellness Hotel Fanes
Wellness Hotel Fanes
#1 of 19 in San Cassiano
342 reviews
1.2 mi away
Lagacio Hotel Mountain Residence
Lagacio Hotel Mountain Residence
#10 of 19 in San Cassiano
143 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Gran Paradiso
Hotel Gran Paradiso
#2 of 19 in San Cassiano
222 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Diamant
Hotel Diamant
#4 of 19 in San Cassiano
151 reviews
0.9 mi away
Mountain Nature Hotel Stores
Mountain Nature Hotel Stores
#5 of 19 in San Cassiano
220 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Ciasa Salares? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ciasa Salares

Property: Hotel Ciasa Salares
Address: Strada Pre de Vi' 31 | Armentarola, 39036 San Cassiano, Italy
Region: Italy > Trentino-Alto Adige > Province of South Tyrol > San Cassiano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 19 Hotels in San Cassiano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Ciasa Salares 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Ciasa Salares reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing