We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect location”
Review of Alexander

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Alexander
Ranked #9 of 43 Hotels in Sanremo
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 December 2013

We were a group of girlfriends from Sweden who stayed at this very charmig, clean och pefect positioned hotel. I can strongly recommend it to everybody visting Sanremo. Rooms was very clean and comfort and the staff was so helpful and friendly. Breakfast was great and tasty! They suported us with bikes to go for a long bikeride along the beautiful coast and we enjoyed some wonderful days at Hotel Alexander in one of the most charmig streets in Sanremo. Very close and central to shopping as well as to the beach and near the trainstation and close to Piazza Colombo where the busstation is. Will be very happy to come back more times with another group of friends to this charming hotel in the heart of Sanremo!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Scibretta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (251)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

37 - 43 of 251 reviews

Reviewed 23 October 2013

Centrally located and very convenient to everything. This hotel is a small charming old hotel, with an equally charming family feel. We were close to everything and nice local restaurants nearby. Our room was very clean and the breakfasts were excellent.

They have a lovely garden for relaxing and soaking up the local flavor. Easy in and out parking with a reservation.

The very nice Erica and equally nice Sonia, were more the helpful and gracious and there were welcome drinks when we arrived, not just tea but your choice of a nice variety.

Recommend this hotel to all, the rooms are on the smallish side, as are most old hotels but we enjoyed the charm very much and especially the garden seating.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Laurie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2013

Unfortunately, I have to give this hotel only 2 stars (points) because I have got the smalest hotel room in my life with windows directly to the rubish cans((((
The hotel staff speaks some basic English and are ready to help.
Very nice location.

Room Tip: May be it is good to ask for room on the 2d or 3d floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SrVlad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2013

I had to gone into this hotel, in a really really bad & urgent condition asking permission to use their bathroom and the woman working at the reception didn't let me although I explained her the urgency I was in. As simple as it sounds, this comes to show me how rude they are and how badly staff would behave if you ask them something out of the box even if you're one of their customers. Shame on you Hotel Alexander for treating everybody as free riders. I hope the hotel management will seek for more qualified personnel for next year.

Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Liz K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
alessandro i, Direttore at Alexander, responded to this reviewResponded 11 September 2013

Regarding your review, the Direction states: Madam, first of all you have not stayed in our hotel, you asked to use the toilet at that time were not available as it was progressing daily cleaning. Our employee in a gentle manner advised you to use the bathroom of the bar adjacent to the hotel.
We regret the incident but we reiterate emphatically that the first important step in our structure to customers is the respect and kindness. Hoping to have you guest in the future to assess whether it is true that we have stated.
Sincerely.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2013

Hotel was pleasant, nice room, helpful staff and excellent breakfast on 22 April. Just stayed one night and was convenient to train station as we were en route to Montpellier in France. There were good restaurants within walking distance. Would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Starog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2013

We only stayed here for one night as we were travelling from Tuscany to the South of France and SanRemo is about half way. We were pleasantly surprised by the quality of the hotel, which is far better than its three stars. The rooms were spotlessly clean, recently renovated and well-appointed. The garden and breakfast were excellent and the space in the garden was a delight in what is a very tightly-packed town. We had a family room and there was plenty of space for a hotel room for four of us.
However, the best aspect of this hotel was the welcoming atmosphere and the attitude of the staff who couldn't do enough to help. We were offered complimentary drinks and nibbles in the garden after we arrived and were provided with tea and coffee in our room after we returned from our dinner, all free of charge. It was also excellent that we could park on-site with one staff member moving her own car so that ours could fit in easily and not be moved until the following morning.
In short, an excellent hotel with marvellous, helpful, friendly staff.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank markhovenden68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2013

Alexander hotel is the perfect stay weather you chose to stay one night or a whole week. Personal I stayed 6 nights there. The staff there was extremely welcoming. As soon as we got there we were offered a drink(coffee or juice), which was needed after a long trip. The room was quite big i'd say and very very clean(laundry changed every day). The garden instead was something amazing and the breakfast(included in the price) taken in the garden: priceless. The location was great(100 m to the main square). As i said in the main title: perfect stay.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ALEXANDRU B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sanremo hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel Belle Epoque
Hotel Belle Epoque
#3 of 43 in Sanremo
358 reviews
0.9 mi away
Grand Hotel Des Anglais
Grand Hotel Des Anglais
#21 of 43 in Sanremo
803 reviews
0.5 mi away
Best Western Hotel Nazionale
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel de Paris Sanremo
Hotel de Paris Sanremo
#10 of 43 in Sanremo
353 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Villa Sylva
Hotel Villa Sylva
#5 of 43 in Sanremo
380 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Europa - San Remo
Hotel Europa - San Remo
#30 of 43 in Sanremo
130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alexander? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alexander

Address: Corso Giuseppe Garibaldi 123, 18038, Sanremo, Italy
Region: Italy > Liguria > Italian Riviera > Sanremo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Casino and Gambling Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 43 Hotels in Sanremo
Price Range: £55 - £126 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Alexander 3*
Number of rooms: 323
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Alexander reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing